Preface

This volume contains the proceedings of the 22nd International Conference on Application and Theory of Petri Nets. The aim of the Petri net conferences is to create a forum for discussing progress in the application and theory of Petri nets. Typically, the conferences have 100–150 participants – one third of these coming from industry while the rest are from universities and research institutions. The conferences always take place in the last week of June.

This year the conference was organized jointly with the 2nd International Conference on Application of Concurrency to System Design (ICACSD 2001). The two conferences shared the invited lectures and the social program.

The conference and a number of other activities are co-ordinated by a steering committee with the following members: G. Balbo (Italy), J. Billington (Australia), G. De Michelis (Italy), C. Girault (France), K. Jensen (Denmark), S. Kumagai (Japan), T. Murata (USA), C.A. Petri (Germany; honorary member), W. Reisig (Germany), G. Rozenberg (The Netherlands; chairman), and M. Silva (Spain).

Other activities before and during the 2001 conference included tool demonstrations, a meeting on "XML Based Interchange Formats for Petri Nets", extensive introductory tutorials, two advanced tutorials on "Probabilistic Methods in Concurrency" and "Model Checking", and two workshops on "Synthesis of Concurrent Systems" and "Concurrency in Dependable Computing". The tutorial notes and workshop proceedings are not published in these proceedings, but copies are available from the organizers.

The 2001 conference was organized by the Department of Computing Science at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom. We would like to thank the members of the organizing committee (see next page) and their teams.

We would like to thank very much all those who submitted papers to the Petri net conference. We received a total of 48 submissions from 21 different countries. This volume comprises the papers that were accepted for presentation. Invited lectures were given by S. Donatelli, R. Milner, and M. Nielsen (whose papers are included in this volume), and G. Holzmann, J. Kramer, and A. Sangiovanni-Vincentelli (whose papers are included in the proceedings of ICACSD 2001).

The submitted papers were evaluated by a program committee. The program committee meeting took place in Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom. We would like to express our gratitude to the members of the program committee, and to all the referees who assisted them. The names of these are listed on the following pages.

We would like to acknowledge the local support of J. Dersley, D. Faulder, P. Jacques, L. Marshall, and R. Poat. Finally, we would like to mention the excellent co-operation with Springer-Verlag during the preparation of this volume.

April 2001

Maciej Koutny José-Manuel Colom

Organizing Committee

Anke Jackson Maciej Koutny (co-chair)

Alber Koelmans

Dan Simpson Jason Steggles

Alexandre Yakovlev (co-chair)

Tools Demonstration

Albert Koelmans (chair)

Program Committee

Didier Buchs (Switzerland) Gianfranco Ciardo (USA) José-Manuel Colom (Spain;

co-chair; applications)

Jordi Cortadella (Spain) Michel Diaz (France) Hartmut Ehrig (Germany) Serge Haddad (France) Jane Hillston (UK)

Jetty Kleijn (The Netherlands)

Maciej Koutny (UK; co-chair; theory) Lars M. Kristensen (Denmark)

Sadatoshi Kumagai (Japan) Charles Lakos (Australia) Vladimiro Sassone (Italy)

Sol Shatz (USA) Carla Simone (Italy) Rüdiger Valk (Germany) Antti Valmari (Finland) Murray Woodside (Canada)

Referees

Felice Balarin

Paolo Baldan
Kamel Barkaoui
Twan Basten
Luca Bernardinello
Marco Bernardo
Bernard Berthomieu
Andrea Bobbio
Marc Boyer
Julian Bradfield
Roberto Bruni
Stanislay Chachkoy

Søren Christensen Piotr Chrząstowski-Wachtel Andrea Corradini

Sandro Costa Juliane Dehnert Jordi Delgado

Giovanni Chiola

Giorgio De Michelis

Jörg Desel Catalin Dima Susanna Donatelli Claude Dutheillet Emmanuelle Encrenaz Joost Engelfriet

Claudia Ermel Javier Esparza Rob Esser Joaquín Ezpeleta Jean Fanchon

Berndt Farwer Carlo Ferigato Jörn Freiheit Rossano Gaeta Maike Gajewsky Qi-Wei Ge Holger Giese

VIII Organizing Committee

Stephen Gilmore Steven Gordon Pierre Gradit Marco Gribaudo Luuk Groenewegen

Xudong He Keijo Heljanko

Jesper Gulmann Henriksen

Kunihiko Hiraishi Kathrin Hoffmann

Hendrik Jan Hoogeboom Andras Horvath

Jarle Hulaas Henrik Hulgård

David Hurzeler Nisse Husberg Jean-Michel Ilié Matthias Jantzen Guv Juanole

Gabriel Juhas Tommi Junttila Joost-Pieter Katoen Victor Khomenko

Mike Kishinevsky Olaf Kluge

Michael Köhler Alex Kondratvev

Fabrice Kordon Olaf Kummer

Juliana Küster-Filipe Michael Lemmon Glenn Lewis Johan Lilius Bo Lindstrøm Louise Lorentsen Moez Mahfoudh Thomas Mailund

Giovanna Di Marzo Serugendo

Giuseppe Milicia Andrew Miner Toshiyuki Miyamoto

Axel Martens

Patrice Moreaux Kield Mortensen

Daniel Moldt

Isabelle Mounier Morikazu Nakamura

Peter Ölveczky Katsuaki Onogi Julia Padberg

Atsushi Ohta

Emmanuel Paviot-Adet Wojciech Penczek Michele Pinna Laure Petrucci Denis Poitrenaud Agata Półrola

Lucia Pomello

Jean-François Pradat-Peyre

Antti Puhakka Laura Recalde Marina Ribaudo Heiko Rölke Isabel Rojas Stefan Römer Heinz Schmidt Karsten Schmidt

Amal El Fallah Seghrouchni

Shane Sendall Matteo Sereno Radu Siminiceanu

Jiří Srba

Ramavarapu Sreenivas Mark-Oliver Stehr Perdita Stevens Ichiro Suzuki Shigemasa Takai Enrique Teruel Kohkichi Tsuji Emilio Tuosto Naoshi Uchihira Milan Urbasek Toshimitsu Ushio Robert Valette Gabriel Valiente Kimmo Varpaaniemi

François Vernadat Walter Vogler

Toshimasa Watanabe Yosinori Watanabe

Lisa Wells Herbert Wicklicky Aiguo Xie Xiande Xie Haiping Xu Tomohiro Yoneda

Sponsoring Institutions

City Council of Newcastle upon Tyne Comisión Interministerial de Ciencia y Tecnología (TIC98-0671), España Department of Computing Science, University of Newcastle One NorthEast – The Development Agency for the North East of England