Preface

Ad Hoc Networks are wireless, self-organizing systems formed by co-operating nodes, within communication range of each other which form temporary networks. Their topology is dynamic, decentralized, and ever-changing, and the nodes may move around arbitrarily. The last few years have witnessed a wealth of research ideas on Ad Hoc networks which are moving rapidly into implemented standards.

Mobile computing, particularly wireless-enabled mobile computing, covers a large area of applications in mobile computing environments, networking, communication devices and systems. This conference exposes experimental as well as theoretical research in ad hoc, mobile and wireless networks. The range of topics covered includes management of power consumption, architectures and protocols, quality of service, and security. The aim of the conference was to provide a unique opportunity for researchers and students in industry and academia to participate at an annual forum and share their research results and experiences.

This conference followed the first successful conference (held at the Fields Institute in Toronto during September 20–21 of last year), and was held at the Holiday Inn, Midtown in Montreal during October 8–10, 2003. It was co-sponsored by the *Mobile Computing and Networking Research Laboratory* (LARIM) of the École Polytechnique de Montréal, the *School of Computer Science* (SCS) of Carleton University, MITACS (Mathematics of Information Technology and Complex Systems), and the *Association for Computing Machinery* (ACM).

Forty-two papers were submitted, of which 23 regular and 4 short papers were selected for presentation. All papers were reviewed for technical merit by the program committee. We would like to thank the invited speakers Adrian Perrig (Carnegie Mellon University, USA) and Violet R. Syrotiuk (Arizona State University, USA) for their presentations. Many thanks also go to Khaled Laouamri for helping with the conference logistics, as well as all the following people for their helpful contribution as paper reviewers: Gustavo Alonso, Ronald Beaubrun, Paul Boone, Steven Chamberland, Ali Chamam, Soumaya Cherkaoui, Roch Glitho, Norm Hutchinson, Jeannette Janssen, Mike Just, Danny Krizanc, Thoma Kunz, Peter Marbach, Fabien Nimbona, Paolo Penna, Alejandro Quintero, S.S. Ravi, Daniel Rossier, Sunil Shende, Ivan Stojmenovic, Tao Wan, and Yufei Wu. Special thanks to Amir Ghavam, Jeyanthi Hall and Zheyin Li for publicity, and Mark Vigder for Web site contributions. Finally, we would like to thank all the members of the organizing committee, as well as Raymond Lévesque and Sébastien Lévesque from BCU.

Michel Barbeau Evangelos Kranakis Samuel Pierre

Organizing Committee

Conference Co-chairs

Michel Barbeau

Carleton University

Evangelos Kranakis Carleton University

Samuel Pierre $\acute{E}cole$ Polytechnique de Montréal

Publicity and Tutorials Chair

Alejandro Quintero École Polytechnique de Montréal

Local Arrangements Chair

Sabine Kébreau École Polytechnique de Montréal

Program Committee

- G. Alonso, ETHZ, Switzerland
- M. Barbeau, Carleton University, Canada
- R. Beaubrun, Université Laval, Canada
- S. Chamberland, École Polytechnique, Canada
- S. Cherkaoui, U. de Sherbrooke, Canada
- R.H. Glitho, Ericsson Research, Canada
- J. Janssen, Dalhousie University, Canada
- M. Just, Treasury Board, Canada
- N.C. Hutchinson, UBC, Canada
- E. Kranakis, Carleton University, Canada
- D. Krizanc, Wesleyan University, USA
- T. Kunz, Carleton University, Canada
- R. Liscano, Mitel Networks, Canada
- P. Marbach, U. of Toronto, Canada
- L. Narayanan, Concordia U., Canada
- I. Nikolaidis, U. of Alberta, Canada
- H. Mouftha, Ottawa U., Canada
- P. Penna, University of Rome, Italy
- S. Pierre, École Polytechnique, Canada
- A. Quintero, École Polytechnique, Canada
- S. Ravi, SUNY Albany, USA
- D. Rossier, Swisscom, Switzerland
- S. Shende, Rutgers University, USA
- I. Stojmenovic, U. of Ottawa, Canada
- S. Tohmé, ENST, France

Keynote Speakers

Adrian Perrig, Canergie Mellon U., USA Violet R. Syrotiuk, Arizona State U., USA

Tutorials

Ivan Stojmenovic, University of Ottawa, Canada Ramiro Liscano and Amir Ghavam, University of Ottawa, Canada Michel Barbeau, Carleton University, Canada