Preface

ASIACRYPT 2003 was held in Taipei, Taiwan, from Nov. 30 to Dec. 4, 2003. The 9th Annual ASIACRYPT conference was sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR), this year in cooperation with the Chinese Cryptology and Information Security Association (CCISA) and National Cheng Kung University (NCKU) in Taiwan.

One hundred and eighty-eight papers from 26 countries were submitted to ASIACRYPT 2003 and 33 (of which one paper was withdrawn by the authors after notification) of these were selected for presentation. These proceedings contain revised versions of the accepted papers. We had an IACR 2003 Distinguished Lecture, by Dr. Don Coppersmith, entitled "Solving Low Degree Polynomials." In addition, two invited talks were given at the conference. One was given by Dr. Adi Shamir. The other one was given by Dr. Hong-Sen Yan, entitled "The Secret and Beauty of Ancient Chinese Locks." The conference program also included a rump session, chaired by Tzong Chen Wu, which featured short informal talks on recent results.

It was a pleasure for me to work with the program committee, which was composed of 27 members from 17 countries; I thank them for working very hard over several months. As a matter of fact, the review process was a challenging and time-consuming task, and it lasted about 8 weeks, followed by more than half a month for discussions among the program committee members. All submissions were anonymously reviewed by at least 3 members in the relevant areas of the program committee; in some cases, particularly for those papers submitted by a member of the program committee, they were reviewed by at least six members. We are grateful to all the program committee members who put in a lot of effort and precious time giving their expert analysis and comments on the submissions. In addition, we really appreciate the external referees who contributed with their expertise to the reviewing process; without their help, the selection process would not have gone so smoothly.

All paper submissions to ASIACRYPT 2003 were received electronically using the Web-based submission software, which was provided by Chanathip Namprempre. The review software was kindly provided by Bart Preneel, Wim Moreau, and Joris Claessens. I would like to thank Chien-Pang Kuo for his help with the installation and with solving problems we had with the software. I am also very grateful to Yi-Zhen Lin for her great help in handling ASIACRYPT 2003 affairs.

Special thanks to Yuliang Zheng, who acted as an advisory member of the committee and provided advice based on his previous experience. I would also like to thank the chair of IACR, Andy Clark, who gave me valuable advice on all kinds of problems.

For financial support of the conference, we are very grateful to this year's sponsors, including the National Science Council, the Ministry of Education, the Directorate-General of Telecommunications, R.O.C., Chunghwa Telecom Co.,

VI Preface

Ltd., the Institute for Information Industry, Computer & Communications Research Labs, ITRI, etc.

Finally, we would like to thank all other people who provided any assistance, and all the authors who submitted their papers to ASIACRYPT 2003, as well as all the participants from all over the world.

September 2003

Chi Sung Laih

ASIACRYPT 2003

Nov. 30 – Dec. 4, 2003, Taipei, Taiwan

 $Sponsored by the \\ International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR)$

in cooperation with the
Chinese Cryptography and Information Security Association,
National Cheng Kung University

General Chair

Chin Chen Chang, National Chung Cheng University, No. 160, Sanshing Tsuen, Minshiung Shiang, Chiai, Taiwan 621, Taiwan

Program Chair

Chi Sung Laih, Department of Electrical Engineering, National Cheng Kung University, Tainan 701, Taiwan

Program Committee

Masayuki Abe NTT Laboratories, Japan Josh Benaloh Microsoft Research, USA

Colin Boyd QUT, Australia

Christian Cachin IBM Zurich, Switzerland

Ivan Damgaard University of Aarhus, Denmark Robert H. Deng Mui Keng Terrace, Singapore Stefan Dziembowski University of Warsaw, Poland

Matthias Fitzi U.C. Davis, USA
Marc Joye Gemplus, France
Kwangjo Kim ICU, Korea
Pil Joong Lee POSTECH, Korea

Chin Laung Lei National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Arjen K. Lenstra Citibank, USA

Tsutomu Matsumoto Yokohama National University, Japan

Phong Q. Nguyen ENS, France

Eiji Okamoto University of Tsukuba, Japan

Carles Padró Technical University of Catalonia, Spain Sihan Qing Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Vincent Rijmen KU Leuven, Belgium

Bimal Roy Indian Statistical Institute, India Reihaneh Safavi-Naini University of Wollongong, Australia Shiuh Pyng Shieh National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

Nigel P. Smart University of Bristol, UK
Stefan Wolf University of Montreal, Canada
Guozhen Xiao Xidan University, China
Moti Yung Columbia University, USA

Local Organizing Committee

Jinn-Ke Jan Hsiang-Ling Chen
Wen-Guey Tzeng Hui-Wen Du
Shiuh-Jeng Wang Chien-Pang Kuo
Tzong-Chen Wu Yi-Zhen Lin

Sponsors

National Science Council, Taiwan Ministry of Education, Taiwan

Directorate General of Telecommunications,

Ministry of Transportation and Communications, Taiwan

Chunghwa Telecom Co., Ltd. Institute for Information Industry

Computer & Communications Research Labs, ITRI

External Referees

Kazumaro Aoki Feng Bao Steve Babbage Michael Backes Paulo Barreto Alexandre Benoit Eli Biham Eric Brier Jan Camenisch Dario Catalano Sanjit Chatterjee Jiun-Ming Chen Xiaofeng Chen Sandeepan Chowdhury Jean-Sébastien Coron Coron Claude Crepeau Paolo D'Arco Simon Pierre Desrosiers Yvo Desmedt Jean-François Dhem Jeroen Doumen Dang Nguyen Duc Orr Dunkelman Ratna Dutta Chun-I Fan Serge Fehr Jacques J.A. Fournier Pierre-Alain Fouque David Galindo Steven Galbraith Sugata Gangopadhyay Juan Gonzalez Louis Granboulan D.J. Guan Kishan Chand Gupta Goichiro Hanaoka Helena Handschuh Sang Yun Han Keith Harrison Florian Hess Javier Herranz Martin Hirt Yvonne Hitchcock Fumitaka Hoshino

Thomas Holenstein

Min-Shiang Hwang Ren-Junn Hwang Shin-Jia Hwang Yong Ho Hwang Albert Jeng Ji Hyun Jeong Jorge Jim Qingguang Ji Jiménez Urroz Jorge Wen-Sheng Juang Naoki Kanayama Rajeeva L. Karandikar Chong Hee Kim Ki Hyun Kim Tetsutaro Kobayashi Hartono Kurnio Tanja Lange John Malone-Lee C.H. Lin Kai-Yung Lin Chi-Jen Lu E.H. Lu Anna Lysvanskava Gwenaelle Martinet Kazuto Matsuo Wenbo Mao Joydip Mitra Sebastià Martín-Molleví Yi Mu Sourav Mukopadhyay Mridul Nandi Khanh Nguyen Miyako Ohkubo Daniel Page

Pascal Paillier

Dong Jin Park

Jae Hwan Park

Joon Hah Park

Jacques Patarin

Duong Hieu Phan

Krzysztof Pietrzak

In Kook Park

Angela Piper

Renato Renner

Kouichi Sakurai

Louis Salvail Taiichi Saitoh Palash Sarkar Takakazu Satoh Berry Schoenmakers Jong Hoon Shin Mahoro Shimura Sang Gyoo Sim Leonie Simpson Martijn Stam Doug Stinson Hung-Min Sun Koutarou Suzuki Willy Susilo Alexei Tchoulkine Dong To Eran Tromer Wen-Guey Tzeng Shigenori Uchiyama Frederik Vercauteren Jorge Luis Villar Samuel S. Wagstaff Shiuh-Jeng Wang Benne de Weger Christopher Wolf Hongjun Wu Tzong-Chen Wu Wen-ling Wu Ching-Nung Yang K. Yang Yeon Hyeong Yang Hsu-Chun Yen Sung-Ming Yen Her-Tyan Yeh Yi-Shiung Yeh Sung Ho Yoo Young Tae Youn Dae Hyun Yum Fangguo Zhang Wentao Zhang Yuliang Zhen Huafei Zhu YongBin Zhou