Preface

The field of Object Technology has conquered the IT world, including the education system, the commercial world, and the many diverse research communities. The ECOOP community can be proud of this evolution, if not revolution, since the research results that have been published by this community over the past 17 years (also counting two European workshops preceding the official ECOOP conference series) have had a great impact on the development of Object Technology.

This legacy sets great expectations for any new ECOOP conference. The conference must present important new research results and developments within new applications of Object Technology. At the same time, the conference must strengthen Object Technology itself by advancing the richness in structure and expressiveness. Furthermore, the conference should aim at questioning the commonly accepted truths in order to look for new insights even to the extent of tearing down some of the generally accepted research results in the quest to find new directions of research. That is, the conference may possibly find ways to the technologies that might follow Object Technology.

It was with great honor that I worked as Program Chair of this 15th European Conference on Object-Oriented Programming, ECOOP 2001, held in Budapest, Hungary, June 18-22, 2001. The Program Committee, consisting of 30 excellent fellow Object Technology researchers, did an outstanding job in selecting 18 technical papers out of a total of 108 submitted papers. Besides these technical papers, the conference presented three invited speakers: Charles Simonyi, Erik Meijer, and Alistair Cockburn. Erik Meijer accepted to write an invited paper, which is included in these proceedings. In addition to the technical program, the conference program included 22 workshops and 21 tutorials.

It is impossible to organize an event like the ECOOP conference without the tireless efforts of everybody involved. Instead of mentioning them individually, I would like to express my thanks to everyone, not only those mentioned explicitly elsewhere in these proceedings, but also the many volunteers that worked hard at making ECOOP 2001 a success. Last but not least, I would like to thank the authors for writing the many interesting papers, the reviewers for the hard work they put into evaluating the submissions, the Program Committee for making the selection process run smoothly, the conference attendees for making ECOOP 2001 an inspiring and interactive event, and finally you, the reader of these proceedings, for putting the research results presented here into use in education, enterprise, and future research. Only through the use of these results, will the work become truly worthwhile.

Organization

ECOOP 2001 was organized by the Department of General Computer Science of Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest, under the auspices of AITO (Association Internationale pour les Technologies Objets).



Executive Committee

Conference Chairs: Gerti Kappel (University of Linz)

László Varga (Eötvös Loránd University)

Program Chair: Jørgen Lindskov Knudsen (University of Aarhus)

Organizing Chairs: László Kozma (Eötvös Loránd University) Zoltán Horváth (Eötvös Loránd University)

Organizing Committee

Tutorial Chairs: Judit Nyéky-Gaizler (Eötvös Loránd University)

Giuseppe Castagna (École Normale Supérieure)

Katalin Pásztor-Varga (Eötvös Loránd University)

Workshop Chairs: Ákos Frohner (Eötvös Loránd University)

Jacques Malenfant (Université de Bretagne sud)

Erzsébet Angster (Dennis Gabor College)

Panel Chair: Tamás Kozsik (Eötvös Loránd University) Poster Chairs: Viktória Zsók (Eötvös Loránd University)

István Juhász (University of Debrecen)

Demonstration Chairs: János Vida (Eötvös Loránd University)

Károly Kondorosi (Technical University of Budapest)

Exhibit Chairs: Zoltán Csörnyei (Eötvös Loránd University)

László Blum (University of Veszprém)

Social Events: Rozália Szabó-Nacsa (Eötvös Loránd University)

Advertizing, Website: Zoltán Istenes (Eötvös Loránd University)

Attila Kovács (Eötvös Loránd University)

Industrial Relations: Bálint Dömölki (IQSOFT Rt.)

Albert Fazekas (Classys of Informatics Co.)

Miklós Havass (SZÁMALK Rt.)

Zoltán Porkoláb (Eötvös Loránd University) Operational Support:

Ferenc Steingart (Eötvös Loránd University)

Submission Site: Richard van de Stadt (Borbala Online Conf. Services)

Program Committee

Mehmet Akşit University of Twente, The Netherlands

Suad Alagić Wichita State University, USA
Elisa Bertino University of Milan, Italy
Gilad Bracha Sun Microsystems, USA
Jean-Pierre Briot Paris 6 University, France

Frank Buschmann Siemens AG, Corporate Technology, Germany Giuseppe Castagna École Normale Supérieure de Paris, France

Pierre Cointe

Serge Demeyer

Peter Dickman

Bjørn N. Freeman-Benson

Carlo Ghezzi

Ecole des Mines de Nantes, France
University of Antwerp, Belgium
University of Glasgow, UK
QuickSilver Technology, Inc, USA
Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Carlo Ghezzi Politecnico di Milano, Italy Yossi Gil Technion, Haifa, Israel

Rachid Guerraoui EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland Görel Hedin Lund University, Sweden

Urs Hölzle UCSB, USA

Eric Jul University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Gerti Kappel University of Linz, Austria Karl Lieberherr Northeastern University, USA

Cristina Videiro Lopes Xerox Palo Alto Research Center, USA Satoshi Matsuoka Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Mira Mezini Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany Ana Moreira Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal

James Noble Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand

Rui Oliveira Universidade de Minho, Portugal

Jens Palsberg Purdue University, USA

Markku Sakkinen University of Jyväskylä, Finland Dag Sjøberg University of Oslo, Norway Jan Vitek Purdue University, USA

John Vlissides IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA

Referees

Dietrich Birngruber

Ole Agesen Paulo Ferreira
Davide Ancona Alex Garthwaite
Bente Anda Maurice Glandrup
João Araújo Miguel Goulão
Joco Arazjo Giovanna Guerrini
Yariv Aridor Roger Henriksson
Erik Arisholm Stephan Herrmann

Isabelle Attali David Hill
Jean Bézivin Erik Hilsdale
Godmar Back David Holmes
Carlos Baquero Wade Holst
Wolfgang Beer Marieke Huissman

Eran Belinsky
Véronique Benzaken
Klaas van den Berg
Lodewijk Bergmans
Paul Bergstein
Marina Biberstein
Magne Jørgensen
Elisabeth Kapsammer
Amela Karahasanovic
Murat Karaorman
Pertti Kellomäki
Kai Koskimies

Anders Blomdell Gerhard Kramler
Jeff Bogda Stein Krogdahl
Noury Bouraqadi-Saâdani Gary Leavens

Svetlana Kouznetsova

Lars Bratthall Thomas Ledoux Pim van den Broek Keunwoo Lee

Kim Bruce Ole Lehrmann Madsen Ciaran Bryce José Luiz Fiadeiro Michele Bugliesi António Luís Sousa

Michele Bugliesi

Luís Caires

Denis Caromel

Craig Chambers

Robert G. Clark

António Luís Sousa

Olav Lysne

Laurent Magnin

Mesiti Marco

Jean-Marc Menaud

Tal Cohen
Uriel Cohen
Adriana Compagnoni

Hanspeter Mössenböck

Patrick Cousot Mattia Monga Gianpaolo Cugola Oscar Nierstrasz Else Nordhagen Uri Dekel Dave Detlefs Jacques Nové Isabel Nunes Anne Doucet Martin Odersky Rémi Douence Karel Driesen José Orlando Pereira Alessandro Orso Sophia Drossopoulou

Niels Elgaard Larsen

Patrick Eugster

Klaus Ostermann

Johan Ovlinger

Х Organization

Kasper Østerbye Marc Pantel Martti Penttonen Jean-François Perrot Frédéric Peschanski Gian Pietro Picco Sara Porat Tony Printezis Reza Razavi Sigi Reich Arend Rensink Werner Retschitzegger Nicolas Revault Ran Rinat Tobias Ritzau Per Runeson Kenneth Russell Mario Südholt Paulo Sérgio Almeida

Patrick Sallé Andreas Schrader Peter Sewell Mark Skipper Bjarne Steensgaard Tarja Systä John Tang Boyland Val Tannen Bedir Tekinerdoğan Ewan Tempero Pascale Thévenod Frank Tip Julien Vayssiere Mitchell Wand Akinori Yonezawa Olivier Zendra Matthias Zenger Mikal Ziane Yoav Zibin

Conference Sponsors



















