Preface

The first International Workshop on Interactive Distributed Multimedia Systems and Telecommunication Services (IDMS) was organized by Prof. K. Rothermel and Prof. W. Effelsberg, and took place in Stuttgart in 1992. It had the form of a national forum for discussion on multimedia issues related to communications. The succeeding event was "attached" as a workshop to the German Computer Science Conference (GI Jahrestagung) in 1994 in Hamburg, organized by Prof. W. Lamersdorf. The chairs of the third IDMS, E. Moeller and B. Butscher, enhanced the event to become a very successful international meeting in Berlin in March 1996.

This short overview on the first three IDMS events is taken from the preface of the IDMS 97 proceedings (published by Springer as Lecture Notes in Computer Science, Volume 1309), written by Ralf Steinmetz and Lars Wolf. Both, Ralf Steinmetz as general chair and Lars Wolf as program chair of IDMS 97, organized an excellent international IDMS in Darmstadt.

Since 1998, IDMS has moved from Germany to other European cities to emphasize the international character it had gained in the previous years. IDMS'98 was organized in Oslo by Vera Goebel and Thomas Plagemann at UniK – Center for Technology at Kjeller, University of Oslo. Michel Diaz, Phillipe Owezarski, and Patrick Sénac successfully organized the sixth IDMS event, again outside Germany. IDMS'99 took place in Toulouse at ENSICA. IDMS 2000 continued the tradition and was hosted in Enschede, the Netherlands.

The goal of the IDMS series of workshops has been and still is to bring together researchers, developers, and practitioners from academia and industry; and to provide a forum for discussion, presentation, and exploration of technologies and advances in the broad field of interactive distributed multimedia systems and telecommunication services, ranging from basic system technologies such as networking and operating system support to all kinds of teleservices and distributed multimedia applications. To accomplish this goal IDMS remains relatively "small": it has no parallel sessions and a limited number of participants to encourage interaction and discussion.

Although IDMS2000 had tough competition from other conferences and workshops, it received 60 submissions from Europe, Asia, Africa, and North and South America. Every paper was refereed by at least three reviewers. A tedious job, luckily made easier with help from the excellent online conference tool ConfMan, developed in Oslo for the 1998 IDMS workshop. Ultimately, the 26 members of the program committee (PC) and 33 referees selected 24 high quality papers for presentation at the workshop. The main topics of IDMS2000 are: efficient audio/video coding and delivery, multimedia conferencing, synchronization and multicast, communication, control and telephony over IP networks, QoS models and architectures, multimedia applications and user aspects, design and implementation approaches, and mobile multimedia and ubiquitous computing systems. This technical program is complemented with three invited papers: "Energy-efficient hand-held multimedia systems" by Gerard Smit, "Short-range connectivity with Bluetooth" by Jaap Haartsen and "On the failure of middleware to support multimedia applications" by Gordon Blair.

The co-chairs are very grateful for the help they received to make IDMS2000 a successful event. We thank the steering committee for their trust in us to continue the tradition of the IDMS series of workshops, and the PC and referees for the time and effort in selecting the papers for the technical program. We heeded the good advice of the organizers of the previous two workshops Thomas Plagemann, Vera Goebel, Michel Diaz, Philippe Owezarski, and Patric Sénac. Also we would like to acknowledge the cooperation with ACM SIGCOMM and ACM SIGMM, the financial support from KPN Research, Lucent Technologies and Philips, and the financial and organizational support from the Department of Computer Science and CTIT of the University of Twente. Finally, we especially would like to thank the people from the local organization for their help, Marloes Castanada Schlie, Nikolay Diakov, Cléver Guareis de Farias, and Johan Kunnen.

July 2000

Hans Scholten Marten van Sinderen

Organization

Program Co-Chairs

Hans Scholten, University of Twente, The Netherlands Marten van Sinderen, University of Twente, The Netherlands

Program Committee

H. Batteram, Lucent Technologies, The Netherlands

G. v. Bochmann, University of Montreal, Canada

P. Bosch, CWI, The Netherlands

B. Butscher, GMD-FOKUS, Germany

A. Campbell, Colombia University, USA

L. Delgrossi, University of Piacenza, Italy

M. Diaz, LAAS-CNRS, France

- H. Eertink, Telematica Instituut, The Netherlands
- W. Effelsberg, University of Mannheim, Germany

F. Eliassen, University of Oslo, The Netherlands

- L. Ferreira Pires, University of Twente, The Netherlands
- V. Goebel, University of Oslo , UniK, Norway
- T. Helbig, Philips, Germany
- D. Hutchison, Lancaster University, Great Brittain
- P. Jansen, University of Twente, The Netherlands
- W. Kalfa, TU Chemnitz, Germany
- E. Moeller, GMD-FOKUS, Germany
- K. Nahrstedt, University of Illinois, USA
- P. Owezarski, LAAS-CNRS, France
- S. Pink, SICS, Sweden
- T. Plagemann, University of Oslo, UniK, Norway
- D. Quartel, University of Twente, The Netherlands
- P. Sénac, ENSICA, France
- G. Smit, University of Twente, The Netherlands
- R. Steinmetz, TU Darmstadt / GMD, Germany
- L. Wolf, University of Karlsruhe, Germany

Local Organization

Marloes Castaneda Schlie, University of Twente, The Netherlands Nikolay Diakov, University of Twente, The Netherlands Cléver R. Guareis de Farias, University of Twente, The Netherlands Johan Kunnen, University of Twente, The Netherlands

Referees

NCICI CC5	
H. Batteram	C. Kuhmuench
T. Becker	J. Kunnen
P. Berthou	M. Lijding
G. v. Bochmann	K. Lund
P. Bosch	D. Makaroff
B. Butscher	M. Mauve
A. Campbell	E. Meeuwissen
C. Chassot	E. Michiels
R. Denda	E. Moeller
N. Diakov	K. Nahrstedt
M. Diaz	P. Owezarski
J. Dittrich	T. Plagemann
KP. Eckert	A. Pras
H. Eertink	D. Quartel
W. Effelsberg	R. Roth
F. Eliassen	P. Sénac
L. Ferreira Pires	G. Smit
C. Fuhrhop	R. Song
N. Georganas	R. Steinmetz
S. Gjessing	D. Thie
V. Goebel	L. Tionardi
C. R. Guareis de Farias	G. Tuquerres
B. Hafskjold	J. Vogel
X. He	C. Wang
T. Helbig	J. Widmer
D. Hutchison	V. S. Wold Eide
P. Jansen	L. Wolf
W. Kalfa	W. Yu
T. Kristensen	

IDMS Steering Committee

Michel Diaz, LAAS-CNRS, France Vera Goebel, Univ. of Oslo, UniK – Center for Technology at Kjeller, Norway Eckhard Moeller, GMD-FOKUS, Germany Thomas Plagemann, Univ. of Oslo, UniK – Center for Technology at Kjeller, Norway Patrick Sénac, ENSICA, France Lars Wolf, Universität Karlsruhe (TH), Institute for Telematics, Germany

Supporting and Sponsoring Organizations

ACM SIGCOMM	UT, Computer Science
ACM SIGMM	UT, CTIT
KPN Research	
Lucent Technologies	
Philips	