Preface

We are glad to present the proceedings of the 5th biennial conference in the Intelligent Data Analysis series. The conference took place in Berlin, Germany, August 28–30, 2003. IDA has by now clearly grown up. Started as a small side-symposium of a larger conference in 1995 in Baden-Baden (Germany) it quickly attracted more interest (both submission- and attendance-wise), and moved from London (1997) to Amsterdam (1999), and two years ago to Lisbon. Submission rates along with the ever improving quality of papers have enabled the organizers to assemble increasingly consistent and high-quality programs. This year we were again overwhelmed by yet another record-breaking submission rate of 180 papers. At the Program Chairs meeting we were – based on roughly 500 reviews – in the lucky position of carefully selecting 17 papers for oral and 42 for poster presentation. Poster presenters were given the opportunity to summarize their papers in 3-minute spotlight presentations. The oral, spotlight and poster presentations were then scheduled in a single-track, 2.5-day conference program, summarized in this book.

In accordance with the goal of IDA, "to bring together researchers from diverse disciplines," we achieved a nice balance of presentations from the more theoretical side (both statistics and computer science) as well as more application-oriented areas that illustrate how these techniques can be used in practice. Work presented in these proceedings ranges from theoretical contributions dealing, for example, with data cleaning and compression all the way to papers addressing practical problems in the areas of text classification and sales-rate predictions. A considerable number of papers also center around the currently so popular applications in bioinformatics.

In addition to the regular conference program we were delighted that Profs. Giacomo della Riccia (Univ. of Udine, Italy) and Lawrence O. Hall (Univ. of South Florida, USA) accepted our invitation to present keynote lectures. Also, for the first time in its history, the conference was preceded by three tutorial lectures: Nada Lavrač on "Rule Learning and Relational Subgroup Discovery," Alfred Inselberg on "Visualization & Data Mining," and Jean-Francois Boulicaut on "Constraint-Based Mining."

Organizing a conference such as this one is not possible without the assistance and support of many individuals. We are particularly grateful to Angelika Wnuk who was in charge of local arrangements. Christian Borgelt was the backbone of the electronic "stuff" (website, electronic review and submission system) all the way to the assembly of the final proceedings, and Andreas Nürnberger was tirelessly active in making sure announcements, reminders and conference calendars were always up to date. Lastly, thanks go to our Program Chairs, Elizabeth Bradley and Rudolf Kruse for all the work they put into assembling an exciting program! But, of course, this was only possible because of the help of the members of the Program Committee, many of whom also submitted papers and attended the conference.

July 2003

Organization

General Chairs Michael R. Berthold

Data Analysis Research Lab, Tripos Inc.

South San Francisco, CA, USA

berthold@tripos.com

Hans-Joachim Lenz Free University of Berlin

Berlin, Germany

ls-lenz@wiwiss.fu-berlin.de

Program Chairs Elizabeth Bradley

University of Colorado Boulder, CO, USA

lizb@sogol.cs.colorado.edu

Rudolf Kruse

Otto-von-Guericke-Univerity of Magdeburg

Magdeburg, Germany

kruse@iws.cs.uni-magdeburg.de

Tutorials Chair Arno Siebes

Utrecht University

Utrecht, The Netherlands

siebes@cs.uu.nl

Publication Chair

and Webmaster

Christian Borgelt

Otto-von-Guericke-Univerity of Magdeburg

Magdeburg, Germany

borgelt@iws.cs.uni-magdeburg.de

Publicity Chair Andreas Nürnberger

University of California Berkeley, CA, USA

anuernb@eecs.berkeley.edu

Local Arrangements Angelika Wnuk

Free University of Berlin

Berlin, Germany

wnuk@wiwiss.fu-berlin.de

Program Committee

Riccardo Bellazzi (IT) Michael Berthold (US) Hans-Georg Beyer (DE) Hans-Hermann Bock (DE) Klemens Böhm (DE) Christian Borgelt (DE) Pavel Brazdil (PT) Gerhard Brewka (DE) Herbert Büning (DE) Hans-Dieter Burkhard (DE) Luis M. de Campos (ES) Akmal Chaudhri (UK) Robert D. Clark (US) Paul Cohen (US) Fabio Crestani (UK) Francesco d'Ovidio (DK) Matthew Easley (US) Fazel Famili (CA) Giuseppe Di Fatta (IT) Fridtjof Feldbusch (DE) Ingrid Fischer (DE) Douglas Fisher (US) Peter Flach (UK) Eibe Frank (NZ) Karl A. Fröschl (AT) Alex Gammerman (UK) Jörg Gebhardt (DE) Günter Görz (DE) Adolf Grauel (DE) Gabriela Guimaraes (PT) Christopher Habel (DE) Lawrence O. Hall (US) Alexander Hinneburg (DE) Frank Hoffmann (SE) Adele Howe (US) Frank Höppner (DE) Klaus-Peter Huber (DE) Anthony Hunter (UK) Alfred Inselberg (IL) Christian Jacob (CA) Finn Jensen (DK) Thorsten Joachims (US)

Daniel A. Keim (DE)

Gabriele Kern-Isberner (DE)

Frank Klawonn (DE)
Aljoscha Klose (DE)
Willi Klösgen (DE)
Alois Knoll (DE)
Joost N. Kok (NL)
Bernd Korn (DE)
Paul J. Krause (UK)
Jens Peter Kreiss (DE)
Mark-A. Krogel (DE)
Rudolf Kruse (DE)
Gerhard Lakemeyer (DE)
Carsten Lanquillon (DE)
Nada Lavrac (SI)
Hans Lenz (DE)

Ramon Lopez de Mantaras (ES)

Bing Liu (US)
Xiaohui Liu (UK)
Rainer Malaka (DE)
Luis Magdalena (ES)
Hans-Peter Mallot (DE)
Bernd Michaelis (DE)
Kai Michels (DE)
Ralf Mikut (DE)
Katharina Morik (DE)
Fernando Moura Pires (PT)
Gholamreza Nakhaeizadeh (DE)
Susana Nascimento (PT)

Olfa Nasraoui (US) Wolfgang Näther (DE) Detlef Nauck (UK) Bernhard Nebel (DE) Andreas Nürnberger (DE)

Tim Oates (US)
Christian Och (US)
Rick Osborne (US)
Gerhard Paaß (DE)
Simon Parsons (US)
James F. Peters (CA)
Peter Protzel (DE)
Marco Ramoni (US)
Giacomo Della Riccia

Giacomo Della Riccia (IT) Michael M. Richter (DE) Martin Riedmiller (DE) Helge Ritter (DE) Egmar Rödel (DE)

Raul Rojas (DE)

Dietmar Rösner (DE)

Thomas Runkler (DE)

Gunter Saake (DE)

Tobias Scheffer (DE)

Eckehard Schnieder (DE)

Wolfgang Schröder-Preikschat (DE)

Romano Scozzafava (IT)

Paola Sebastiani (US)

Kaisa Sere (FI)

Roberta Siciliano (IT)

Stefan Siekmann (DE)

Rosaria Silipo (US)

Philippe Smets (BE)

Myra Spiliopoulou (DE)

Martin Spott (UK)

Gerd Stumme (DE)

Thomas Strothotte (DE)

Fay Sudweeks (AU)

Klaus Tönnies (DE)

Shusaku Tsumoto (JP)

Antony Unwin (DE)

Reinhard Viertl (AT)

Jörg Walter (DE)

Matthew O. Ward (US)

Richard Weber (CL)

Gerhard Widmer (AT)

Olaf Wolkenhauer (UK)

Stefan Wrobel (DE)

Fritz Wysotzki (DE)

Andreas Zell (DE)