Preface

Crypto 2001, the 21st Annual Crypto conference, was sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR) in cooperation with the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Security and Privacy and the Computer Science Department of the University of California at Santa Barbara.

The conference received 156 submissions, of which the program committee selected 34 for presentation; one was later withdrawn. These proceedings contain the revised versions of the 33 submissions that were presented at the conference. These revisions have not been checked for correctness, and the authors bear full responsibility for the contents of their papers.

The conference program included two invited lectures. Mark Sherwin spoke on, "Quantum information processing in semiconductors: an experimentalist's view." Daniel Weitzner spoke on, "Privacy, Authentication & Identity: A recent history of cryptographic struggles for freedom." The conference program also included its perennial "rump session," chaired by Stuart Haber, featuring short, informal talks on late-breaking research news.

As I try to account for the hours of my life that flew off to oblivion, I realize that most of my time was spent cajoling talented innocents into spending even more time on my behalf. I have accumulated more debts than I can ever hope to repay. As mere statements of thanks are certainly insufficient, consider the rest of this preface my version of Chapter 11.

I would like to first thank the many researchers from all over the world who submitted their work to this conference. Without them, Crypto is just a pile of shrimp and chocolate covered strawberries.

I thank David Balenson, the general chair, for shielding me from innumerable logistical headaches, and showing great generosity in supporting my efforts.

Selecting from so many submissions is a daunting task. My deepest thanks go to the members of the program committee, for their knowledge, wisdom, and near-masochistic work ethic. We in turn have relied heavily on the expertise of the many outside reviewers who assisted us in our deliberations. My thanks to all those listed on the following pages, and my thanks and apologies to any I have missed.

I thank Rebecca Wright for hosting the program committee meeting in New York City, AT&T for providing the space, and Sandy Barbu for helping out with the local arrangements. Thanks also go to Ran Canetti, my favorite native culinary guide, wherever I go, for organizing the post-deliberations dinner.

I thank the people who, by their past and continuing work, have greatly streamlined the submission and review process. All but one of the submissions were handled using Chanathip Namprempre's web-based submission software. Reviews were administered using software written by Wim Moreau and Joris Claessens, developed under the guidance of Bart Preneel. These software packages have made the process idiot proof, and nearly theorist-proof. My thanks also go to Sam Rebelsky for writing the email-based predecessor of the submission software. He and the other members of the SIGACT Electronic Publications Board have for many years made program committee chairs' lives much more bearable.

I am grateful to Mihir Bellare, last year's program chair, and Kevin McCurley and Josh Benaloh, my main contacts with the IACR board, for patiently trying to teach me my job.

Even if I can't really account for what I, personally, was doing, the hours did go somewhere. I thank my boss, Peter Yianilos, for being so supportive of my efforts, and so absurdly forgiving of the time it has taken away from my work. Last, and more importantly, I'd like to thank my family, Dina, Gersh, and Pearl, for their support, understanding, and love.

June 2001

Joe Kilian

CRYPTO 2001

August 19–23, 2001, Santa Barbara, California, USA

Sponsored by the

International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR)

in cooperation with

IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Security and Privacy, Computer Science Department, University of California, Santa Barbara

General Chair

David Balenson, NAI Labs, Network Associates, Inc., USA

Program Chair

Joe Kilian, Yianilos Labs, USA

Program Committee

Bill Aiello	AT&T Research, USA
Don Beaver	CertCo, USA
Josh Benaloh	Microsoft Research, USA
Antoon Bosselaers	Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Jan Camenisch	IBM Zurich, Switzerland
	IBM T. J. Watson, USA
	Università di Salerno, Italy
Marc Girault	France Telecom, France
Stuart Haber	InterTrust STAR Lab, USA
Tatsuaki Okamoto	NTT Labs, Japan
Jacques Patarin	BULL, France
Erez Petrank	Technion, Israel
Omer Reingold	AT&T Research, USA
Kazue Sako	NEC C&C Media Research Lab, Japan
Tomas Sander	InterTrust STAR Lab, USA
Doug Stinson	University of Waterloo, Canada
Yacov Yacobi	Microsoft Research, USA

Advisory Members

Mihir Bellare (Crypto 2000 program chair)	UCSD, USA
Moti Yung (Crypto 2002 program chair)	CertCo, USA

External Reviewers

Masavuki Abe Mehdi-Laurent Akkar Seigo Arita Mihir Bellare Juergen Bierbrauer Eli Biham Daniel Bleichenbacher Carlo Blundo Dan Boneh Eric Brier Daniel Brown Christian Cachin Anne Canteaut William Chambers Joris Claessens Henry Cohn Don Coppersmith Jean-Sébastien Coron Ronald Cramer Paolo D'Arco Annalisa De Bonis Patrick Dehornoy Giovanni Di Crescenzo Markus Dichtl Marc Fischlin Roger Fischlin Gerhard Frey Eiichiro Fujisaki Jun Furukawa Clemente Galdi Rosario Gennaro Oded Goldreich Dieter Gollmann Roberto Gorrieri Louis Goubin Gaëtan Haché Shai Halevi Helena Handschuh Nick Howgrave-Graham Yuval Ishai

Stanislaw Jarecki Thomas Johansson Jakob Jonsson Marc Jove Ari Juels Charanjit Jutla Jonathan Katz Darko Kirovski Andrew Klapper Francis Klay Tetsutaro Kobayashi Hugo Krawczyk Eval Kushilevitz Kristin Lauter Arjen Lenstra Yehuda Lindell Anna Lysyanskaya David M'Raihi Spyros Magliveras Dahlia Malkhi Tal Malkin Barbara Masucci Minoru Matsui Ueli Maurer Rita Maver-Sommer Alfred Menezes Niodrag Mihaljevic Kazuhiko Minematsu Jean-François Misarsky Peter Montgomery Guglielmo Morgari Shiho Moriai David Naccache Moni Naor Satoshi Obana Rafail Ostrovsky Christof Paar Béatrice Peirani Pino Persiano Benny Pinkas

David Pointcheval Bart Preneel Jean-Jacques Quisquater Tal Rabin Raj Rajagopalan Vincent Rijmen Matt Robshaw Phillip Rogaway Pankaj Rohatgi Alon Rosen Amit Sahai Taiichi Saitoh Louis Salvail Palash Sarkar Claus Schnorr Peter Shor Victor Shoup Alice Silverberg Dan Simon Dawn Song Markus Stadler Jacques Stern Koutarou Suzuki Paul Syverson Jacques Traoré Luca Trevisan Shigenori Uchiyama Serge Vaudenay Ramarathnam Venkatesan Frederik Vercauteren Eric Verheul Ivan Visconti David Wagner Michael Waidner Yongge Wang Ruizhong Wei Gideon Yuval