Preface

The papers in this volume were selected for presentation at the Ninth Annual International Symposium on Algorithms and Computation (ISAAC'98), held on December 14–16, 1998 in Taejon, Korea. Previous meetings were held in Tokyo (1990), Taipei (1991), Nagoya (1992), Hong Kong (1993), Beijing (1994), Cairns (1995), Osaka (1996), and Singapore (1997).

The symposium was jointly sponsored by Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST) and Korea Information Science Society (KISS) to commemorate its 25th anniversary in cooperation with Ministry of Information and Communication, Korea Information Society Development Institute, and Korea Science and Engineering Foundation.

In response to the call for papers, 102 extended abstracts were submitted from 21 countries. Each submitted paper was reported on by at least four program committee members, with the assistance of referees, as indicated by the referee list found in these proceedings. There were many more acceptable papers than there was space available in the symposium schedule, and the program committee's task was extremely difficult. The 47 papers selected for presentation had a total of 105 authors, resident as follows: Japan 24, Germany 17, United State of America 15, Taiwan 10, Hong Kong and Korea 6 each, Spain 5, Switzerland and Australia 4 each, Austria, Canada, and France 3 each, Italy and Netherlands 2 each, and Greece 1.

We thank all program committee members and their referees for their excellent work, especially given the demanding time constraints; they gave the symposium its distinctive character. We thank all who submitted papers for consideration: they all contributed to the high quality of the symposium.

Finally, we thank all the people who worked hard to put in place the logistical arrangements of the symposium — our colleagues and our graduate students. It is their hard work that made the symposium possible and enjoyable.

September 1998

Kyung-Yong Chwa Oscar Ibarra

Conference Organization

Program Committee

Co-Chairs

Kyung-Yong Chwa (KAIST, Korea) Oscar Ibarra (UC Santa Barbara, USA)

Program Committee

Takao Asano (Chuo U., Japan) Ding-Zhu Du (U. of Minnesota, USA) Susanne Hambrusch (Purdue U., USA) Hiroshi Imai (U. of Tokyo, Japan) Tao Jiang (McMaster U., Canada) Sam Kim (Kyungpook Nat. U., Korea) D.T. Lee (Northwestern U., USA) Ming Li (U. of Waterloo, Canada) Pandu Rangan (IIT, Madras, India) Sartaj Sahni (U. of Florida, USA)

P. Spirakis (Comp. Tech. Inst., Patras, Greece)

Roberto Tamassia (Brown U., USA) Shanghua Teng (U. of Illinois, USA)

Osamu Watanabe (Tokyo Inst. Tech., Japan) Peter Widmayer (ETH, Zürich, Switzerland) Chee K. Yap (Courant Inst., NYU, USA) Hsu-Chun Yen (National Taiwan U., Taiwan)

Organizing Committee Jik Hyun Chang (Sogang U., Korea)

Chair

Organizing Committee Hee-Chul Kim

(Hankuk U. of Foreign Studies, Korea) Sang-Ho Lee (Ewha Womans U., Korea) Kunsoo Park (Seoul Nat. U., Korea)

Sponsors

Ministry of Information and Communication Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology Korea Information Science Society Information Processing Society of Japan Korea Information Society Development Institute Korea Science and Engineering Foundation

Referees

Alender, Eric Bai, Mino Bellare, Mihir Bultan, Tevfik Chang, Jik Hyun Chang, Shi-Chung Chen, Donghui Chen, Ming-Svan Cheng, Xiuzhen Cho, Hwan-Gue Cho, Jun-Dong Cho, Yookun Chung, Choo Hee Cole, Richard Cramer, Ronald Das, Sajal de Wolf, Ronald Domingo, Carlos Du, David Egecioglu, Omer Eidenbenz, Stephan Farach, Martin Fatourou, Panagiota Fotakis, Dimitris Galli, Nicola Garay, Juan Hahn, Sang Geun Han, Shitou Hirata, Tomio Hsu, Tsan-sheng Igarashi, Yoshihide Imai, Keiko Inaba, Mary Janicki, Ryszard Kaklamanis, Christos Kaneko, Taishou Kim, Chul E. Kim, Dongsoo Kim, Sang Dong

Kim, Sung Ho Kim, Sung Kwon Kim, Yeong-Dae Ko, Ming-Tat Konheim, Alan Kontogiannis, Spyros Koshiba, Takeshi Krithivasan, Kamala Kurosawa, Kaoru Lanctot, Kevin Lee, Dong Hoon Lee, Jae-Ha Lee, Sang-Ho Lee, Seungyong Lei, Chin-Laung Lim, Hyung-Seok Lin, Mao-Chao Liotta, Giuseppe Lu, Bing Lyuu, Yuh-Dauh Ma, Bin Ma, Tse-Heng Morita, Ken'ichi Nakano, Koji Nakano, Shin-ichi Never, Gabriele Ogata, Wakaha Okamoto, Ryumei Olariu, Stephan Pajarola, Renato Palis, Michael Pardalos, Panos Park, Chong-Dae Park, Jung-Heum Park, Kunsoo Rajasekaran, Sanguthevar

Rim, Chong S.

Roos, Thomas

Ruan, Lu

Rvu, Kwan Woo Schlude, Konrad Shin, Chan-Su Singh, Ambuj Smith, Terence Stamm, Christoph Steiner, George Sung, Ting-Yi Suzuki, Hitoshi Tang, Chuan-Yi Toda, Seinosuke Tokuyama, Takeshi Trachsler, Beat Tromp, John Tsai, Shi-Chun Tsay, Yih-Kuen Uehara, Ryuhei Ulber, Roland Verbeurgt, Karsten Vitányi, Paul Wagner, Dorothea Wang, Da-Wei Wang, Yue-Li Wareham, Todd Watanabe, Toshimasa Wattenhofer, Roger Wolf, Stefan Wu, Xiaoyu Yamashita, Masafumi Yamazaki, Koichi Yang, Tae-Cheon Yang, Tao Yang, Wuu Yoo, Kee Yung Yoo, Kwan-Hee Yu, Sheng Zhang, Louxin Zhou, Xiao