Preface

The papers in this volume were presented at SWAT 2000, the Seventh Scandinavian Workshop on Algorithm Theory. The workshop, which is really a conference, has been held biennially since 1988, rotating between the five Nordic countries (Sweden, Norway, Finland, Denmark, and Iceland). It also has a loose association with the WADS (Workshop on Algorithms and Data Structures) conference that is held in odd numbered years. SWAT is intended as a forum for researchers in the area of design and analysis of algorithms. The SWAT conferences are coordinated by the SWAT steering committee, which consists of B. Aspvall (Bergen), S. Carlsson (Luleå), H. Hafsteinsson (U. Iceland), R. Karlsson (Lund), A. Lingas (Lund), E. Schmidt (Aarhus), and E. Ukkonen (Helsinki).

The call for papers sought contributions in all areas of algorithms and data structures, including computational geometry, parallel and distributed computing, graph theory, and computational biology. A total of 105 papers were submitted, out of which the program committee selected 43 for presentation. In addition, invited lectures were presented by Uriel Feige (Weizmann), Mikkel Thorup (AT&T Labs-Research), and Esko Ukkonen (Helsinki).

SWAT 2000 was held in Bergen, July 5-7, 2000, and was locally organized by a committee consisting of Pinar Heggernes, Petter Kristiansen, Fredrik Manne, and Jan Arne Telle (chair), all from the department of informatics, University of Bergen.

We wish to thank all the referees who aided in evaluating the papers. We also thank The Research Council of Norway (NFR) and the City of Bergen for financial support.

July 2000

Magnús M. Halldórsson

Program Committee

Amotz Bar-Noy, Tel-Aviv Univ.
Luisa Gargano, Univ. of Salerno
Jens Gustedt, LORIA and INRIA Lorraine
Magnús M. Halldórsson, chair, U. Iceland and U. Bergen
Kazuo Iwama, Kyoto Univ.
Klaus Jansen, Univ. of Kiel
Jan Kratochvíl, Charles Univ.
Andrzej Lingas, Lund Univ.
Jaikumar Radhakrishnan, Tata Institute
R. Ravi, Carnegie Mellon Univ.
Jörg-Rudicher Sack, Carleton Univ.
Baruch Schieber, IBM Research
Sven Skyum, Univ. of Aarhus
Hisao Tamaki, Meiji Univ.
Jan Arne Telle, Univ. of Bergen

Gerhard Woeginger, Technical Univ. Graz

Esko Ukkonen, Univ. of Helsinki

Referees

Pankaj Agarwal Laura Grigori Helmut Alt Joachim Gudmundsson Larse Arge Bjarni V. Halldórsson David Avis Mikael Hammar Michael Houle Luitpold Babel Bruno Beauquier David Hutchinson Binav Bhattacharva Rahul Jain Therese Biedl Jesper Jansson Andreas Björklund Rolf Karlsson Claudson Bornstein T. Kavita Gerth Stølting Brodal Jvrki Kivinen Eranda Çela Rolf Klein Timothy M. Chan Bettina Klinz Joseph Cherivan Jochen Könemann Johanne Cohen Goran Konjevod Artur Czumaj S. Krishnan Frank Dehne Christos Levcopoulos Ingvar Eidhammer Moshe Lewenstein Aleksei V. Fishkin Alex Lopez-Ortiz Éric Fleury Ross McConnell Fedor Fomin Ewa Malesinska Gudmund S. Frandsen Monaldo Mastrolilli Leszek Gasieniec Brian M. Mayoh

Jiri Matoušek Peter Bro Miltersen Gabriele Never Anna Östlin Rasmus Pagh Jakob Pagter Christian N. S. Pedersen Marco Pellegrini Cecilia M. Procopiuc Wojtek Rytter Fatma Sibel Salman Sven Schuierer Eike Seidel Pranab Sen Jop Sibeyn Michiel Smid Edyta Szymanska Ariel Tamir Santosh Vempala S. Venkatesh Alexander Wolff

Anders Yeo