Preface

Research in the field of gene regulation is evolving rapidly in an ever-changing scientific environment. Microarray techniques and comparative genomics have enabled more comprehensive studies of regulatory genomics and are proving to be powerful tools of discovery. The application of chromatin immunoprecipitation and microarrays (chIP-on-chip) to directly study the genomic binding locations of transcription factors has enabled more comprehensive modeling of regulatory networks. In addition, complete genome sequences and the comparison of numerous related species has demonstrated that conservation in non-coding DNA sequences often provides evidence for cis-regulatory binding sites. That said, much is still to be learned about the regulatory networks of these sequenced genomes.

Systematic methods to decipher the regulatory mechanism are also crucial for corroborating these regulatory networks. The core of these methods are the motif discovery algorithms that can help predict cis-regulatory elements. These DNA-motif discovery programs are becoming more sophisticated and are beginning to leverage evidence from comparative genomics (phylogenetic footprinting) and chIP-on-chip studies. How to use these new sources of evidence is an active area of research.

The first RECOMB Regulatory Genomics workshop exceeded the organizers' expectations. More than 130 attendees enjoyed many excellent talks from leading researchers in the field. Ideas were shared during active discussion time between talks and hopefully many collaborations were born. This preceedings contains ten original manuscripts presented by the authors during the workshop. The organizers for the first annual Regulatory Genomics workshop would like to thank all the speakers and participants for their interest and participation in this meeting. The 1st Annual RECOMB Satellite Workshop on Regulatory Genomics would not have been possible without the generous support of UC Discovery and Cal-IT².

Eleazar Eskin Alkes Price Ben Raphael Chris Workman

Organization

Steering Committee

Pierre Baldi Michael Eisen Eleazar Eskin (chair) Pavel Pevzner

Organizing Committee

Eleazar Eskin Alkes Price Ben Raphael Chris Workman

Program Committee

Mathieu Blanchette Julio Collado-Vides Michael Eisen Mikhail Gelfand Sridhar Hannenhalli Trey Ideker Jim Kadonaga Uri Keich Manolis Kellis Jim Kent Hao Li Dana Pe'er Yitzhak Pilpel Mireille Regnier Bing Ren Marie-France Sagot Eran Segal Ron Shamir Saurabh Sinha Rotem Sorek Martin Tompa Chris Workman Zohar Yakhini Eric Xing

University of California, Irvine Lawrence Berkeley National Lab University of California, San Diego University of California, San Diego

University of California, San Diego University of California, San Diego University of California, San Diego University of California, San Diego

McGill University **UNAM** Lawrence Berkeley National Lab Moscow State University University of Pennsylvania University of California, San Diego University of California, San Diego Cornell University MIT University of California, Santa Cruz University of California, San Francisco Harvard University Weizmann Institute INRIA University of California, San Diego **INRIA** Stanford Tel Aviv University The Rockefeller University Compugen University of Washington University of California, San Diego Agilent University of California, Berkeley

Sponsoring Institutions

Industry-University Cooperative Research Program, The UC Discovery Grant California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology, Cal-(IT)²