Preface

The 4th Australasian Conference on Information Security and Privacy was held at the University of Wollongong, Australia. The conference was sponsored by the Centre for Computer Security Research, University of Wollongong, and the Australian Computer Society. The aim of the conference was to bring together people working in different areas of computer, communication, and information security from universities, industry, and government institutions. The conference gave the participants an opportunity to discuss the latest developments in the quickly growing area of information security and privacy.

The program committee accepted 26 papers from 53 submitted. From those accepted, thirteen papers were from Australia, two each from Belgium and China, and one each from Austria, Belarus, France, India, Japan, Korea, Singapore, the USA, and Yugoslavia. Conference sessions covered the following topics: access control and security models, network security, Boolean functions, group communication, cryptanalysis, key management systems, electronic commerce, signature schemes, RSA cryptosystems, and odds and ends.

We would like to thank the members of the program committee who generously spent their time reading and evaluating the papers. We would also like to thank members of the organising committee and, in particular, Chris Charnes, Hossein Ghodosi, Marc Gysin, Tiang-Bing Xia, Cheng-Xin Qu, San Yeow Lee, Yejing Wang, Hua-Xiong Wang, Chih-Hung Li, Willy Susilo, Chintan Shah, Jeffrey Horton, and Ghulam Rasool Chaudhry for their continuous and tireless effort in organising the conference. Finally, we would like to thank the authors of all the submitted papers, especially the accepted ones, and all the participants who made the conference a successful event.

February 1999

Josef Pieprzyk Rei Safavi-Naini Jennifer Seberry

FOURTH AUSTRALASIAN CONFERENCE ON INFORMATION SECURITY AND PRIVACY ACISP'99

Sponsored by

Center for Computer Security Research University of Wollongong, Australia

and

Australian Computer Society

General Chair:

Jennifer Seberry University of Wollongong

Program Co-Chairs:

Josef Pieprzyk University of Wollongong Rei Safavi-Naini University of Wollongong

Program Committee:

Queensland University of Technology, Australia Colin Boyd Lawrie Brown Australian Defence Force Academy, Australia Bill Caelli Queensland University of Technology, Australia Queensland University of Technology, Australia Ed Dawson Cunsheng Ding National University of Singapore, Singapore Dieter Gollmann Microsoft Research, UK Yongfei Han Gemplus, Singapore Thomas Hardjono Bay Networks, US Erland Jonsson Chalmers University, Sweden Svein Knapskog University of Trondheim, Norway Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium Keith Martin Cathy Meadows Naval Research Laboratory. US Kaisa Nyberg Nokia Research Center, Finland Choon-Sik Park Electronics and Telecommunication Research Institute, Korea Dingvi Pei Academia Sinica, China Steve Roberts Witham Ptv Ltd, Australia Greg Rose Ravi Sandhu Stafford Tavares Vijay Varadharajan Yuliang Zheng Qualcomm, Australia George Mason University, US Queen's University, Canada Western Sydney University, Australia Monash University, Australia

Referees

N. Asokan
Yun Bai
Simon Blackburn
Colin Boyd
Lawrie Brown
Bill Caelli
Ed Dawson
Cunsheng Ding
Gary Gaskell
Janusz Getta
Dieter Gollmann
Marc Gysin
Yongfei Han
Thomas Hardjono

Zhang Jiang Erland Jonsson Svein Knapskog Hu Lei Leszek Maciaszek Keith Martin Cathy Meadows Bill Millan Qi Ming Sang-Jae Moon Yi Mu

Yi Mu Kenny Nguyen Kaisa Nyberg Choon-Sik Park Dingyi Pei Josef Pieprzyk Vincent Rijmen Steve Roberts Greg Rose Rei Safavi-Naini Ravi Sandhu Rajan Shankaran Stafford Tavares Vijay Varadharajan Kapaleeswaran Viswanathan

Chuan Wu

Yuliang Zheng.