Preface

This volume contains the proceedings of the Second International Conference on Advances in Information Systems (ADVIS) held in Izmir, Turkey, 23–25 October 2002. This conference was dedicated to the memory of Prof. Esen Ozkarahan. He was a great researcher who made an essential contribution to the development of information systems. Prof. Ozkarahan was one of the pioneers of database machine research and database systems in Turkey. This conference was organized by the Computer Engineering department of Dokuz Eylul University in Izmir. This department was established in 1994 by Prof. Ozkarahan and he worked there for the last five years of his life.

The main goal of the conference was to bring together researchers from all around the world working in different areas of information systems, to share new ideas and present their latest results. This time we received 94 submissions from 27 countries. The program committee selected 40 papers for presentation at the conference. During the conference a workshop was organized on the topic "New Information Technologies in Education". The invited and accepted contributions cover a large variety of topics: general aspects of information systems, databases and data warehouses, information retrieval, multiagent systems and technologies, distributed and parallel computing, evolutionary algorithms and system programming, and new information technologies in education.

The success of the conference was dependent upon the hard work of a large number of people. We gratefully acknowledge the members of the Program Committee who helped to coordinate the process of refereeing all submitted papers. We also thank all the other specialists who reviewed the papers.

We would like to express our grateful acknowledgement to the Rector of Dokuz Eylul University, Prof. Dr. Emin Alici, for his support and understanding.

August 2002 Tatyana Yakhno

Organization

Honorary Chair: Irem Ozkarahan

Dokuz Eylul University, Turkey

Program Committee Chair: Tatyana Yakhno

Dokuz Eylul University, Turkey

Nur Zincir-Heywood, Canada

Çagdas Ozgenç

Brice Pajot

Program Committee:

Sibel Adali, USA Malcolm Heywood, Canada

Adil Alpkocak, Turkey Alp Kut, Turkey

Frederic Benhamou, France Victor Malyshkin, Russia Cem Bozsahin, Turkey Eric Monfroy, France

Ufuk Caglayan, Turkey Mario A. Nascimento, Canada Fazli Can, USA Erich Neuhold, Germany

Yalcin Cebi, Turkey Selmin Nurcan, France Paolo Ciaccia, Italy Gultekin Ozsoyoglu, USA Cihan Dagli, USA Meral Ozsoyoglu, USA

Mehmet Dalkilic, Turkey
Dursun Delen, USA
Oguz Dikenelli, Turkey
Asuman Dogac, Turkey
Dan Grigoras, Ireland
Marcin Paprzycki, USA
Malcolm Rigg, Luxembourg
Vadim Stefanuk, Russia
Martti Tienari, Finland

Yakov Fet, Russia Turhan Tunali, Turkey Lloyd Fosdick, USA Ozgur Ulusoy, Turkey

Ugur Gudukbay, Turkey Adnan Yazici, Turkey

Additional Referees

Fabio Grandi, Italy

Christine Jacquin

Mustafa Adacal Timo Karvi Emrah Akdag Régis Kla

Mehmet Aydogdu Thomas Klement Aldo Paradiso Aysenur Birturk Ahmet Koltuksuz Marco Patella Lucas Bordeaux Selcuk Kopru Mihaela Quirk Souveyet Carine Erkan Korkmaz Davood Rafiei Sylvie Cazalens Bora I. Kumova Frank Ramsak

Martine Ceberio N. Gokhan Kurt Guillaume Raschia Maria Cobb Lea Kutvonen Wolfgang Schönfeld Gokhan Dalkilic Patrick Lehti Onur T. Sehitoglu Cenk Erdur Martin Leissler Pinar Senkul

Vladimir Evstigneev Vladimir Malukh Nikolay Shilov Minor Gordon Mrinal Mandal Arnd Steinmetz Fabrice Guillet Federica Mandreoli Johnson Thomas Auvo Hakkinen Alexander Marchuk Eleni Tousidou

Heikki Helin Feodor Murzin Meltem Turhan Yöndem

Caglar Okat Yuri Zagorulko

Conference Secretary

Emine Ekin, Turkey

Local Organizing Committee

Taner Danisman Deniz Turan Derya Birant Serife Sungun Cagdas Ozgenc K. Ulas Birant

Sponsors

Support from the following institutions is gratefully acknowledged:

- Foundation of Dokuz Eylul University (DEVAK)
- The Scientific and Technical Research Council of Turkey (TUBITAK)