Preface

This book contains a selection of papers presented at the first annual workshop of the TYPES Working Group (Computer-Assisted Reasoning Based on Type Theory, EU IST project 29001), which was held 8th – 12th of December, 2000 at the University of Durham, Durham, UK. It was attended by about 80 researchers.

The workshop follows a series of meetings organised in 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1998, and 1999 under the auspices of the Esprit BRA 6435 and the Esprit Working Group 21900 for the previous TYPES projects. Those proceedings were also published in the LNCS series, edited by Henk Barendregt and Tobias Nipkow (Vol. 806, 1993), by Peter Dybjer, Bengt Nordström, and Jan Smith (Vol. 996, 1994), by Stefano Berardi and Mario Coppo (Vol. 1158, 1995), by Christine Paulin-Mohring and Eduardo Gimenez (Vol. 1512, 1996), by Thorsten Altenkirch, Wolfgang Naraschewski, and Bernhard Reus (Vol. 1657, 1998), and by Thierry Coquand, Peter Dybjer, Bengt Nordström, and Jan Smith (Vol. 1956, 1999). The Esprit BRA 6453 was itself a continuation of the former Esprit Action 3245, Logical Frameworks: Design, Implementation, and Experiments. The articles from the annual workshops under that Action were edited by Gerard Huet and Gordon Plotkin in the books Logical Frameworks and Logical Environments, both published by Cambridge University Press.

Acknowledgements

We are very grateful to members of Durham's Computer Assisted Reasoning Group, especially Robert Kießling, for helping to organise the workshop. Robert's contribution was key to the success of the meeting. We also wish to thank Louise Coates for administrative support.

We would also like to thank the invited speakers, Susumu Hayashi and Giuseppe Longo, for accepting our invitation and for contributing to this volume.

The Working Group received funding from the EU IST programme, which has made the annual workshops possible.

December 2001

Paul Callaghan, Zhaohui Luo James McKinna, Robert Pollack

Referees

We would like to thank the following people for their kind work in reviewing the papers submitted to these proceedings.

Thorsten Altenkirch	Daniel Fridlender	Christine Paulin
Jamie Andrews	Pietro Di Gianantonio	Loïc Pottier
Marcin Benke	Healfdene Goguen	David Pym
Stefano Berardi	Masami Hagiya	Christophe Raffalli
Stefan Berghofer	Michael Hedberg	Fred Richman
Yves Bertot	Hugo Herbelin	Natarajan Shankar
Marc Bezem	Martin Hofmann	Alex Simpson
Catarina Coquand	Paul Jackson	Jan Smith
David Delahaye	Conor McBride	Sergei Soloviev
Ewen Denney	Michael Mendler	Björn von Sydow
Gilles Dowek	Eugenio Moggi	Makoto Takeyama
Uwe Egly	Milad Niqui	Benjamin Werner
Matt Fairtlough	Erik Palmgren	Freek Wiedijk