Preface

Graph drawing addresses the problem of constructing representations of abstract graphs, networks, and hypergraphs.

The 6th Symposium on Graph Drawing (GD '98) was held August 13–15, 1998, at McGill University, Montréal, Canada. It immediately followed the Tenth Canadian Conference on Computational Geometry (CCCG '98), held August 10–12 at McGill. The GD '98 conference attracted 100 paid registrants from academic and industrial institutions in thirteen countries. Roughly half the participants also attended CCCG '98. As in the past, interaction among researchers, practitioners, and students from theoretical computer science, mathematics, and the application areas of graph drawing continued to be an important aspect of the graph drawing symposium.

In response to the call for papers and system demonstrations, the program committee received 57 submissions, of which 10 were demos. Each submission was reviewed by at least 4 members of the program committee, and comments were returned to the authors. Following extensive email discussions and multiple rounds of voting, the program committee accepted 23 papers and 9 demos.

GD '98 also held an unrefereed poster gallery. The poster gallery contained 16 posters, 14 of which have abstracts in this volume. The poster gallery served to encourage participation from researchers in related areas and provided a stimulating environment for the breaks between the technical sessions.

In keeping with the tradition of previous graph drawing conferences, GD '98 held a graph drawing contest. This contest, which is traditionally a conference highlight, serves to monitor and to challenge the state of the art in graph drawing. A report on the 1998 contest appears in this volume.

Many people in the graph drawing community contributed to the success of GD '98. In particular, the authors of submitted papers, demos, and posters are due special thanks, as are the members of the program committee and the referees it consulted. Much thought and care went into the selection of a high quality technical program.

Very special thanks are due to Steve Robbins, who handled the Web site, the electronic submission process, and the equipment for the demos, and to Therese Biedl, whose hard work and efficiency were indispensible to the success of the conference. She also organized the poster gallery and designed the logos.

Thanks are also due many people in the McGill community for their contributions. It was a pleasure to work with volunteers from the newly formed ACM student chapter at McGill. These volunteers ran errands and provided staffing throughout the conference. Special thanks are due to Albert Mah, who coordinated the volunteers and contributed many useful suggestions. François Labelle arranged publicity announcements. Michael Soss of the CCCG '98 organizing committee provided coordination with that conference.

VI Preface

Judy Kenigsberg and Lucy St. James of the McGill University School of Computer Science staff provided administrative support. Lucy St. James handled preconference registration. Judy Kenisberg, who staffed the registration and information booth, contributed heart and soul to the conference, pulled the team together, befriended the participants, and provided excellent staff support throughout.

Thanks are due to the staff of the Redpath Museum, where the conference was held, and to the staff of Thomson House, where the lunches were held. Dean of Science Alan Shaver, who gave the opening remarks, also provided financial backing and suggested the Redpath Museum as a conference venue.

I wish to thank these people and all the many others who contributed to the success of the conference.

GD '99 is to be held in the Czech Republic, September 15–19, 1999, under the sponsorship of DIMATIA and Charles University, with Jan Kratochvíl as conference chair.

Montréal, October 1998

Sue Whitesides Program Committee Chair Organizing Committee Chair GD '98

Program Committee

Franz Brandenburg (Univerity of Passau, Germany)
Peter Eades (University of Newcastle, Australia)
Emden Gansner (AT&T, USA)
Michael Kaufmann (University of Tübingen, Germany)
Giuseppe Liotta (University of Rome "La Sapienza", Italy)
Anna Lubiw (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Brendan Madden (Tom Sawyer Software, USA)
Joe Marks (Mitsubishi Electric, USA)
Shin-ichi Nakano (Tohoku University, Japan)
János Pach (NYU, USA)
Roberto Tamassia (Brown University, USA)
Ioannis G. Tollis (The University of Texas at Dallas, USA)
Dorothea Wagner (University of Constance, Germany)
Sue Whitesides, chair (McGill University, Canada)

Organizing Committee

Therese Biedl (McGill University, Canada) Prosenjit Bose (Carleton University, Canada) François Labelle (McGill University, Canada) Sylvain Lazard (McGill University, Canada) Giuseppe Liotta (University of Rome "La Sapienza", Italy) Steve Robbins (McGill University, Canada) Sue Whitesides (McGill University, Canada)

Graph Drawing Contest Organizers

Peter Eades (University of Newcastle, Australia) Joe Marks (Mitsubishi Electric, USA) Petra Mutzel (Max Planck Institute for Computer Science, Germany) Stephen North (AT&T, USA)

Poster Gallery Organizer

Therese Biedl (McGill University, Canada)

Steering Committee

Franz J. Brandenburg (University of Passau, Germany) Giuseppe Di Battista (University of Rome Tre, Italy) Peter Eades (University of Newcastle, Australia) Jan Kratochvíl (Charles University, Czech Republic) Joe Marks (Mitsubishi Electric, USA) Roberto Tamassia (Brown University, USA) Ioannis Tollis (The University of Texas at Dallas, USA) Sue Whitesides (McGill University, Canada)

Arrangements and Registration

Judy Kenigsberg (McGill University, Canada) Lucy St. James (McGill University, Canada)

Volunteers

Ehab Abdul-Baki Kathleen Botter Frank Eory Abeer Ghuneim Monica Giannikakis Julianna Lin Albert Mah Minou Mansouri Anouk Mercier Cécile Morin Gilles Pesant Uri Pizarro Michael Soss VIII Preface

Sponsor

McGill University, Faculty of Science

Additional Referees

W. Bachl
T. Biedl
U. Brandes
E. Demaine
E. Dengler
W. Didimo
D. Handke
M. Himsolt
S. Hong
M. Houle
M. L. Huang

C. Iturriaga K. Kakoulis H. Lauer A. Liebers P. Mutzel M. Patrignani R. Pollack A. Quigley B. Regan F. Schreiber J. Six G. Toth
L. Vismara
K. Weihe
R. Wiese
S. Wetzel
T. Willhalm
T. Wurst
A. Zell