Preface

The 3rd Eastern European Conference on Advances in Databases and Information Systems (ADBIS'99) took place on 13-16- September 1999, in Maribor, Slovenia.

It was organized in cooperation with ACM SIGMOD, the Moscow chapter of ACM SIGMOD, Slovenian Society Informatika, and the Slovenian Ministry of Technology.

The aim of the ADBIS series of conferences is to provide a forum for the exchange of scientific achievements and experiences using innovative methods and approaches between the research communities of Central and Eastern Europe and the rest of the world in the area of databases and information systems.

The 1999 conference continues the series of ADBIS events held in Moscow, St. Petersburg, and Poznan. The ADBIS steering committee has the ambition to make the ADBIS conference the premiere database and information systems conference in Central and Eastern Europe, to increase interaction and collaboration between researchers from East and West, and to provide an internationally recognized forum for the presentation of research and experiences in all aspects of modern database technology and information systems.

To achieve these goals an international program committee selected 26 full research papers in a rigorous reviewing process from a total of 94 submissions from 33 different countries. This high number of submissions from so many different areas shows the truly worldwide recognition of and interest in the ADBIS series.

The accepted papers cover a wide range of topics from storage structures to web applications, from type theory to performance issues. Furthermore, three invited papers give a broader overview of research achievements and insights into the current "hot topics" of databases and information systems: Internet and multimedia, electronic commerce, and ODMG object models.

In addition to the presentation of invited papers and full research papers, the program consists of three tutorials and the presentation of short papers that either allow a glimpse into promising ongoing projects, present novel ideas at an early stage, or give an account of experiences with the application of databases and information systems. These short papers are published in a separate proceedings volume.

We would like to express our thanks and acknowledgements to all the people who have contributed to make ADBIS'99 a success:

- All the organizers of the previous ADBIS workshops and conferences. They made ADBIS a valuable trademark and we are proud to continue their work.
- The authors, who submitted papers of high quality to the conference.
- ACM SIGMOD and the international program committee for ensuring the high quality of the scientific program.
- Ludvik Toplak and the University of Maribor for supporting ADBIS'99 activities.
- Bruno Stiglic for leading the organizing committee.
- Bostjan Brumen to whom we would like to express our special thanks for his continuous and coordinating activities that ensured the success of the ADBIS'99.
- Izidor Golob for setting up and maintaining the ADBIS'99 home page and assembling the proceedings together with Chrystian Barragan.

VI Preface

- Springer-Verlag for publishing these proceedings and Alfred Hofmann for the effective support in producing these proceedings.
- And last but not least we thank the steering committee and, in particular, its chairman, Leonid Kalinichenko, for its advice and guidance.

June 1999

Johann Eder Ivan Rozman Tatjana Welzer

Conference Organization

General Chair

Ivan Rozman (University of Maribor, Slovenia)

Honorary Chair

Ludvik Toplak (Rector of University of Maribor, Slovenia)

ACM SIGMOD Advisor

Marek Rusinkiewicz (MCC, USA)

European Coordinator

Rainer Manthey (University of Bonn, Germany)

Program Committee Co-Chairs

Tatjana Welzer (University of Maribor, Slovenia) Johann Eder (University of Klagenfurt, Austria)

Program Committee

Divyakant Agrawal (UC Santa Barbara) Suad Alagic (Wichita State University) Yuri Breitbart (Bell Laboratories) Jerzy Brzezinski (Poznan University of Technology) Omran Bukhres (Purdue University) Wojciech Cellary (University of Economics at Poznan) Jan Chomicki (Monmouth University) Bogdan Czejdo (Loyola University) Michael Dobrovnik (University of Klagenfurt) Nikolay Emelyanov (Russian Academy of Sciences) Matjaz Gams (Institute Josef Stefan) Janis Grundspenkis (Riga Technical University) Remigijus Gustas (University of Karlstad) Jozsef Gyorkos (University of Maribor) Abdelsalam Helal (University of Florida) Tomas Hruska (Technical University Brno) Hannu Jaakkola (Tampere University of Technology [Pori]) Leonid Kalinichenko (Russian Academy of Sciences) Wolfgang Klas (University of Ulm) Mikhail Kogalovsky (Russian Academy of Sciences) Peter Kokol (University of Maribor) Ralf Kramer (Forschungszentrum Informatik [FZI]) Sergey Kuznetsov (Russian Academy of Sciences) Pericles Loucopoulos (UMIST) Ronald Maier (University of Georgia) Florian Matthes (TU Hamburg-Harburg) Yannis Manolopoulos (Aristotle University) Rainer Manthey (Bonn University) Guido Moerkotte (University of Aachen) Tomaz Mohoric (University of Liubliana) Tadeusz Morzy (Poznan University of Technology) Pavol Navrat (Slovak University of Technology) Boris Novikov (University of St. Petersburg) Alain Pirotte (University of Louvain) Misha Rabinovich (AT&T) Tore Risch (Linkoping University) Colette Rolland (University of Paris 1 - Sorbonne) Silvio Salza (University of Rome "La Sapienza") Michel Scholl (CNAM and INRIA) Julius Stuller (Czech Academy of Science) Kazimierz Subieta (Polish Academy of Science) Bernhard Thalheim (TU Cottbus) Bostjan Vilfan (University of Ljubljana) Gottfried Vossen (University of Muenster) Benkt Wangler (Stockholm University) Tatjana Welzer (University of Maribor) Viacheslav Wolfengagen (Institute for Contemporary Education "JurInfoR-MSU") Vladimir Zadorozhny (University of Maryland) Alexander Zamulin (Institute of Informatics Systems) Damjan Zazula (University of Maribor)

Organizing Committee

Chair: Bruno Stiglic (University of Maribor, Slovenia)

Members: Bostjan Brumen Izidor Golob Chrystian Barragan Matjaz B. Juric Tomaz Domajnko Miha Strehar Stefan Masic Tomislav Rozman Simon Beloglavec Boris Lahovnik Robert T. Leskovar Ales Zivkovic Marjan Hericko Romana Vajde Horvat

ADBIS Organization

Steering Committee Chair

Leonid Kalinichenko (Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia)

Steering Committee Members

Radu Bercaru (Romania) Albertas Caplinskas (Lithuania) Janis Eiduks (Latvia) Hele-Mai Haav (Estonia) Mikhail Kogalovsky (Russia ACM) Tadeusz Morzy (Poland) Pavol Navrat (Slovakia) Boris Novikov (Russia ACM) Jaroslav Pokorny (Czech Republic) Anatoly Stogny (Ukraine) Tatjana Welzer (Slovenia) Viacheslav Wolfengagen (Russia ACM)

Additional Referees

Alex Nanopoulos Andrej Sostaric Apostolos Papadopoulos Bernhard Thalheim Bostjan Brumen Cezary Sobaniec Viljan Mahnic Daniel Lieuwen Danilo Korze Danny Brash Dariusz Wawrzyniak Dean Korosec E. Bertino Ekaterina Pavlova Elke Hochmüller Eriks Sneiders Giovanni Rumolo Giuseppe Santucci Heinz Frank Henrik Andre-Jönsson Hua Shu Igor Nekrestyanov Janis Stirna Jerzy Stefanowski Klaus-Dieter Schewe Maciej Zakrzewicz Marjan Druzovec Marlon Dumas Matjaz Branko Juric Michal Szychowiak Georgios Giannopoulos Nils Klarlund

Nur Yilmazturk Paolo Merialdo Rafal Chmielewski Rainer Schmidt Robert Wrembel Robin Lindley S. Seshadri Sara Holmin Srinathh Srinivasa Stanislaw Ambroszkiewicz Svetlana Kouznetsova Thomas Feyer Tomaz Domajnko Vili Podgorelec Xun Cheng