Preface

The International Symposium on DIStributed Computing (DISC) 2002 was held in Toulouse, France, on October 28–30, 2002. The realization of distributed systems on numerous fronts and the proliferation of the Internet continue to make the symposium highly important and relevant.

There were 76 regular submissions to DISC this year, which were read and evaluated by program committee members assisted by external reviewers. Twenty-four papers were selected by the program committee to be included in these proceedings. The quality of submissions was high, and the committee had to decline some papers worthy of publication.

The best student paper award was selected from among regular submissions that were not co-authored by any program committee member, and was given to Yongqiang Huang for his contribution "Assignment-Based Partitioning in a Condition Monitoring System", co-authored with Hector Garcia-Molina.

October 2002 Dahlia Malkhi

Organizing Committee

Mamoun Filali Philippe Mauran Gèrard Padiou (Chair) Philippe Quèinnec Anne-Marie Zerr (Secretary)

Steering Committee

Andrè Schiper, Chair (EPFL, Switzerland)
Michel Raynal, Vice-chair (Irisa, France)
Maurice Herlihy (Brown University, USA)
Dahlia Malkhi, Program Chair (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel)
Jennifer Welch (Texas A&M University, USA)
Alex Shvartsman (University of Connecticut, USA)
Shay Kutten (Technion, Israel)

Program Committee

Gustavo Alonso (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)

Roberto Baldoni (University of Rome, Italy)

Dave Bakken (Washington State University, USA)

Paul Ezhilchelvan (University of Newcastle, UK)

Christof Fetzer (AT&T Labs-Research, USA)

Faith Fich (University of Toronto, Canada)

Roy Friedman (Technion, Israel)

Juan A. Garay (Bell Labs-Lucent Technologies, USA)

Yuh-Jzer Joung (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)

Nancy Lynch (MIT, USA)

Dahlia Malkhi, Chair (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel)

Michael Merritt (AT&T Labs-Research, USA)

Dan Raz (Technion, Israel)

Robbert van Renesse (Cornell University, USA)

Gadi Taubenfeld (Open University and IDC, Israel)

Masafumi Yamashita (Kyushu University, Japan)

External Referees

Miriam Alluluf Tal Anker Roberto Beraldi Geir Bjune David Breitgand Ranveer Chandra

Grisha Chockler Nick Cook

Lenore J. Cowen Tarana Damania Roberto de Prisco Ioanna Dionysiou Oren Dobzinsky Shlomi Dolev Kevin Dorow Andy Franz

Kjell Harald Gjermundrod

Rachid Guerraoui Carl Hauser

Jean-Michel Helary Maurice Herlihy Keren Horowitz Hirotsugu Kakugawa

Idit Keidar Nils Klarlund Wesley Lawrence Victor Luchangco Anna Lysyanskaya Carlo Marchetti Ofer Margo

Toshimitsu Masuzawa A. David McKinnon

Radek Mista Mark Moir Graham Morgan Ty Palmer Elan Pavlov David Peleg Michel Raynal Ohad Rodeh Yaron Sella

Jayavel Shanmugasundaram

Vitaly Shmatikov Ilya Shnaiderman Santosh Shrivastava

Gurdip Singh Emin Gun Sirer Will Stephenson Scott Stoller Ichiro Suzuki Anat Talmy Yih-Kuen Tsay

Sara Tucci Piergiovanni

Werner Vogels John Warne Rebecca Wright Zhen Xiao