Preface

With 133 registered participants from 27 countries, including 19 participants from industry, the International Symposium on Graph Drawing 2001 (GD 2001) that took place in Vienna, September 23–26, 2001, clearly demonstrated that the graph drawing community is still growing. The 31 contributed talks that had been selected out of 66 paper submissions by the program committee reflect the many facets of graph drawing and the high activity in our scientific discipline. In addition, we had the pleasure of enjoying invited presentations by Alexander Schrijver and Eduard Gröller that mark extreme points of the wide spectrum of graph drawing, the mathematical foundations and the computer graphics, respectively. We have compiled the written versions of these contributions in the same order as they were presented during the conference.

We have added a correct version of Joan P. Hutchinson's contribution to GD 2000 that had been misprinted in the GD 2000 proceedings.

GD 2001 hosted a software exhibition that gave participants and guests the opportunity for hands-on experience with state-of-the-art graph drawing tools. Out of the 26 submitted software tools, 24 were presented at the conference and received considerable attention by the participants. Each of them is represented here by a two-page-summary.

In a special session on graph exchange formats, organized by Giuseppe Liotta, the GXL and the GraphML projects were presented by Andreas Winter and Ulrik Brandes, respectively, and then a lively discussion followed. The written versions of the two reports are also included here.

The final contribution in this volume is a report on a traditional component of all graph drawing conferences that is a serious and a fun event at the same time: the Graph Drawing Contest 2001 organized by Franz Brandenburg.

We would like to thank all contributors for the pleasant cooperation.

December 2001

Petra Mutzel Michael Jünger Sebastian Leipert

Organization

Program Committee

Petra Mutzel Vienna University of Technology - chair

Michael Jünger University of Cologne - co-chair Franz Aurenhammer Graz University of Technology

Therese Biedl University of Waterloo Giuseppe Di Battista University of Rome III Franz Brandenburg University of Passau Yefim Dinitz Ben Gurion University Peter Eades University of Sydney

Herbert Fleischner Austrian Academy of Sciences

Hubert de Fraysseix CNRS Paris

Mike Goodrich Johns Hopkins University
Jan Kratochvíl Charles University Prague
Giuseppe Liotta University of Perugia
Brendan Madden Tom Sawyer Software
Shin-ichi Nakano Gunma University

Organization Committee

Petra Mutzel Vienna University of Technology - chair

Michael Jünger University of Cologne - co-chair
Leonid Dimitrov Austrian Academy of Sciences
Barbara Hufnagel Vienna University of Technology
Gunnar Klau Vienna University of Technology
Sebastian Leipert Research Center caesar, Bonn
René Weiskircher Vienna University of Technology
Emanuel Wenger Austrian Academy of Sciences

Software Exhibition Organizers

Martin Gruber Vienna University of Technology

Thomas Lange University of Cologne

Steering Committee

University of Passau Franz J. Brandenburg Giuseppe Di Battista University of Rome Peter Eades University of Sydney University of Cologne Michael Jünger

Joe Marks Mitsubishi Electrical Research Labs Petra Mutzel Technical University of Vienna

Takao Nishizeki Tohoku University

Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales Pierre Rosenstiehl

Roberto Tamassia Brown University

Ioannis G. Tollis University of Texas, Dallas

External Referees

Oswin Aichholzer Maolin Huang Robert Babilon John Johansen Christian Bachmeier Matya Katz Broňa Brejová Gunnar Klau Christoph Buchheim Karsten Klein Erik Demaine Hannes Krasser Emilio Di Giacomo Sebastian Leipert Walter Didimo Xuemin Lin Michael Forster Anna Lubiw Carsten Friedrich Alessandro Marcandalli Yashar Ganjali Hugo di Nascimento Carsten Gutwenger Nikola Nikolov Patrick Healv

Maurizio Patrignani Merijam Percan

Andreas Pick Maurizio Pizzonia Aaron Quigley Marcus Raitner Franz Rendl Joe Sawada Falk Schreiber Tomáš Vinař Imrich Vrťo Richard Webber René Weiskircher David Wood

Student Assistants

Christoph Dorn Georg Kraml Anna Potocka Katarzyna Potocka

Seokhee Hong

Barbara Reitgruber Patrick Seidelmann Barbara Schuhmacher

Sponsoring Institutions

We gratefully acknowledge the contributions of the following sponsors of the Graph Drawing Conference 2001:



























