Preface

The 2005 issue of the International Workshop on Practice and Theory in Public Key Cryptography (PKC 2005) was held in Les Diablerets, Switzerland during January 23–26, 2005. It followed a series of successful PKC workshops which started in 1998 in Pacifico Yokohama, Japan. Previous workshops were successively held in Kamakura (Japan), Melbourne (Australia), Cheju Island (South Korea), Paris (France), Miami (USA), and Singapore. Since 2003, PKC has been sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR). As in previous years, PKC 2005 was one of the major meeting points of worldwide research experts in public-key cryptography. I had the honor to co-chair the workshop together with Jean Monnerat and to head the program committee. Inspired by the fact that the RSA cryptosystem was invented on ski lifts, we decided that the best place for PKC was at a ski resort. Jean Monnerat and I hope that this workshop in a relaxed atmosphere will lead us to 25 more years of research fun.

PKC 2005 collected 126 submissions on August 26, 2004. This is a record number. The program committee carried out a thorough review process. In total, 413 review reports were written by renowned experts, program committee members as well as external referees. Online discussions led to 313 additional discussion messages and 238 emails. The review process was run using email and the Webreview software by Wim Moreau and Joris Claessens. Every submitted paper received at least 3 review reports. We selected 28 papers for publication on October 28, 2004. Authors were then given a chance to revise their submission over the following two weeks. This proceedings includes all the revised papers. Due to time constraints the revised versions could not be reviewed again.

Double submissions, where authors send the same or almost the same paper to multiple conferences that explicitly prohibit such practices, is an increasing problem for the research community worldwide. I do regret that we had to reject 6 such submissions without consideration of their scientific merits. I would like to thank the program chairs of other events who collaborated in this effort, in particular Anne Canteaut, Joe Kilian, Choonsik Park, and Seongtaek Chee.

With the approval of the IACR Board of Directors, PKC 2005 delivered the *PKC Best Paper Award* for the first time. The purpose of the award is to formally acknowledge authors of outstanding papers and to recognize excellence in the cryptographic research fields. Committee members were invited to nominate papers for this award. A poll then yielded a clear majority. This year, we were pleased to deliver the PKC Best Paper Award to Yevgeniy Dodis and Aleksandr Yampolskiy for their brilliant paper "A Verifiable Random Function with Short Proofs and Keys." This paper concluded the workshop.

I would like to thank Jean Monnerat who accepted the responsibility to cochair the PKC 2005 workshop. I would like to thank the PKC steering committee for their support and trust. The program committee and external reviewers

VI Preface

worked extremely hard under a tight schedule. I heartily thank them for this volunteer work. Acknowledgments also go to the authors of submitted papers and the speakers who made the real meat of PKC 2005. I am grateful to Antoine Junod and Julien Brouchier for their support with the Webreview software. I also thank my assistants Pascal Junod, Thomas Baignères, Yi Lu, Gildas Avoine, and Matthieu Finiasz for their help in the PKC 2005 organization. Special thanks to Martine Corval who orchestrated the PKC 2005 logistics. We appreciate the kind help of Christian Cachin in the advertising and registration process. We also owe our gratitude to Kevin McCurley for spending a substantial amount of his valuable time to set up the online registration website. We thank our generous sponsors Gemplus and personally David Naccache, and HP Labs and personally Wenbo Mao, for supporting PKC 2005. We also thank EPFL and IACR for sponsoring this event. It was a very pleasant experience. Crypto is fun!

Lausanne, November 19, 2004

Serge Vaudenay

PKC Steering Committee (as of November 2004)

Yvo Desmedt University College London, UK Hideki Imai (Chair) University of Tokyo, Japan

Kwangjo Kim Information and Communications University,

South Korea

David Naccache Gemplus, France,

and Royal Holloway, University of London, UK

Jacques Stern Ecole Normale Supérieure, France

Moti Yung Columbia University, USA

Yuliang Zheng (Secretary) University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA Ronald Cramer CWI and Leiden University, The Netherlands

Tatsuaki Okamoto NTT Labs, Japan

Organizing Committee

General Co-chairs Jean Monnerat

Serge Vaudenay

Local Organization Martine Corval

Assistants Gildas Avoine

Thomas Baignères Matthieu Finiasz Pascal Junod

Yi Lu

Program Committee

Carlisle Adams University of Ottawa, Canada

Feng Bao Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore

Yvo Desmedt University College London, UK

Juan Garay Bell Labs – Lucent Technologies, USA

Martin Hirt ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Kwangjo Kim Information and Communications University,

South Korea

Kaoru Kurosawa
Anna Lysyanskaya
Wenbo Mao
David Naccache

Ibaraki University, Japan
Brown University, USA
HP Labs Bristol, UK
Gemplus, France and

Royal Holloway, University of London, UK

Kaisa Nyberg Nokia, Finland Tatsuaki Okamoto NTT Labs, Japan

Josef Pieprzyk Macquarie University, Australia

David Pointcheval CNRS-ENS, France

Reihaneh Safavi-Naini University of Wollongong, Australia

Kazue Sako NEC, Japan

Claus-Peter Schnorr University of Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Berry Schoenmakers Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Nigel Smart University of Bristol, UK Edlyn Teske University of Waterloo, Canada

Serge Vaudenay EPFL, Switzerland

Moti Yung University of Columbia, USA

Yuliang Zheng University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA

External Reviewers

Masayuki Abe Ben Adida Gildas Avoine Joonsang Baek Thomas Baignères Mihir Bellare Daniel Bleichenbacher Colin Boyd Emmanuel Bresson Eric Brier Duncan Buell Srdjan Capkun Dario Catalano Liqun Chen Benoît Chevallier-Mames Jean-Sébastien Coron Ronald Cramer Jean-François Dhem Christophe Doche Atsushi Fujioka Eiichiro Fujisaki Jun Furukawa Steven Galbraith Pierrick Gaudry Louis Granboulan Rob Granger Jaime Gutierrez Darrel Hankerson Anwar Hasan Alex Healy Jason Hinek Susan Hohenberger

Thomas Holenstein

Heng Swee Huav

Toshivuki Isshiki Kouichi Itoh Michael Jacobson Marc Jove Pascal Junod Charanjit Jutla Jonathan Katz Tetsutaro Kobayashi Robert König Byoungcheon Lee Arjen Lenstra Moses Liskov Javier Lopez Yi Lu John Malone-Lee Toshihiko Matsuo Noel McCullagh Anton Mityagin Atsuko Miyaji Jean Monnerat Waka Nagao Phong Q. Nguyễn Satoshi Obana Takeshi Okamoto Katsuyuki Okeya Dan Page Pascal Paillier Jacques Patarin Kenneth Paterson Chris Peikert Krzysztof Pietrzak Bartosz Przydatek Tal Rabin Peter Roelse

Hans-Georg Rueck Rvuichi Sakai Takakazu Satoh Katja Schmidt-Samoa Michael Scott Hovav Shacham Andrev Sidorenko Johan Sjödin Martijn Stam Andreas Stein Ron Steinfeld Makoto Sugita Willy Susilo Koutarou Suzuki Tsuvoshi Takagi Keisuke Tanaka Isamu Teranishi Jacques Traoré Shigenori Uchiyama Frederik Vercauteren Duong Quang Viet Jorge L. Villar Guilin Wang Huaxiong Wang Stephen Weis Claire Whelan Christopher Wolf Go Yamamoto Chung-Huang Yang Danfeng Yao Sung-Ming Yen Huafei Zhu