General Chairs' Message

As conference co-chairs, we have great pleasure in writing this short foreword to the proceedings of the 2nd European AcrossGrids Conference (AxGrids 2004). The conference clearly demonstrated the need in Europe for an annual event that brings together the grid research community to share experiences and learn about new developments. This year, in addition to the large number of attendees from across the 25 member states of the European Union, we were especially pleased to welcome fellow researchers from the Americas and the Asia – Pacific region. Only by talking and working together will we realize our vision of building truly global grids.

In addition to the main AxGrids 2004 conference, and thanks to the large number of researchers from European Commission-funded projects who were present, we were able to run a series of GRIDSTART Technical Working Group meetings and we are indebted to the conference organizers for helping with the logistics of this parallel activity.

In particular we would like to express our gratitude to Marios Dikaiakos and his team for working tirelessly over many months to make the conference the smooth-running success that it was. Of course, no conference is complete without speakers and an audience and we would like to thank everyone for their interest and engagement in the many sessions over the three days of the event.

AxGrids 2004 once again demonstrated the need in Europe for an event to bring together the research community. As we move forward into Framework 6 we look forward to its continuation and expansion to represent all of the grid research community in Europe.

June 2004

Mark Parsons Michal Turala

Editor's Preface

The 2nd European AcrossGrids Conference (AxGrids 2004) aimed to examine the state of the art in research and technology developments in Grid Computing, and provide a forum for the presentation and exchange of views on the latest grid-related research results and future work. The conference was organized by CrossGrid, a European Union-funded project on Grid research, GRIDSTART, the EU-sponsored initiative for consolidating technical advances in grids in Europe, and the University of Cyprus. It continued on from the successful 1st European Across Grids Conference, held in Santiago de Compostela, Spain, in February 2003. AxGrids 2004 was run in conjunction with the 2nd IST Concertation Meeting on Grid Research, which brought together representatives from all EU-funded projects on Grid research for an exchange of experiences and ideas regarding recent developments in European grid research.

The conference was hosted in Nicosia, the capital of Cyprus, and attracted authors and attendees from all over Europe, the USA, and East Asia. The Program Committee of the conference consisted of 37 people from both academia and industry, and there were 13 external reviewers. Overall, AxGrids 2004 attracted 57 paper submissions (42 full papers and 15 short posters). Papers underwent a thorough review by several Program Committee members and external reviewers. After the review, the Program Chair decided to accept 26 papers (out of 42) for regular presentations, 8 papers for short presentations, and 13 papers for poster presentations. Accepted papers underwent a second review for inclusion this postproceedings volume, published as part of Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Eventually, we decided to include 27 long and 3 short papers, which cover a range of important topics of grid research, from computational and data grids to the Semantic Grid and grid applications.

Here, we would like to thank the Program Committee members, the external reviewers, and the conference session chairs for their excellent work, which contributed to the high-quality technical program of the conference. We would also like to thank the University of Cyprus, IBM, GRIDSTART, and the Cyprus Telecommunications Authority (CYTA) for making possible the organization of this event through their generous sponsorship. Special thanks go to Maria Poveda for handling organizational issues, to Dr. Pedro Trancoso for setting up and running the Web management system at the Computer Science Department at the University of Cyprus, and to Kyriacos Neocleous for helping with the preparation of the proceedings.

I hope that you find this volume interesting and useful.

Nicosia, Cyprus, June 2004

Marios D. Dikaiakos

Organizing Committee

Conference General Chairs

Michal Turala Mark Parsons	ACC Cyfronet & INP, Krakow, Poland EPCC, Univ. of Edinburgh, UK
Program Committee Chair	
Marios Dikaiakos	University of Cyprus
Posters and Demos Chair	
Jesus Marco	CSIC, Santander, Spain
Website Chair	
Pedro Trancoso	University of Cyprus
Publicity Chair	
George Papadopoulos	University of Cyprus
Local Organizing Committee	
Marios Dikaiakos Nikos Nikolaou	University of Cyprus Cyprus Tolocom Authority

Marios DikaiakosUniversity of CyprusNikos NikolaouCyprus Telecom. AuthorityMaria PovedaUniversity of Cyprus

Steering Committee

Bob Bentley	University College London, UK
Marian Bubak	Inst. of Comp. Science & ACC Cyfronet, Poland
Marios Dikaiakos	Univ. of Cyprus
Dietmar Erwin	Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany
Fabrizio Gagliardi	CERN, Geneva, Switzerland
Max Lemke	European Commission
Jesus Marco	CSIC, Spain
Holger Marten	Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe GmbH, Germany
Norbert Meyer	PSNC, Poland
Matthias Mueller	HLRS, Germany
Jarek Nabrzyski	PSNC, Poland
Mark Parsons	EPCC, Univ. of Edinburgh, UK
Yannis Perros	Algosystems, Greece
Peter Sloot	Univ. of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Michal Turala	ACC Cyfronet & INP, Poland

Program Committee

A. Bogdanov	Inst. for HPCDB, Russian Federation
M. Bubak	Inst. of Comp. Sci. & Cyfronet, Poland
B. Coghlan	Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
M. Cosnard	INRIA, France
Y. Cotronis	Univ. of Athens, Greece
J. Cunha	New University of Lisbon, Portugal
E. Deelman	ISI, Univ. Southern California, USA
M. Delfino	Univ. Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain
M. Dikaiakos	Univ. of Cyprus
B. DiMartino	Second University of Naples, Italy
J. Dongarra	Univ. of Tennessee, USA
T. Fahringer	University of Innsbruck, Austria
I. Foster	ANL and Univ. of Chicago, USA
G. Fox	Univ. of Indiana, USA
W. Gentzsch	Sun Europe, Germany
M. Gerndt	TU Munchen, Germany
A. Gomez	CESGA, Spain
A. Hoekstra	Univ. of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
E. Houstis	University of Thessaly, Greece
B. Jones	CERN, Switzerland
P. Kacsuk	Sztaki, Hungary
J. Labarta	Univ. Polytechnica Catalunya, Spain
D. Laforenza	CNR, Italy
E. Markatos	ICS-FORTH & Univ. of Crete, Greece
L. Matyska	Masaryk University, Czech Republic
N. Meyer	Poznan Supercomputing Center, Poland
B. Miller	Univ. of Wisconsin, USA
L. Moreau	Univ. of Southampton, UK
T. Priol	INRIA/IRISA, France
D. Reed	Univ. of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA
R. Sakellariou	Univ. of Manchester, UK
M. Senar	Univ. Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain
P. Sloot	Univ. of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
L. Snyder	Univ. of Washington, USA
P. Trancoso	Univ. of Cyprus
D. Walker	Univ. of Wales, UK
R. Wismüller	TU Munchen, Germany

Referees

Gabriel Antoniu Vaggelis Floros Marilena Georgiadou Anastasios Gounaris Alexandru Jugravu Juri Papay Christian Perez Norbert Podhorszki Gergely Sipos Nicola Tonellotto Eleni Tsiakkouri George Tsouloupas Alex Villazon

Sponsoring Institutions

University of Cyprus IBM GRIDSTART Cyprus Telecommunications Authority