Foreword

This volume contains updated versions of the ten papers presented at the First International Workshop on Temporal, Spatial and Spatio-Temporal Data Mining (TSDM 2000) held in conjunction with the 4th European Conference on Principles and Practice of Knowledge Discovery in Databases (PKDD 2000) in Lyons, France in September, 2000.

The aim of the workshop was to bring together experts in the analysis of temporal and spatial data mining and knowledge discovery in temporal, spatial or spatio-temporal database systems as well as knowledge engineers and domain experts from allied disciplines. The workshop focused on research and practice of knowledge discovery from datasets containing explicit or implicit temporal, spatial or spatio-temporal information.

The ten original papers in this volume represent those accepted by peer review following an international call for papers. All papers submitted were refereed by an international team of data mining researchers listed below. We would like to thank the team for their expert and useful help with this process. Following the workshop, authors were invited to amend their papers to enable the feedback received from the conference to be included in the final papers appearing in this volume. A workshop report was compiled by Kathleen Hornsby which also discusses the panel session that was held.

In late 1998, a bibliography of temporal, spatial and spatio-temporal data mining research papers was compiled by John Roddick and Myra Spiliopoulou and published in SigKDD Explorations. Following the dramatic increase in interest in this area over the past few years, it was decided that an update to this bibliography was warranted and should be included in this volume.

It is our contention that temporal, spatial and spatio-temporal data mining holds many promises. We hope this volume, as well as the TSDM Workshop series, is useful in adding to the body of knowledge in this area.

January 2001

John F. Roddick Kathleen Hornsby

Organization

Workshop Chairs

John F. Roddick, Flinders University, Australia Kathleen Hornsby, University of Maine, USA

Program Committee

Rakesh Agrawal, IBM Almaden Research Center, USA Markus Breunig, Ludwig-Maximilians University, Germany Max Egenhofer, University of Maine, USA Martin Ester, Ludwig-Maximilians University, Germany Marie-Christine Fauvet, Grenoble, France Jiawei Han, Simon Fraser University, Canada Christian Jensen, Aalborg University, Denmark Heikki Mannila, Helsinki University, Finland Harvey Miller, University of Utah, USA Raymond Ng, University of British Columbia, Canada Donna Peuguet, Pennsylvania State University, USA Chris Rainsford, Defence Science and Technology Organisation, Australia Hanan Samet, University of Maryland, USA Stefano Spaccapietra, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL), Switzerland Myra Spiliopoulou, Humboldt University, Germany Paul Stolorz, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA Alex Tuzhilin, New York University, USA