## **Preface**

This volume includes the papers accepted for the First International Conference on Electronic Commerce and Web Technologies, which was held in Greenwich, UK, on September 4-6, 2000. The conference is the first of a series of planned conferences on these topics with the goal to bring together researchers from academia, practitioners and commercial developers from industry, and users to assess current methodologies and explore new ideas in e-commerce and web technology.

The conference attracted 120 papers from all over the world and each paper was reviewed by at least three program committee members for its merit. The program committee finally selected 42 papers for presentation and inclusion in these conference proceedings.

The conference program consisted of 14 technical sessions and two invited talks spread over three days. The regular sessions covered topics such as web application design, intellectual property rights, security and fairness, distributed organizations, web usage analysis, modelling of web applications, electronic commerce success factors, electronic markets, XML, web mining, electronic negotiation, integrity and performance, facilitating electronic commerce, and mobile electronic commerce.

There were two invited addresses at the conference. The first was by Anthony Finkelstein, University College London, UK on "A Foolish Consistency: Technical Challenges in Consistency Management". This was a common address to the DEXA, the DaWaK and the EC-Web attendees. The second talk was by Paul Timmers, European Commission, Information Technologies Directorate on "The Role of Technology for the e-Economy".

We would like to express thanks to the people who helped put together the technical program: the program committee members and external reviewers for their timely and rigorous reviews of the papers, the DEXA organizing committee for their help in administrative work and support, and special thanks to Gabriela Wagner for doing most of the organizational work and for always responding promptly.

Finally, we would like to thank all the authors who submitted papers, authors who presented papers, the invited speakers, and the attendees who made this conference intellectually stimulating.

Günther Pernul (University of Essen) Sanjay Kumar Madria (Purdue University)

## **Conference Organization**

#### **General Chair**

K. Bauknecht, Switzerland University of Zurich

### **Program Chair**

**Electronic Commerce** G. Pernul, Germany University of Essen

# **Web Technologies**S. Kumar Madria, USA Purdue University

## **Program committee**

### **Electronic Commerce Track**

K. Aberer, Germany
N.R. Adam, USA
M. Bichler, Austria
W. Cellary, Poland
R. Clarke, Australia
A. Dogac, Turkey
E. Fernandez, USA
J. Gricar, Slovenia
K. Karlapalem, China
S. Klein, Germany
W. König, Germany
R. Kramer, Germany
K. Kurbel, Germany
W. Lamersdorf, Germany

M. Merz, Germany
G. Neumann, Austria
R. Oppliger, Switzerland
A. Röhm, Germany
S. Teufel, Germany
P. Timmers, Belgium
A M. Tjoa, Austria
A. Tsalgatidou, Greece
H. Weigand, The Netherlands
H. Werthner, Austria

R.M. Lee, The Netherlands

H. Werthner, Austria J.C. Westland, China A.B. Whinston, USA Y. Yesha, USA

## Web Technologies Track C. Baru, USA

B. Bhargava, USA F. Fotouhi, USA J. Freire, USA A. Joshi, USA M. Klusch, Germany L. Lakshmanan, Canada G. Lausen, Germany D. Lee, China E.P. Lim, Singapore B. Mobasher, USA M. Mohania, USA S. Paraboschi, Italy E. Pitoura, Greece G. Psaila, Italy P.K. Reddy, Japan G. Samaras, Cyprus N.L. Sarda, India P. Scheuermann, USA C. Shahabi, USA G. Sindoni, Italy J. Srivastava, USA D. Suciu, USA K.L. Tan, Singapore K. Vidyasankar, Canada K. Wee-Ng, Singapore

Y. Zhang, Australia

### **Additional Reviewers**

L. Ahmedi, Y. Cao, G. Carchesio, W. Essmayr, R. Grimm, N. Hamali, G. Herrmann, A. Hintoglu, C. Huemer, V. Iravul, S. Lee, J. Lopez, J. Markkula, P.J. Marron, D. Merkl, L. Mutenda, J. Narikka, E. Ojanen, T. Ozen, M. Paolucci, S. Pektas, I. Pramudiono, G. Quirchmayr, K. Rannenberg, T. Schlichting, W. Thoen, A. Tumer, J. Veijalainen, W. Winiwarter, M. Zielinsky