#### Foreword

The 2nd East European Symposium on Advances in Databases and Information Systems (ADBIS), organized in cooperation with the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) and its Special Interest Group on Management of Data (SIGMOD), was held September 7–10, 1998, in Poznań, Poland. It continues and consolidates the series of ADBIS workshops, organized by the Moscow ACM SIGMOD Chapter, transformed into an annual, international Symposium, organized every year in different countries of Eastern Europe. The 1st East European Symposium on Advances in Databases and Information Systems was held in 1997 in St. Petersburg, Russia.

Database technology is at the heart of many mission—critical applications such as on—line transaction processing (banking, inventory systems, financial systems), on—line analytical processing (data warehousing, data mining), business workflow management, interoperable systems, or information systems on global networks. The aim of the symposium is to provide a forum for the presentation, discussion, and dissemination of new results, new concepts, tools, and techniques for database management and their use in information system management and development. We hope the 2nd East European Symposium on Advances in Databases and Information Systems also provides a forum that increases interaction and collaboration between research communities of Eastern Europe and the rest of the world in the area of databases and information systems.

These proceedings contain 25 contributed papers selected out of 90 submissions. These papers cover a wide spectrum of topics ranging from Web-related issues and data mining to core database technologies such as schema integration, database and information system design, optimization, storage, and version management. In addition to the research papers, the conference also includes two invited talks on data mining and on workflow management, and three industrial contributions. Moreover, the proceedings include six poster presentations given during a special session called "East meets West" whose aim is to bring together researchers from both East and West Europe to communicate their achievements and to promote cooperation between both communities. The conference is preceded by two tutorials on data integration and on managing multimedia information in a database environment.

We would like to express our sincere thanks to the people who have contributed to the success of ADBIS'98: the authors who submitted papers to the symposium, the program committee members for ensuring the quality of the scientific program, the industrial track chair, Witek Staniszkis, for organizing the industrial session, Tomasz Imieliński and C. Mohan, for giving the invited talks, Juliusz Jezierski, Krzysztof Jankiewicz, and Maciej Zakrzewicz for their software and help in organizing the program committee work. On the behalf of the chairs of ADBIS'98 we would like to express our special thanks to Piotr Krzyżagórski whose continuous and coordinative activity ensured the success

#### VI

of ADBIS'98. Heartfelt thanks also go to Robert Wrembel for his setting up and maintaining the homepage of ADBIS'98, Czarek Sobaniec and Darek Wawrzyniak for assembling the proceedings, Alfred Hofmann of Springer–Verlag for accepting these proceedings for the LNCS series, Iza Tkocz for financial arrangements, the Steering Committee and, particularly, Leonid Kalinichenko for guidance and helpful advice.

June 1998

Witold Litwin Tadeusz Morzy Gottfried Vossen

# Conference Organization

#### General Chair

Tadeusz Morzy (Poznań University of Technology, Poland)

### Program Committee Co-Chairs

Witold Litwin (University Paris 9 Dauphine, France) Gottfried Vossen (University of Müenster, Germany)

#### **Industrial Track Chair**

Witold Staniszkis (Rodan-System, Poland)

#### ACM SIGMOD Advisor

Marek Rusinkiewicz (MCC, USA)

### **European Coordinator**

Johann Eder (University of Klagenfurt, Austria)

### Program Committee

Divyakant Agrawal (UC Santa Barbara, USA)

Suad Alagić (Wichita State University, USA)

Yuri Breitbart (Lucent Technologies — Bell Laboratories, USA)

Jerzy Brzeziński (Poznań University of Technology, Poland)

Omran Bukhres (Purdue University, USA)

Wojciech Cellary (University of Economics at Poznań, Poland)

Jan Chomicki (Monmouth University, USA)

Bogdan Czejdo (Loyola University, USA)

Janis Grundspenkis (Riga Technical University, Latvija)

Remigijus Gustas (University of Karlstad, Sweden)

Abdelsalam Helal (MCC, USA)

Leonid Kalinichenko (Institute for Problems of Informatics,

Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia)

Wolfgang Klas (University of Ulm, Germany)

Mikhail Kogalovsky (Market Economy Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia)

Ralf Kramer (Forschungszentrum Informatik (FZI), Germany)

Sergey Kuznetsov (Institute for System Programming,

Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia)

Pericles Loucopoulos (UMIST, United Kingdom)

Florian Matthes (TU Hamburg–Harburg, Germany)

Yannis Manolopoulos (Aristotle University, Greece)

Rainer Manthey (University of Bonn, Germany)

Guido Moerkotte (University of Mannheim, Germany)

Pavol Navrat (Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Slovakia)

Nikolaj Nikitchenko (Kiev Taras Shevchenko University, Ukraine)

Boris Novikov (University of St. Petersburg, Russia)

Priit Parmakson (Concordia International University, Estonia)

Alain Pirotte (University of Louvain, Belgium)

Erhard Rahm (University of Leipzig, Germany)

Tore Risch (Linkoping University, Sweden)

Colette Rolland (University Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne, France)

Silvio Salza (Università di Roma "La Sapienza", Italy)

Michel Scholl (CNAM and INRIA, France)

Július Štuller (Institute of Computer Science, Academy of Sciences,

Czech Republic)

Kazimierz Subieta (Institute of Computer Science, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland)

Bernhard Thalheim (TU Cottbus, Germany)

Benkt Wangler (Stockholm University/KTH, Sweden)

Tatjana Welzer (University of Maribor, Slovenia)

Viacheslav Wolfengagen (JurInfoR—MSU Institute for Contemporary Education, Russia)

Alexandre Zamulin (Institute of Informatics Systems, Russia)

### Steering Committee Members

Radu Bercaru (Romania) Tadeusz Morzy (Poland) Albertas Caplinskas (Lithuania) Pavol Navrat (Slovakia) Janis Eiduks (Latvia) Boris Novikov (Russia)

Hele-Mai Haav (Estonia) Jaroslav Pokorny (Czech Republic)

Leonid Kalinichenko (Russia, Anatoly Stogny (Ukraine) Chair of Steering Committee) Tatjana Welzer (Slovenia)

Mikhail Kogalovsky (Russia) Viacheslav Wolfengagen (Russia)

### Local Organizing Committee Chairs

Piotr Krzyżagórski, Robert Wrembel (Poznań University of Technology, Poland)

#### Additional Referees

Eric Bruckner Sergey Kotov Jérôme Siméon Wolfram Clauss Svetlana Kouznetsova Cezary Sobaniec Michael Dobrovnik Ling Lin Jose Solorzano Francesco Donini Nikos Lorentzos Thomas Stoehr Martin Durand Panos Louridas Michal Szychowiak Vladimir Evstigneev Holger Maertens Athena Vakali Thomas Feyer Maciej Matysiak Radek Vingralek Cristian Ghezzi Robert Mueller Dariusz Wawrzyniak Georgios Giannopoulos Alex Nanopoulos Nur Yilmazturk Paul Johannesson Nikolaos Prekas Maciej Zakrzewicz Panos Kardasis Francesco Quaglia Esteban Zimanyi Wassili Kazakos Kim Reed Tomasz Koszlajda Joerg Rieckmann

## **Sponsoring Institution**

State Committee for Scientific Research (KBN), Poland