Statement of the Chairpersons

ECDL 2001 was the 5th conference in the series of European Conferences on Research and Advanced Technology for Digital Libraries. Following previous events in Pisa (1997), Heraklion (1998), Paris (1999), and Lisbon (2000), this year ECDL was held in Darmstadt, Germany, and was co-organized by the Technical University of Darmstadt, GMD-IPSI, and Die Deutsche Bibliothek (the German National Library), Frankfurt. The overall objective of the ECDL series is to foster the formation of a multi-disciplinary scientific community in Europe specific to digital library research, development, and deployment. The ECDL series is supported by the DELOS Network of Excellence in Digital Libraries.

ECDL 2001 was seen as a good opportunity to review the impact that DLs have had on science, technology, and society in general. The call for papers therefore placed emphasis on applications of DL systems and on their integration into practical work. Looking to the future from the same perspective, we feel it is timely for the DL community to discuss such issues as the possible convergence of libraries, museums, and archives in their capacity as carriers of collective memories, which will yield large digital information spaces, and will encourage future co-operation in information spaces. This process seems, important as it is, to be only at its beginning. The Programme Committee, comprised of 36 members from 14 countries, selected 39 papers, 22 for regular and 17 for short presentations, out of a total of 79 submissions coming from 21 countries and 4 continents, in the following areas:

- User modelling
- Digitisation
- Interpretation and annotation of documents
- Knowledge management
- Data and metadata models
- Integration in user communities
- Information retrieval and filtering
- Multimedia digital libraries
- Multilinguality.

Besides the technical papers, the programme also featured three invited talks by Mike Keller, Stanford University, Eric Miller, W3C, and Dr. Michael Türkay, Senckenberg Museum, Frankfurt, three panel discussions, and a poster and demonstration session. Moreover, tutorials and workshops conveniently arranged immediately before and after the conference extended the range of subjects and opportunities for exchange of knowledge and opinions offered by the conference.

July 2001

P. Constantopoulos E.J. Neuhold E. Niggemann I. Sølvberg

Organisation

General Chairs

Erich J. Neuhold, GMD-IPSI, Darmstadt Elisabeth Niggemann, Die Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt a. M.

Programme Chairs

Ingeborg Torvik Sølvberg, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim Panos Constantopoulos, FORTH, Crete

Demo & Poster Chairs

Dan Atkins, University of Michigan Karsten Wendland, Darmstadt University of Technology, Darmstadt

Tutorial Chairs

Norbert Fuhr, University of Dortmund Richard Furuta, Texas A&M University, USA

Workshop Chair

Carol Peters, IEI-CNR, Pisa

Organisation Chairs

Rudi Schmiede, Darmstadt University of Technology, Darmstadt Matthias Hemmje, GMD-IPSI, Darmstadt

Publicity Chairs

Thomas Baker, GMD, Sankt Augustin Nick Belkin, Rutgers University, USA

Programme Committee

- T. Aalberg, NTNU, Norway
- D. E. Atkins, University of Michigan, USA
- Th. Baker, GMD, Germany
- N. Belkin, Rutgers University, USA
- J. Borbinha, INESC, Portugal
- A. Brüggemann-Klein, Technical University of Munich, Germany
- P. Constantopoulos, FORTH, Greece, (co-chair)
- L. Dempsey, King's College London, UK
- M. Doerr, FORTH, Greece
- M. Dovey, Oxford Univ., UK
- E. Fox, Virginia Tech, USA
- N. Fuhr, University of Dortmund, Germany
- R. Furuta, Texas A&M University, USA
- H. Haddouti, Bavarian Research Center, Germany
- P. Hansen, SICS, Sweden
- L. Hardman, CWI, The Netherlands
- M. Hedstrom, University of Michigan, USA
- M. Hemmje, GMD, Germany
- L. Hill, University of California at Santa Barbara, USA
- O. Husby, BIBSYS, Norway
- L. Kalinichenko, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
- T. Koch, Lund University, Sweden
- L. Kovacs, SZTAKI, Hungary
- S. Krause, Germanisches Nationalmuseum, Germany
- C. Lagoze, Cornell Univ., USA
- P. Miller, UKOLN, UK
- A. Paepcke, Stanford University, USA
- C. Peters, IEI-CNR, Italy
- C.J. van Rijsbergen, University of Glasgow, UK
- L. Rold, National Museum, Denmark
- Ch. Rusbridge, University of Warwick, UK
- D. Soergel, University of Maryland, USA
- I. Sølvberg, NTNU, Norway, (co-chair)
- S. Sugimoto, ULIS, Japan
- C. Thanos, IEI-CNR, Italy
- U. Thiel, GMD, Germany
- A.-M. Vercoustre, CSIRO, Australia
- S. Weibel, OCLC, USA

Steering Committee

Costantino Thanos, Chair, DELOS director, CNR-IEI, Italy Yannis Yoannidis, DELOS Research Forum leader, University of Athens, Greece Alan Smeaton, University of Dublin, Ireland Hans-Jörg Scheck, ETHZ, Switzerland Serge Abiteboul, ECDL 1999 Programme Chair, INRIA, France Jose Borbinha, ECDL 2000 Programme Chair, BN-IST-INESC, Portugal Erich Neuhold, ECDL 2001 General Chair, GMD-IPSI, Germany Ingeborg Sølvberg, ECDL 2001 Programme Chair, NTNU, Norway Panos Constantopoulos, ECDL 2001 Programme Chair, FORTH, Crete Nick Belkin, JCDL representative, Rutgers University, USA

Additional Reviewers

Andre Everts
Anna Tonazzini
Claudio Gennaro
Donna Bergmark
Fernando Adrian Das Neves
Ingo Frommholz
Giuseppe Amato
Marcos André Gonçalves
Jörg Cassens
Marcello L'Abbate
Mingfang Wu
Naomi Dushay