Preface

During its 30-year existence, the International Workshop on Graph-Theoretic Concepts in Computer Science has become a distinguished and high-quality computer science event. The workshop aims at uniting theory and practice by demonstrating how graph-theoretic concepts can successfully be applied to various areas of computer science and by exposing new theories emerging from applications. In this way, WG provides a common ground for the exchange of information among people dealing with several graph problems and working in various disciplines. Thereby, the workshop contributes to forming an interdisciplinary research community.

The original idea of the Workshop on Graph-Theoretic Concepts in Computer Science was ingenuity in all theoretical aspects and applications of graph concepts, wherever applied. Within the last ten years, the development has strengthened in particular the topic of structural graph properties in relation to computational complexity. This workshop has become pivotal for the community interested in these areas. An aim specific to the 30th WG was to support the central role of WG in both of the prementioned areas on the one hand and on the other hand to promote its originally broader scope.

The 30th WG was held at the Physikzentrum Bad Honnef, which serves as the main meeting point of the German Physical Society. It offers a secluded setting for research conferences, seminars, and workshops, and has proved to be especially stimulating for fruitful discussions. Talks were given in the new lecture hall with a modern double rear projection, interactive electronic board, and full video conferencing equipment.

The Call for Papers received a lively response, resulting in 66 submissions. The program committee selected 31 papers for publication among a large set of high-quality contributions. In addition, two invited speakers – Derek Corneil and Roger Wattenhofer – enriched the technical program with surveys of selected fields of graph theory and applications.

We would like to thank all those who made the 30th anniversary of the WG workshop series a success: the authors who submitted their work to the workshop, the speakers, the program committee members, and all referees. We are also indebted to Dirk Bongartz, Joachim Kupke, and Walter Unger for the review organization, and to Boris Böhlen, Christian Fuß, and Ulrike Ranger for the local organization.

Special thanks go to the sponsoring institutions: the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, Bonn, proRWTH – Freunde und Förderer der RWTH Aachen e.V., the rectorate of RWTH Aachen University, and the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zürich.

September 2004

Juraj Hromkovič Manfred Nagl Bernhard Westfechtel

2004

The 30-Year Tradition of WG

1975	U. Pape – Berlin
1976	H. Noltemeier – Göttingen
1977	J. Mühlbacher – Linz
1978	M. Nagl, H.J. Schneider – Schloß Feuerstein, near Erlangen
1979	U. Pape – Berlin
1980	H. Noltemeier – Bad Honnef
1981	J. Mühlbacher – Linz
1982	H.J. Schneider, H. Göttler – Neunkirchen, near Erlangen
1983	M. Nagl, J. Perl – Haus Ohrbeck, near Osnabrück
1984	U. Pape – Berlin
1985	H. Noltemeier – Schloß Schwanenberg, near Würzburg
1986	G. Tinhofer, G. Schmidt – Stift Bernreid, near München
1987	H. Göttler, H.J. Schneider – Schloß Banz, near Bamberg
1988	J. van Leeuwen – Amsterdam
1989	M. Nagl – Schloß Rolduc, near Aachen
1990	R.H. Möhring – Johannesstift Berlin
1991	G. Schmidt, R. Berghammer – Richterheim Fischbackau, München
1992	E.W. Mayr – Wilhelm-Kempf-Haus, Wiesbaden-Naurod
1993	J. van Leeuwen – Sports Center Papendal, near Utrecht
1994	G. Tinhofer, E.W. Mayr, G. Schmidt – Herrsching, near München
1995	M. Nagl – Haus Eich, Aachen
1996	G. Ausiello, A. Marchetti-Spaccamela – Cadenabbia
1997	R.H. Möhring – Bildungszentrum am Müggelsee, Berlin
1998	J. Hromkovič, O. Sýkora – Castle Smolenice, near Bratislava
1999	P. Widmayer – Centro Stefano Franscini, Monte Verità, Ascona
2000	D. Wagner – Waldhaus Jacob, Konstanz
2001	A. Brandstädt – Boltenhagen, near Rostock
2002	L. Kučera – Český Krumlov
2003	H.L. Bodlaender – Mennorode, Elspeet, near Utrecht

J. Hromkovič, M. Nagl
 – Bad Honnef

Program Committee

Hans Bodlaender
Andreas Brandstädt
Un
Michael Fellows
Un
Fedor Fomin
Un
Michel Habib
LI
Juraj Hromkovič
Michael Kaufmann
Luděk Kučera
Un
Ch

Alberto Marchetti-Spaccamela

Ernst Mayr Rolf Möhring Manfred Nagl Hartmut Nolten

Hartmut Noltemeier David Peleg

Ondrej Sýkora Gottfried Tinhofer Dorothea Wagner Bornbard Westfock

Bernhard Westfechtel Peter Widmayer Utrecht University, The Netherlands Universität Rostock, Germany University of Newcastle, Australia University of Bergen, Norway LIRMM Montpellier, France ETH Zürich, Switzerland, Co-chair Universität Tübingen, Germany

Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic

Università di Roma, Italy TU München, Germany TU Berlin, Germany

RWTH Aachen, Germany, Co-chair Universität Würzburg, Germany Weizmann Institute, Rehovot, Israel

Loughborough University, UK TU München, Germany

Universität Karlsruhe, Germany RWTH Aachen, Germany ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Additional Reviewers

Michael Baur Marc Benkert Hajo J. Broersma Olivier Cogis Sabine Cornelsen Feodor F. Dragan Jens Ernst Daniel Fleischer Jan Griebsch Pinar Heggernes Christian Knauer Dieter Kratsch Nina Lehmann Edita Máčajová Martin Nehéz Marc Nunkesser Stefan Pfingstl Thomas Schank Frank Schulz Jeremy Spinrad Sebastian Stiller Peter Ullrich Silke Wagner Sebastian Wernicke

Alexander Wolff

Dirk Bongartz Hans-Joachim Böckenhauer Amin Coja-Oghlan Xiaotie Deng Stefan Eckhardt Hazel Everett Michael Gatto Alexander Hall Klaus Holzapfel Sven Kosub Ekkehard Köhler Christian Liebchen Moritz Maaß Rolf Niedermeier Christophe Paul André Raspaud Heiko Schilling Martin Škoviera Ladislav Stacho Ioan Todinca Walter Unger Mirjam Wattenhofer

Thomas Willhalm

Thomas Bayer

Luca Becchetti Ulrik Brandes Jana Chlebikova Derek Corneil Stefan Dobrev Thomas Erlebach Guillaume Fertin Rodolphe Giroudeau Toru Hasunuma Han Hoogeveen Jan Kratochvil Van Bang Le Marco Lübbecke Steffen Mecke Naomi Nishimura Leon Peeters Ulrich Rührmair Etienne Schramm Ines Spenke Daniel Stefankovic Hanjo Täubig Imrich Vrtó Birgitta Weber Mark S. Withall