Preface

For the second time, the European Software Engineering Conference is being held jointly with the ACM SIGSOFT Symposium on the Foundations of Software Engineering (FSE). Although the two conferences have different origins and traditions, there is a significant overlap in intent and subject matter. Holding the conferences jointly when they are held in Europe helps to make these thematic links more explicit, and encourages researchers and practitioners to attend and submit papers to both events.

The ESEC proceedings have traditionally been published by Springer-Verlag, as they are again this year, but by special arrangement, the proceedings will be distributed to members of ACM SIGSOFT, as is usually the case for FSE.

ESEC/FSE is being held as a single event, rather than as a pair of collocated events. Submitted papers were therefore evaluated by a single program committee. ESEC/FSE represents a broad range of software engineering topics in (mainly) two continents, and consequently the program committee members were selected to represent a spectrum of both traditional and emerging software engineering topics. A total of 141 papers were submitted from around the globe. Of these, nearly half were classified as research papers, a quarter as experience papers, and the rest as both research and experience papers. Twenty-nine papers from five continents were selected for presentation and inclusion in the proceedings. Due to the large number of industrial experience reports submitted, we have also introduced this year two sessions on short case study presentations.

This year we also have several invited talks from outside the software engineering mainstream. Brian Jones, who, together with Bertrand Piccard, succeeded this year for the first time ever to circumnavigate the globe with a balloon, has accepted the invitation to speak to the ESEC/FSE audience about *Managing the Last Human Challenge of the 20th Century: Some Right Ways!* Kent Beck will speak about *Extreme Programming: A Discipline of Software Development.* Krzysztof Czarnecki will present the invited paper, co-authored with Ulrich Eisenecker, on *Components and Generative Programming.* Finally, Niklaus Wirth will be accepting the ACM SIGSOFT Outstanding Research Award for his contributions to Software Engineering and Programming Languages, and he will speak about *From Programming to Software Engineering — and Back.*

The paper selection process was largely comparable to that used by previous ESEC and FSE program committees. Each of the papers submitted to the conference was evaluated by at least three program committee members. Due to the extremely broad range of topics covered, checks were introduced to ensure that most papers were reviewed by at least two experts in the field. When reviewers claimed inadequate expertise, additional reviews were solicited, in some cases from outside experts. Conflicts of interest were specially handled according to established ACM rules: program committee members who were authors of submitted papers, or who had recently worked with the authors, did not have access to reviews of the concerned papers, and left the meeting room when the papers were discussed. (The rate of acceptance of papers submitted by program committee members was, incidentally, comparable to the overall rate of acceptance.)

VI Preface

For the first time, ESEC/FSE has introduced the CyberChair online submission and reviewing system. The software was developed by Richard van de Stadt, originally for the European Conference on Object-Oriented Programming. The software not only allowed authors to submit their abstracts and papers electronically, but provided additional interfaces for program committee members to enter and browse reviews for their papers, and for the program chair to monitor progress of the review process. CyberChair was especially helpful at the two most critical times: around the paper submission deadline, and in the two weeks before the program committee meeting.

Obviously a large number of people contributed to making the conference a success. We would like to thank especially the program committee members for their dedication in preparing thorough reviews in time for the meeting, and for going out of their way to attend the program committee meeting. (It is the first time in our experience that every single member of a program committee of this size has made it to the review meeting!) We would also like to thank Isabelle Huber for the administrative support in Berne, Richard van de Stadt for providing and supporting CyberChair, Jean-Guy Schneider for installing and supporting CyberChair in Berne, and Francine Decavele for her efficient contribution to the local organization.

A special thanks to SUPAERO which has accepted the task of hosting us for a full week, right at the beginning of the first term of the academic year 2000.

We would also like to thank all the additional reviewers who evaluated submitted papers, sometimes on extremely short notice. Finally, we would like to thank the authors of all submitted papers for their contributions, and the authors of all accepted papers for their help and collaboration in getting the proceedings prepared quickly and smoothly in time for the conference.

June 1999 Oscar Nierstrasz
Michel Lemoine

Organizing Committee

General Chair

Michel Lemoine, ONERA Centre de Toulouse (France)

Program Chair

Oscar Nierstrasz, University of Berne (Switzerland)

Tutorials Chair

Patrick Sallé, INP-ENSEEIHT (France)

Workshops Chair

Louis Féraud, IRIT, Université Paul Sabatier (France)

Local Organization

Brigitte Giacomi, ONERA Centre de Toulouse (France)

Financial Chair

Luc Bignon, ONERA Centre de Toulouse (France)

CyberChair

Jean-Guy Schneider, University of Berne (Switzerland) and Richard van de Stadt, University of Twente (The Netherlands)

Program Committee Members

Vincenzo Ambriola (Italy) Antonia Bertolino (Italy) Theo D'Hondt (Belgium) Matthew Dwyer (USA) Martin Glinz (Switzerland) Paola Inverardi (Italy) Mehdi Jazayeri (Austria) Gerti Kappel (Austria) Paul Klint (The Netherlands) Kai Koskimies (Finland) Jeffrey Kramer (United Kingdom) Gary Leavens (USA) Simon Moser (Switzerland) Gail Murphy (Canada) David S. Rosenblum (USA) Martin Shepperd (UK) Gregor Snelting (Germany) Jeanine Souquières (France) Sylvie Vignes (France) Walter F. Tichy (Germany)

Sponsors

Albert Zündorf (Germany)

ACM SIGSOFT, CEPIS, SUPAERO, ONERA

Additional Reviewers

Stefan Berner Pierre Bieber Fréderic Bonniol Jan Bosch

Flavio Corradini Wolfgang De Meuter Rocco De Nicola Kris De Volder Serge Demeyer Ralph Depke Susan Eisenbach **Gregor Engels** Jack Foisseau Istvan Forgacs Norbert E. Fuchs Maurizio Gabbrielli Dimitra Giannakopoulou Stefania Gnesi Thomas Gschwind Richard Hagelauer

Thomas Gschwind
Reiko Heckel
Dan Hirsch
Ari Jaaksi
Stefania Gnesi
Richard Hagelauer
Maritta Heisel
Martin Hitz
Jean-Pierre Jacquot

Elisabeth Kapsammer Fabrice Kordon
Oskari Koskimies Jens Krinke
Gene Lee Michel Lemoine
Nicole Lévy Emil Lupu
Hanspeter Mössenböck Jeff Magee
Rafael Marcano Pentti Marttiin
Katharina Mehner Kim Mens

Tom Mens Eric Meyer
Tommi Mikkonen Jean-François Monin
Sandro Morasca Henry Muccini
Ulrich A. Nickel Jörg Niere

Bashar Nuseibeh Jean-François Peyre Christian Oueinnec Keith Phalp Stefan Rausch-Schott Siegfried Reich Werner Retschitzegger Martin Robillard Stefan Sauer Johannes Ryser Reto Schmid Morris Sloman Tom Tourwé Sebastian Uchitel Werner Van Belle Larry Votta

Werner Van Belle Larry Votta
Jörg Wadsack Annika Wagner
Robert Walker Virginie Wiels
Bart Wouters Roel Wuyts