Preface

The Annual Conference of the European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL), CSL 2005, was held at the University of Oxford on 22–25 August 2005. The conference series started as a programme of International Workshops on Computer Science Logic, and then in its 6th meeting became the Annual Conference of the EACSL. This conference was the 19th meeting and 14th EACSL conference; it was organized by the Computing Laboratory at the University of Oxford.

The CSL 2005 Programme Committee considered 108 submissions from 25 countries during a two-week electronic discussion; each paper was referred by at least three reviewers. The Committee selected 33 papers for presentation at the conference and publication in these proceedings.

The Programme Committee invited lectures from Matthias Baaz, Ulrich Berger, Maarten Marx and Anatol Slissenko; the papers provided by the invited speakers appear at the front of this volume.

Instituted in 2005, the Ackermann Award is the EACSL Outstanding Dissertation Award for Logic in Computer Science. The award winners for the inaugural year, Mikołaj Bojańczyk, Konstantin Korovin and Nathan Segerlind, were invited to present their work at the conference. Citations for the awards, abstracts of the theses, and biographical sketches of the award winners are at the end of the proceedings.

I thank the Programme Committee and all the referees for their work in reviewing the papers; Jolie de Miranda for her sterling work as editorial assistant; the other members of the local organizing team (William Blum, Matthew Hague, Andrzej Murawski and Sam Sanjabi), as well as many other Computing Laboratory colleagues who helped in various ways, for arranging the event itself; the organizers of CSL 2004; Andrei Voronkov, whose EasyChair system greatly facilitated the handling of submissions and reviews; and the British Logic Colloquium for financial support for a number of student bursaries.

Finally, I thank Merton College and the Computing Laboratory, which provided both financial support and much time from their staff.

June 2005

Luke Ong

Programme Committee

Albert Atserias UPC Barcelona David Basin ETH Zürich Martin Escardo U. Birmingham Zoltan Esik U. Szeged Martin Grohe Humboldt U. Ryu Hasegawa U. Tokyo Martin Hofmann LMU München Ulrich Kohlenbach T.U. Darmstadt Orna Kupferman Hebrew U. Jerusalem Paul-Andre Mellies U. Paris 7 Aart Middeldorp U. Innsbruck Dale Miller E. Polytechnique Damian Niwinski U. Warsaw Peter O'Hearn Queen Mary U. Luke Ong U. Oxford (Chair) Alexander Rabinovich U. Tel Aviv Thomas Schwentick Philipps U. Alex Simpson U. Edinburgh Nicolai Vorobjov U. Bath Andrei Voronkov U. Manchester

Additional Referees

Klaus Aehlig Yoji Akama Arnold Beckmann Lev Beklemishev Michael Benedikt Ulrich Berger Stefan Blom Mikolaj Bojanczyk Udi Boker Julian Bradfield **Olivier Brunet** Krishnendu Chatterjee James Chenev Jacek Chrzaszcz Bob Coecke Giovanni Conforti Bruno Courcelle Olivier Danvy Nachum Dershowitz Mariangiola Dezani Roy Dickhoff Kevin Donnelly Thomas Eiter Zoltán Fülöp Nicola Galesi Lilia Georgieva Erich Grädel Esfandiar Haghverdi Masahito Hasegawa Yoram Hirshfeld

Hendrik Jan Hoogeboom Dominic Hughes Michael Huth Andrew Ireland Florent Jacquemard Jan Johannsen Neil Jones Felix Klaedtke Hans-Joachim Klein Bartek Klin Konstantin Korovin Margarita Korovina Viktor Kuncak Ugo dal Lago Francois Lamarche Martin Lange Stephane Lengrand Giacomo Lenzi L. Leustean Paul Levy Leonid Libkin Ralph Loader Markus Lohrey Hans-Wolfgang Loidl Michael Macher Patrick Maier Harry Mairson Janos Makowsky Sebastian Maneth Claude Marché

Jerzy Marcinkowski Jean-Yves Marion Maarten Marx **Ralph** Matthes **Richard McKinley** Ichiro Mitsuhashi Georg Moser Misao Nagayama Hans-Juergen Ohlbach Vincent van Oostrom Martin Otto Leszek Pacholski **Dirk** Pattinson **Reinhard** Pichler Axel Polleres Shaz Qadeer Femke van Raamsdonk Michael Rathjen Eike Ritter Tatiana Rybina Hirovuki Sato Alexis Saurin Andrea Schalk M. Schmidt-Schauss Aleksv Schubert Nicole Schweikardt Helmut Seidl Hirovuki Seki Masaru Shirahata Dieter Spreen

Christoph Sprenger	Sándor Vágvölgyi	Andreas Weiermann
Kristian Stovring	Luca Vigano	C.P. Wirth
Thomas Strahm	Marina De Vos	James Worrell
Thomas Streicher	Johannes Waldmann	Hongwei Xi
Hayo Thielecke	Daria	Byoung-Tak Zhang
Cesare Tinelli	Walukiewicz-Chrzaszcz	
Alwen Tiu	Volker Weber	

Local Organizing Committee

William Blum Matthew Hague Jolie de Miranda Andrzej Murwaski Luke Ong Sam Sanjabi