Preface

The 16th Annual Symposium on Combinatorial Pattern Matching was held on Jeju Island, Korea on June 19–22, 2005. Previous meetings were held in Paris, London, Tucson, Padova, Asilomar, Helsinki, Laguna Beach, Aarhus, Piscataway, Warwick, Montreal, Jerusalem, Fukuoka, Morelia, and Istanbul over the years 1990–2004.

In response to the call for papers, CPM 2005 received a record number of 129 papers. Each submission was reviewed by at least three Program Committee members with the assistance of external referees. Since there were many high-quality papers, the Program Committee's task was extremely difficult. Through an extensive discussion the Program Committee accepted 37 of the submissions to be presented at the conference. They constitute original research contributions in combinatorial pattern matching and its applications.

In addition to the selected papers, CPM 2005 had three invited presentations, by Esko Ukkonen from the University of Helsinki, Ming Li from the University of Waterloo, and Naftali Tishby from The Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

We would like to thank all Program Committee members and external referees for their excellent work, especially given the demanding time constraints; they gave the conference its distinctive character. We also thank all who submitted papers for consideration; they all contributed to the high quality of the conference.

Finally, we thank the Organizing Committee members and the graduate students who worked hard to put in place the logistical arrangements of the conference. It is their dedicated contribution that made the conference possible and enjoyable.

June 2005 Alberto Apostolico, Maxime Crochemore, and Kunsoo Park

Organization

Program Committee

Tatsuya Akutsu Alberto Apostolico Setsuo Arikawa Maxime Crochemore Martin Farach-Colton Costas S. Iliopoulos Juha Karkkainen Dong Kyue Kim Tak-Wah Lam Moshe Lewenstein Bin Ma Giovanni Manzini S. Muthukrishnan Kunsoo Park Mathieu Raffinot Rajeev Raman Cenk Sahinalp Andrew C. Yao Frances F. Yao Nivio Ziviani

Kyoto University University of Padova and Purdue University Kyushu University University of Marne la Vallée **Rutgers University** King's College London University of Helsinki Pusan National University University of Hong Kong Bar Ilan University University of Western Ontario University of Piemonte Orientale **Rutgers University** Seoul National University CNRS University of Leicester Simon Fraser University Tsinghua University City University of Hong Kong Federal University of Minas Gerais

Steering Committee

Alberto Apostolico	University of Padova and Purdue University
Maxime Crochemore	University of Marne la Vallée
Zvi Galil	Columbia University

Organizing Committee

Dong Kyue Kim Yoo-Jin Chung Sung-Ryul Kim Heejin Park Jeong Seop Sim Jin Wook Kim Pusan National University Hankuk University of Foreign Studies Konkuk University Hanyang University Inha University Seoul National University

Sponsoring Institutions

Ministry of Science and Technology, Korea Seoul National University SIGTCS of the Korea Information Science Society

External Referees

Julien Allali Marie-Pierre Béal Anne Bergeron Marshall Bern Vincent Berry Mathieu Blanchette Dan Brown Julien Clément Fabien Coulon Thierson Couto Rosa Fabiano Cupertino Botelho Artur Czumaj Davi de Castro Reis Fabien de Montgolfier Funda Ergun Paolo Ferragina Guillaume Fertin Dora Giammarresi Sylvie Hamel

Tzvika Hartman Patrice Koehl Tsvi Kopelowitz Gregory Kucherov Thierry Lecroq Veli Mäkinen Wagner Meira, Jr. Nadia Pisanti Sven Rahman Isidore Rigoutsos Eric Rivals Romeo Rizzi Dominique Rossin Kunihiko Sadakane Jens Stove Jorma Tarhio Stéphane Vialette Hao-Chi Wong