### **Preface**

The Asian Computing Science Conference (ASIAN) series was initiated in 1995 to provide a forum for researchers in computer science in Asia to meet and to promote interaction with researchers from other regions. The previous five conferences were held, respectively, in Bangkok, Singapore, Kathmandu, Manila, and Phuket. The proceedings were published in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science Series of Springer-Verlag.

This year's conference (ASIAN 2000) attracted 61 submissions from which 18 papers were selected through an electronic program committee (PC) meeting.

The themes for this year's conference are:

- Logics in Computer Science
- Data Mining
- Networks and Performance

The key note speaker for ASIAN 2000 is Jean Vuillemin (ENS, France) and the invited speakers are Ramamohanarao Kotagiri (U. Melbourne, Australia) and Alain Jean-Marie (LIRMM, France). We thank them for accepting our invitation.

This year's conference is sponsored by the Asian Institute of Technology (Thailand), INRIA (France), the National University of Singapore (Singapore), and UNU/IIST (Macau SAR, China). We thank all these institutions for their continued support of the ASIAN series.

This year's conference will be held in Penang, Malaysia. We are much obliged to Universiti Sains Malaysia and Penang State Government for providing the conference venue and to Dr. Abdullah Zawawi Haji Talib for making the local arrangements.

We also wish to thank the PC members and the large number of referees for the substantial work put in by them in assessing the submitted papers.

Finally, it is a pleasure to acknowledge the friendly and efficient support provided by Alfred Hofmann and his team at Springer-Verlag in bringing out this volume.

October 2000 He Jifeng Masahiko Sato

## **Program Committee**

Yuxi Fu (Shanghai Jiao Tong U., China)

Ian Graham (U. of Waikato, New Zealand)

He Jifeng (co-chair) (UNU/IIST, Macau SAR, China)

Alain Jean-Marie (LIRMM, France)

Kazunori Konishi (KDD, Japan)

Bing Liu (NUS, Singapore)

Zhen Liu (INRIA, France)

Ian Mason (U. of New England, Australia)

Yasuhiko Morimoto (IBM Tokyo, Japan)

Mitsu Okada (Keio U., Japan)

Luke Ong (Oxford U., UK)

Masahiko Sato (co-chair) (Kyoto U., Japan)

Kyuseok Shim (KAIST, Korea)

#### General Chair

Joxan Jaffar (National University of Singapore, Singapore)

#### **Local Chair**

Dr. Abdullah Zawawi Haji Talib (Universiti Sains Malaysia, Malaysia)

# Steering Committee

Shigeki Goto (Waseda U., Japan)

Stephane Grumbach(INRIA, France)

Joxan Jaffar (NUS, Singapore)

Gilles Kahn (INRIA, France)

Kanchana Kanchanasut (AIT, Thailand)

R.K. Shyamasundar (TIFR Bombay, India)

Kazunori Ueda (Waseda U., Japan)

Zhou Chaochen (UNU/IIST, Macau SAR, China)

## Referees

Yohji Akama Kohei Honda Yoshinari Kameda Takeshi Fukuda Wynne Hsu Yukiyoshi Kameyama

Chris George Dang Van Hung Yoji Kishi

Andy Gordon T. Ida Yoshinori Kitatsuji John Harrison Takeuti Izumi Naoki Kobayashi Yuichiro Hei Tomasz Janowski Satoshi Konishi Shinji Kono Yiming Ma M. Marin Hirofumi Matsuzawa Masaki Murakami Yuko Murayama Hiroshi Nakano Susumu Nishimura Hiroyuki Okano M. Parigot Franz Puntigam Alexander Rabinovich Chiaki Sakama Etsuya Shibayama Tetsuo Shibuya Keizo Sugiyama Taro Suzuki Koichi Takahashi Makoto Tatsuta Atsushi Togashi Yoshihito Toyama Christian Urban Osamu Watanabe H. Wu Xu Qiwen Yiyuan Xia Mitsuharu Yamamoto Tetsushi Yamashita Roland Yap