Preface

The Italian Conference on Theoretical Computer Science (ICTCS) is the conference of the *Italian Chapter of the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science* (IC-EATCS), that takes place every three years. The conference aims at enabling computer scientists, especially young researchers, to enter the EATCS community and to exchange ideas and results, as well as theory based practical experiences and tools in computer science.

This was the seventh Italian Conference on Theoretical Computer Science, and its main topics included analysis of algorithms, automata, computability, computational complexity, cryptography, data types and structures, design of algorithms, formal languages, foundations of functional programming, foundations of logic programming, new computing paradigms, parallel and distributed computation, program specification, program verification, term rewriting, theory of concurrency, theory of data bases, theory of logical design and layout, theory of robotics, theory of knowledge bases, type theory, semantics of programming languages, security, and symbolic and algebraic computation.

ICTCS 2001 was held in Turin, Italy, October 4–6, 2001. Previous conferences took place in Pisa (1972), Mantova (1974 and 1989), L'Aquila (1992), Ravello (1995), and Prato (1998).

The Program Committee selected 25 papers out of 45 submissions, all of them in electronic format. Their authors are from 11 countries, from all over the world. Each submission was sent to three Program Committee members, assisted by their own referees.

The selection meeting took place as an electronic forum. To permit a deeper evaluation of the papers, the Program Committee split them into two subject areas for the preliminary discussion, according to the two tracks of the Journal of Theoretical Computer Science which are "Algorithms, automata, complexity, and games", and "Logic, semantics, and theory of programming", and which reflect the main division in research topics within the community. Then, to preserve the unifying aspects of the research in theoretical computer science, all the papers were evaluated again and all the decisions were taken together.

We would like to warmly thank all the people who submitted their papers to the conference, the Program Committee members, and their referees for their invaluable contribution.

July 2001 Antonio Restivo, Simona Ronchi Della Rocca, and Luca Roversi

Organization

ICTCS 2001 was organized under the auspices of the European Association of Theoretical Computer Science, and the European Educational Forum, with the financial support of the University of Turin, Faculty of Mathematical, Physical & Natural Science, and Computer Science Department

Organizing Committee: Viviana Bono, University of Turin

Ferruccio Damiani, University of Turin

Mariangiola Dezani (Chair), University of Turin

Luca Roversi, University of Turin Stefano Berardi, University of Turin Ugo de'Liguoro, University of Turin Paola Giannini, University of Alessandria

Technical support: Bruno Graziano, University of Turin

Simone Donetti, University of Turin Paolo Pasteris, University of Turin

Administrative support: Daniela Costa, University of Turin

Claudia Goggioli, University of Turin

Program Committee

Andrea Asperti Università di Bologna Bruno Codenotti University of Pisa PierPaolo Degano University of Pisa Moreno Falaschi University of Udine University of Rom Giuseppe F. Italiano Linda Pagli University of Pisa University of Turin Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (Co-chair) Alberto Bertoni University of Milan Clelia De Felice University of Salerno Rocco De Nicola University of Florence Università dell'Aquila Paola Inverardi Eugenio Moggi University of Geneva Antonio Restivo (Co-chair) University of Palermo University of Salerno Ugo Vaccaro

Referees

Riccardo Solmi Alessandro Provetti Beatrice Palano Brunella Gerla Claudio Gentile Giovanni Pighizzini Silvio Ghilardi

Massimiliano Goldwurm

Massimo Santini

Gianluca De Marco

Giovanni Resta Adele Rescigno Margherita Napoli Domenico Parente Clemente Galdi Ivan Visconti

Vincenzo Auletta

Jean-Marc Champarnaud

Jean Berstel
Marcella Anselmo
Flavio Corradini
Giovanni Manzini
Simone Martini
Gianluigi Ferrari
Andrea Masini
Francesca Levi
Vincenzo Manca
Michele Boreale

Rosario Pugliese

Michele Loreti Donatella Merlini Lorenzo Bettini Betti Venneri Agostino Dovier Maurizio Gabbrielli Paolo Coppola Fabio Alessi

Pietro Di Gianantonio

Marco Comini

Massimo Franceschet Alberto Policriti Ivan Scagnetto Stefania Costantini Benedetto Intrigila Eugenio Omodeo Zena Ariola

Diletta Romana Cacciagrano

Catuscia Palamidessi Thierry Coquand Cosimo Laneve Marco Bozzano Valentina Ciriani Fabio Gadducci Maurizio Bonuccelli Giuseppe Prencipe Mireille Reigner Pierluigi Frisco Anna bernasconi

Fabrizio Luccio Filippo Mignosi Vito Di Ges Giancarlo Mauri Rosalba Zizza Sabrina Mantaci Marinella Sciortino Bruno Crispo

Francesco Bergadano Davide Cavagnino Ferruccio Damiani Franco Barbanera Jeremy Sproston Luisa Gargano Annalisa De Bonis Ferdinando Cicalese

Gaia Nicosia Michele Flammini Serafino Cicerone Antonio Di Nola Patrizio Cintioli

VIII Organization