# Preface

This volume presents the proceedings of the 10th International Conference on Computer Analysis of Images and Patterns (CAIP 2003). This conference series started about 18 years ago in Berlin. Initially, the conference served as a forum for meetings between scientists from Western- and Eastern-bloc countries. Nowadays, the conference attracts participants from all over the world. The conference gives equal weight to posters and oral presentations, and the selected presentation mode is based on the most appropriate communication medium. The programme follows a single-track format, rather than parallel sessions. Non-overlapping oral and poster sessions ensure that all attendees have the opportunity to interact personally with presenters.

As for the numbers, we received a total of 160 submissions. All papers were reviewed by two to three members of the Programme Committee. The final selection was carried out by the Conference Chairs. Out of the 160 papers, 42 were selected for oral presentation and 52 as posters. At this point, we wish to thank the Programme Committee and additional referees for their timely and high-quality reviews. The paper submission and review procedure was carried out electronically. We thank Marcin Morgós from Scalar–IT Solutions for providing us with the Web-based participant registration system. We also thank the invited speakers Nicholas Ayache, John Daugman, and Dariu Gavrila, for kindly accepting our invitation.

CAIP 2003 was organized by the Institute of Mathematics and Computing Science, University of Groningen, and took place in the University Hospital. We hope that the conference proved to be a stimulating experience, and that you had an enjoyable stay in the nice city of Groningen.

August 2003

Nicolai Petkov Michel A. Westenberg

# Organization

#### CAIP 2003

10th International Conference on Computer Analysis of Images and Patterns Groningen, The Netherlands, August 25–27, 2003

#### Chair

Nicolai Petkov	University of Groningen, The Netherlands	
Co-chair		
Michel A. Westenberg	University of Groningen, The Netherlands	
Steering Committee		
Reinhard Klette	The University of Auckland, New Zealand	
Nicolai Petkov	University of Groningen, The Netherlands	
Władysław Skarbek	Warsaw University of Technology Poland	

Nicolai PetkovThe University of Auckland, New Zealand<br/>University of Groningen, The Netherlands<br/>Warsaw University of Technology, Poland<br/>University of Ljubljana, Slovenia<br/>Christian-Albrechts-University of Kiel,<br/>Germany

# Local Organizing Committee

Cosmin Grigorescu Simona Grigorescu Nicolai Petkov Michel A. Westenberg Michael Wilkinson Alle Meije Wink

University of Groningen, The Netherlands

## **Program Committee**

Ronen Basri	Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
Gunilla Borgefors	University of Uppsala, Sweden
Horst Bunke	University of Bern, Switzerland
Dmitry Chetverikov	Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary
Luigi Cordella	University of Naples "Federico II," Italy
Kostas Daniilidis	University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA
Alberto Del Bimbo	University of Florence, Italy
Rachid Deriche	INRIA Sophia Antipolis, France
Vito Di Gesu'	University of Palermo, Italy

Robert Duin John Eakins Jan-Olof Eklundh Luc Florack Siggried Fuchs André Gagalowicz Georgy Gimel'farb Bart ter Haar Romeny Václav Hlaváč John Illingworth Atsushi Imiya Jean-Michel Jolion Reinhard Klette Ryszard Kozera Walter Kropatsch Aleš Leonardis Stefano Levialdi Martin Levine **B.S.** Manjunath Peter Meer Heinrich Niemann Lyle Noakes **Constantinos** Pattichis Petra Perner Nicolai Petkov Maria Petrou Jos Roerdink Gerhard Sagerer Alberto Sanfeliu Gabriella Sanniti di Baja Bernt Schiele Christos Schizas Cordelia Schmid Nicu Sebe Jean Serra Nils Siebel Władysław Skarbek Arnold Smeulders Pierre Soille Franc Solina Gerald Sommer Minsoo Suk Tieniu Tan Max Viergever Juan Villanueva Lucas van Vliet

Delft University of Technology, NL University of Northumbria, UK Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden Eindhoven University of Technology, NL Dresden University of Technology, Germany **INRIA** Rocquencourt, France University of Auckland, New Zealand Eindhoven University of Technology, NL Czech Technical University, Czech Republic University of Surrey, UK Chiba University, Japan INSA Lyon, France University of Auckland, New Zealand University of Western Australia, Australia Vienna University of Technology, Austria University of Ljubljana, Slovenia Rome University "La Sapienza," Italy McGill University, Canada University of California, Santa Barbara, USA Rutgers University, Piscataway, USA University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany University of Western Australia, Australia University of Cyprus, Cyprus ICVACS, Germany University of Groningen, The Netherlands University of Surrey, UK University of Groningen, The Netherlands University of Bielefeld, Germany Technical University of Catalonia, Spain CNR, Naples, Italy ETH Zürich, Switzerland University of Cyprus, Cyprus INRIA Rhône-Alpes, France Leiden University, The Netherlands CMM-École des Mines, France University of Kiel, Germany Warsaw University of Technology, Poland University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands EC Joint Research Centre, Italy University of Ljubljana, Slovenia University of Kiel, Germany Sung Kyun Kwan University, Republic of Korea Chinese Academy of Sciences, China University Medical Center Utrecht, NL Computer Vision Center, Barcelona, Spain Delft University of Technology, NL

Albert Vossepoel	Delft University of Technology, NL	
Harry Wechsler	George Mason University, Fairfax, USA	
Joachim Weickert	Saarland University, Germany	
Michel Westenberg	University of Groningen, The Netherlands	
Michael Wilkinson	University of Groningen, The Netherlands	
Konrad Wojciechowski	Silesian Technical University, Poland	
Ian Young	Delft University of Technology, NL	

## **Additional Referees**

A. Akselrod	F. Kanters	D. Skocaj
J. Andrade-Cetto	J. Krivic	M. Skurichina
J. Aranda	P. Krsek	R. Sluzek
M. Artac	H. Kruppa	M. Spengler
A. Bagdanov	B. Leibe	V. Stepan
R. Baldrich	J. Lou	T. Tan
M. Bjorkman	C. Luengo Hendriks	F. Tortorella
E. Borenstein	F. Moreno Noguer	M. van Ginkel
S. Bres	C. Neocleous	M. Vanrell
T. Brox	X. Otazu	J. Varona
A. Bruhn	P. Paclik	J. Verges Llahi
J. Cech	J. Palecek	J. Vitria
C. De Stefano	D. Paulus	J. Vogel
R. Duits	P. Peer	L. Wang
J. Edwards	E. Pekalska	Y. Wang
F. Faas	T. Pham	Y. Wexler
J. Goldberger	J. Ren	T. Weyrich
L. Gorelick	B. Rieger	L. Zelnik-Manor
A. Grau	B. Rosenhahn	V. Zyka
M. Jogan	C. Sansone	

D. Simakov

# **Sponsoring Organizations**

Institute of Mathematics and Computing Science, University of Groningen, NL International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) Scalar–IT Solutions, Poland



P. Juszczak