Preface

This volume contains 40 contributed papers accepted for presentation at the 6th Annual European Symposium on Algorithms (ESA'98), Venice, Italy, August 24–26, 1998, and the invited lectures by Eli Upfal (Brown) and Jeffrey Vitter (Duke). ESA is an annual meeting, with previous meetings held in Bad Honnef, Utrecht, Corfu, Barcelona, and Graz, and covers research in the *use, design, and analysis of efficient algorithms and data structures* as it is carried out in computer science, discrete applied mathematics and mathematical programming. Proceedings of ESA have been traditionally part of the LNCS series of Springer-Verlag. The symposium is promoted and coordinated by a steering committee, whose current composition is:

Gianfranco Bilardi, Padua & UIC	Kurt Mehlhorn, Saarbrücken
Josep Diaz, Barcelona	Ralf H. Möhring, Berlin
Giuseppe F. Italiano, Venice	Gerhard Woeginger, Graz

The Program Committee of ESA'98 consisted of:

Gianfranco Bilardi, Co-chair,	Kurt Mehlhorn, Saarbrücken
Padua & UIC	Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide,
Jean Daniel Boissonnat,	Paderborn
Sophia Antipolis	Grammati Pantziou, Patras
Kieran T. Herley, Cork	Mike Paterson, Warwick
Dorit Hochbaum, Berkeley	José Rolim, Geneva
Giuseppe F. Italiano, Co-Chair,	Erik M. Schmidt, Aarhus
Venice	Maria Serna, Barcelona
Luděk Kučera, Prague	Paul Vitanyi, Amsterdam
Richard J. Lipton, Princeton	Gerhard Woeginger, Graz
Yishay Mansour, Tel-Aviv	

There were 131 extended abstracts submitted in response to a call for papers. Papers were solicited describing original results in *all areas of algorithmic research*, including but not limited to: approximation algorithms; combinatorial optimization; computational biology; computational geometry; databases and information retrieval; graph and network algorithms; machine learning; number theory and computer algebra; on-line algorithms; pattern matching and data compression; symbolic computation. Submissions that reported on experimental and applied research were especially encouraged.

The contributed papers were selected by the program committee, which met in Padova, Italy, on April 24 and 25, 1998. The selection of contributed papers was based on originality, quality, and relevance to the symposium. Considerable effort was devoted to the evaluation of the submissions. Extensive feedback was provided to authors as a result, which we hope has proven helpful. However, submissions were not referred in the thorough and detailed way that is customary for journal papers. Many submissions represent reports of continuing research. It is expected that most of the papers in these proceedings will eventually appear in finished form in scientific journals. We believe that the final program of ESA'98, organized into ten sessions, represents an interesting cross section of research efforts in the area of algorithms.

We wish to thank the program committee, and all of those who submitted abstracts for consideration. We thank all of our many colleagues who helped the program committee in evaluating the submissions. Their names appear in a separate list, and we apologize to anyone whose name is omitted. ESA'98 could not have happened without the dedicated work of the organizing committee, consisting of:

Francesco Bombi, Chair, Padua	Andrea Pietracaprina, Padua
Dora Giammarresi, Venice	Fabio Pittarello, Venice
Salvatore Orlando, Venice	Geppino Pucci, Padua
Marcello Pelillo, Venice	Alessandro Roncato, Venice

The agency Key Congress & Communications acted as a secretariat for the symposium. We gratefully acknowledge the generous support of the ESA'98 sponsors:

Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche	UNESCO
InfoCamere	Università di Padova
IRT	Università Ca' Foscari di Venezia
Telecom Italia	

Finally, Andrea Pietracaprina and Geppino Pucci have been invaluable coeditors of these proceedings.

Padua, June 1998

Venice, June 1998

Gianfranco Bilardi

Giuseppe F. Italiano

List of Reviewers

Stephen Alstrup Carme Alvarez Charles Anderson **Gvarfas** Andras Alexander Andreev Lars Arge Mike Atkinson Yonatan Aumann Yossi Azar Amotz Bar-Nov B. Beauquier Vincent Berry Hans Bodlaender Karl F. Bohringer Maria Luisa Bonet Allan Borodin J. Bovar Peter Bro Miltersen Gerth Brodal Herve Bronnimann Tiziana Calamoneri Ioannis Caragiannis Rafael Casas Frederic Cazals Otfried Cheong Siu-Wing Cheng Andrea Clementi Pierluigi Crescenzi Felipe Cucker Artur Czumaj James Davenport Sergio De Agostino Mark De Berg Pavan Kumar Desikan Tassos Dimitriou Josep Diaz Giuseppe Di Battista Miriam Di Ianni Yefim Dinitz Amalia Duch Ran El-Yaniv David Eppstein Funda Ergun Martin Farach-Colton

Panagiota Fatourou Uri Feige Sandra Feisel Afonso Ferreira Michele Flammini **Dimitris** Fotakis Gudmund Frandsen Joaquim Gabarro Raffaele Giancarlo Leslie Ann Goldberg Paul Goldberg Olivier Goldschmidt Mordecai Golin Jacek Gondzio Roberto Grossi Dan Halperin Kostas Hatzis Han Hoogeveen Martin Hühne Ferran Hurtado Rob Irving Tao Jiang Ben Juurlink Howard Karloff Claire Kenvon Hal Kierstead Bettina Klinz Stavros Koliopoulos Spyros Kontogiannis Giuseppe Lancia Bruno Lang Mike Langston Kim S. Larsen Jan van Leeuwen Stefano Leonardi Mauro Leoncini Giuseppe Liotta Martin Loebel Tamas Lukovszki Vasilis Mamalis Joseph Manning Conrado Martinez Annalisa Massini J. Matousek

Brian Mavoh S. Muthukrishnan Seffi Naor Apostol Natsev Stefan Nilsson Michael Noecker John Noga Eli Olinick Rasmus Pagh Alessandro Panconesi Jakob Pagter Panos Pardalos Boaz Patt-Shamir Aleksandar Pekec Christian N. S. Pedersen George Pentaris S. Perennes Jordi Petit Leonidas Pitsoulis Guido Proietti Teresa Przytycka Yuval Rabani Tomasz Radzik Rajeev Raman R. Ravi Franz Rendl Herman te Riele Ingo Rieping Gianluca Rossi Guenter Rote Vera Sacristan Cenk Sahinalp Christian Scheideler Klaus Schröder Petra Schuurman Eli Shamir Ron Shamir Steve Seiden Nir Shavit Jop F. Sibeyn Riccardo Silvestri Alistair Sinclair Michiel Smid Danuta Sosnowska

Aravind Srinivasan Yiannis Stamatiou Andrea Sterbini Michel Syska Luca G. Tallini Vasilis Tampakas Luca Trevisan John Tromp Zsolt Tuza Eli Upfal Berthold Vöcking Nicolai Vorobjov Rolf Wanka Todd Wareham Matthias Westermann Pawel Winter Fatos Xhafa Kathy Yelick Christos Zaroliagis Martin Ziegler Paul Zimmerman Uri Zwick Thierry Zwissig