## **Preface**

The Ninth International Workshop on Foundations of Models and Languages for Data and Objects (FoMLaDO) took place in Dagstuhl Germany, September 18–21, 2000. The topic of this workshop was Database schema Evolution and Meta-Modeling; this FoMLaDO Workshop was hence assigned the acronym DEMM 2000.

These post-proceedings contain the revised versions of the accepted papers of the DEMM 2000 workshop. Twelve regular papers were accepted for inclusion in the proceedings. The papers address the following issues:

- Consistency of evolving concurrent information systems
- Adaptive specifications of technical information systems
- Change propagation in schema evolution of object-based systems
- Evolving software of a schema evolution system
- Logical characterization of schema evolution
- Conflict management in integrated databases
- Evolving relation schemas
- Conceptual descriptions of adaptive information systems
- OQL-extensions for metadata access
- Metamodeling of schema evolution
- Metrics for conceptual schema evolution
- Incremental datawarehouse construction

In addition to the regular papers, there is an invited paper by Can Türker on schema evolution in SQL99 and (object-)relational databases.

Acknowledgements: We wish to thank the program committee members for their work on reviewing the submitted papers. We also wish to thank all authors for submitting papers to this workshop. Moreover, all participants of the workshop are thanked for contributing to lively discussions. Thanks also to Elke Rundensteiner, who delivered an invited talk on the SERF-project concerning flexible database transformations. Finally, we wish to thank Gunter Saake and Can Türker for their initial help in organizing this workshop.

April 2001

Herman Balsters Bert de Brock Stefan Conrad

## **Program Committee**

Herman Balsters University of Twente, The Netherlands; Chair

Elisa Bertino University of Milan, Italy Anthony Bonner University of Toronto, Canada

Bert de Brock University of Groningen, The Netherlands; Co-chair

Jan van den Bussche University of Limburg, Belgium

Stefan Conrad University of Munich, Germany; Co-chair

Hans-Dieter Ehrich TU Braunschweig, Germany

Paul Grefen University of Twente, The Netherlands

Theo d'Hondt University of Brussels, Belgium Kalle Lyytinen University of Jyvaskyla, Finland

John Jules Meyer University of Utrecht, The Netherlands

Michele Missikoff IASI-CNR, Italy

Tamer Özsu University of Alberta, Canada Jan Paredaens University of Antwerp, Belgium

Oscar Pastor Technical University of Valencia, Spain Gunter Saake University of Magdeburg, Germany

Amilcar Sernadas IST Lisbon, Portugal Klaus-Dieter Schewe TU Clausthal, Germany

Marc Scholl University of Konstanz, Germany

Can Türker ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Jari Veijalainen University of Jyvaskyla, Finland
Gottfried Vossen University of Munster, Germany
Gerhard Weikum University of the Saarland, Germany
University of Twente, The Netherlands