Preface

This volume constitutes the proceedings of the second International Workshop on Types in Compilation (TIC'98), held at the Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Kyoto University, Japan, March 25-27, 1998.

Types (in the broadest sense of the word) play a central role in many of the advanced compilation techniques developed for modern programming languages. Standard or nonstandard type systems and type analyses have been found to be useful for optimizing dynamic method dispatch in object-oriented languages, for reducing run-time tests in dynamically-typed languages, for guiding data representations and code generation, for program analysis and transformation, for compiler verification and debugging, and for establishing safety properties of distributed or mobile code. The Types in Compilation workshops bring together researchers to share new ideas and results in this area.

For TIC'98, the program committee received seventeen submissions in response to the call for papers, and selected thirteen papers among those. Each submission received at least four reviews, done by the program committee members or their subreferees (their names appear below). The program committee also invited five additional speakers to complement the presentations of the regular papers.

The 1998 Types in Compilation workshop was sponsored by the Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Kyoto University, and organized in cooperation with the Association of Computing Machinery Special Interest Group in Programming Languages (ACM SIGPLAN) and the Japan Society for Software Science and Technology Special Interest Group in Programming (JSSST SIG Programming). Their support is gratefully acknowledged.

June 1998

Xavier Leroy Program Chair TIC'98

Organization

Conference Chair

Atsushi Ohori (Kyoto University)

Organizing Committee

Craig Chambers (University of Washington) Robert Harper (Carnegie-Mellon University) Xavier Leroy (INRIA Rocquencourt) Robert Muller (Boston College) Atsushi Ohori (Kyoto University) Simon Peyton-Jones (Glasgow University)

Program Chair

Xavier Leroy (INRIA Rocquencourt)

Program Committee

Craig Chambers (University of Washington)
Urs Hölzle (University of California, Santa Barbara)
Satoshi Matsuoka (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Yasuhiko Minamide (Kyoto University)
Simon Peyton-Jones (Glasgow University)
Zhong Shao (Yale University)
Andrew Wright (InterTrust STAR Lab)

Local Arrangements

Atsushi Ohori (Kyoto University) Yoshikazu Sato (Oki Electric)

Additional Referees

Kenichi Asai Haruo Hosoya Atsushi Igarashi Didier Rémy Toshihiro Shimizu Valery Trifonov Steve Weeks