Preface

The aim of the annual W^2 GIS workshop is to provide an up-to-date review of advances on recent development of Web and wireless geographical information systems, and new challenges and opportunities for researchers, developers and users in the GIS community. The main topic of the W^2 GIS workshop is theoretical and technical issues of Web and wireless geographical information systems. This workshop followed the successful 2001, 2002 and 2003 editions, held in Kyoto, Singapore and Rome, respectively. The 2004 edition was held in Goyang, Korea.

In its 4th year, W²GIS reached new heights of recognition as a quality workshop for the dissemination and discussion of new ways of accessing and analyzing geospatial information. This year, 39 papers were submitted from 15 countries, and 20 papers were accepted from 11 countries. Similarly, the Program Committee consisted of 39 members from 16 countries.

We had the privilege of having three distinguished invited talks: "Eliciting User Preferences in Web Urban Spaces," Yanwu Yang and Christophe Claramunt, Naval Academy Research Institute, France; "Discovering Regional Information from Web: Localness and Landmark Computation," Katsumi Tanaka, Department of Social Informatics, Graduate School of Informatics, Kyoto University, Japan; and "Towards Knowing, Always and Everywhere, Where Everything Is, Precisely," Christian S. Jensen, Department of Computer Science, Aalborg University, Denmark.

The workshop was organized by the Internet Information Retrieval Research Center (IRC) of Hankuk Aviation University, Korea. The IRC was established in 2001, sponsored by the Ministry of Science and Technology, Korea, KOSEF (the Korea Science and Engineering Foundation), Gyonggi-do (local government) and various venture companies (over 20). The research term of the IRC is 9 years, and its research fund is 9 million dollars total.

We wish to thank the authors for the high quality of their papers and presentations, and the Program Committee members for their timely and rigorous reviews of the papers. We thank the Steering Committee members for organizing and supporting this event. Finally, special thanks go to Stefano Spaccapietra for his advice and help.

November 2004

Yong-Jin Kwon Alain Bouju Christophe Claramunt Workshop Chairs W²GIS 2004

In Memory of Prof. Yahiko Kambayashi (February 15, 1943 – February 6, 2004)

We are deeply saddened by the sudden and untimely passing away of Prof. Yahiko Kambayashi, Dean of the School of Informatics, Kyoto University, Japan. His unexpected departure is a tremendous shock to everyone who knew him. He was 60.

Prof. Kambayashi was one of the pioneers of database research as well as a leader of the international database research community. He published numerous articles in major database journals and conferences such as Information Systems, SIGMOD, VLDB and ICDE. He was also the author and the editor of many books and conference proceedings. Prof. Kambayashi was an IEEE fellow, a trustee of the VLDB Endowment, a member of the SIGMOD Advisory Committee, a vice-chair of the ACM Tokyo/Japan Chapter, the chair of the DASFAA Steering Committee, a co-chair of the WISE Society and the WISE Steering Committee, a member of the W²GIS Steering Committee, a member of the CODAS Steering Committee, a member of the ER Steering Committee, a member of the RIDE Steering Committee, a co-editor-in-chief of the World Wide Web Journal, an associate editor of ACM TODS, and a member of the editorial board of several international journals. He was a winner of the ACM SIGMOD Contribution Award in 1995 for his many professional services in Japan and worldwide.

Prof. Kambayashi had been making great efforts to organize this W²GIS 2004 workshop, just before his sudden passing. Together with all the authors and the participants, we are taking this opportunity to express our heartfelt condolence and our deepest sympathy to his family.

November 26th, 2004

 W^2GIS 2004 Workshop Committee

W²GIS 2004 Workshop Committee

Honorary Chair

The late Yahiko Kambayashi (Kyoto University, Japan)

Workshop Chairs

Yong-Jin Kwon (Hankuk Aviation University, Korea) Alain Bouju (University of La Rochelle, France)

Steering Committee

Michela Bertolotto (University College Dublin, Ireland) Christophe Claramunt (Naval Academy, France) Bo Huang (National University of Singapore, Singapore) Hui Lin (Chinese University of Hong Kong, China) Stefano Spaccapietra (EPFL, Switzerland)

Program Committee

Gennady Andrienko (GMD, Germany) Masatoshi Arikawa (Tokyo University, Japan) Chaitan Baru (San Diego Supercomputer Center, USA) R.A. de By (ITC, The Netherlands) James Carswell (Dublin Institute of Technology, Ireland) Young-Sik Choi (Hankuk Aviation University) Matt Duckham (NCGIA, USA) Max Egenhofer (NCGIA, USA) Mark Gahegan (Penn State, USA) Ki-Joon Han (Konkuk University, Korea) Mizuho Iwaihara (Kyoto University, Japan) Bin Jiang (Gävle University, Sweden) Myoung Ah Kang (University of Clermont-Ferrand, France) Menno-Jan Kraak (ITC, The Netherlands) Robert Laurini (INSA, France) Keung-Hae Lee (Hankuk Aviation University, Korea) Jong-Hoon Lee (ETRI, Korea) Ki-Joune Li (Pusan National University, Korea) Yoshifumi Masunaga (Ochanomizu University, Japan)

Pedro Muro-Medrano (Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain) Beng C. Ooi (National University of Singapore, Singapore) Evtim Peytchev (Nottingham Trent University, UK) Keun-Ho Ryu (Chungbuk National University, Korea) Krithi Ramamrithan (Indian Institute of Tech., India) Shashi Shekhar (Kyoto University, Japan) Hiroki Takakura (Kyoto Univeristy, Japan) Hirova Tanaka (Tokyo University, Japan) Katsumi Tanaka (Kyoto University, Japan) George Taylor (University of Glamorgan, UK) Remi Thibaud (Naval Academy, France) Kristian Torp (University of Aalborg, Denmark) Christelle Vangenot (EPFL, Switzerland) Jari Veijalainen (GITI, Wadeda University, Japan) Kyu-Young Whang (KAIST, Korea) Ilia Zaslavsky (San Diego Super Computer Center, USA) Xiofang Zhou (University of Queensland, Australia)

Organization Committee

Soo-Hwan Chae (Vice-Director of the IRC, Korea) Joong-Hwan Baek (Hankuk Aviation University, Korea) Soo-Chan Hwang (Hankuk Aviation University, Korea) Kang-Won Lee (Vice-President of HIST Co., Ltd., Korea) In-Man Park (Vice-President of ILDO Eng., Co., Ltd., Korea) Jong Sou Park (Hankuk Aviation University, Korea) Joonseon Ahn (Hankuk Aviation University, Korea) Yong-Ik Yoon (Sookmyung Women's University, Korea) Syng-Yup Ohn (Hankuk Aviation University, Korea) Yong-Hee Jang (Hankuk Aviation University, Korea) Il-Young Moon (Hankuk Aviation University, Korea)

Sponsors

Sponsored by

Internet Information Retrieval Research Center (IRC), HAU, Korea Ministry of Information and Communication, Korea Korea Science and Engineering Foundation Gyeonggi-do Hanjin Information Systems & Telecommunication Co., Ltd.

Academic Sponsors

GIS Association of Korea Korea Open Geographic Information Systems Association

In Cooperation with

Informatics Research Center for the Development of a Knowledge Society Infrastructure, Kyoto University, Japan