# Preface

### Paving the Way for an Open Service Market

We live in an age when powerful communications technology is becoming available to everyone. From our home we can send and receive not only analogue voice, but also growing volumes of digital information and even intelligence in the form of agents. We are becoming increasingly mobile and are expecting the same level of connectivity in the home, in the office, and on the road.

The regulatory and commercial environment in which we communicate is changing. The telecommunications market is becoming increasingly competitive. The Internet is erasing the borders between information technology and telecommunications. And the way we do business is ever more dominated by electronic exchanges of information.

Is our technology ready for the open market of networks and services? Can we manage the growing complexity of computing and telecommunications technology and place it at the service of the people? The challenge for the research community is to develop the tools and techniques that will ultimately bring the full power of communications and information to everyone, in a way that everyone can easily use.

The Sixth International Conference on Intelligence in Services and Networks (IS&N'99) is all about technology for paving the way to the open services market. Since the first IS&N conference in 1992 the focus of the IS&N program has continually shifted. We see existing technologies maturing while new ones emerge, but the bottom line has always been putting technology at the service of the people. The result is a fascinating mix of confirmed and new technologies.

Mobile and intelligent agents form the most manifest stream of emerging technologies, reflected in 13 papers in this volume. These include articles that deal with agent-related technical issues (5 papers), as well as papers that describe the application of agents to specific problems in telecommunications (8 papers). In fact "intelligent" and "mobile" agents can be seen as two quite distinct tracks. Both are well represented in the program (5 and 8 papers, respectively).

Projects addressing more mature technologies like CORBA, Intelligent Networks, TMN and TINA are now in a position to present confirmed results, prototypes, and in some cases, field trials. TINA and CORBA form the subject of about 10 papers while at least 5 address the management of networks and services.

In a world of new and legacy systems that must coexist, interworking enjoys significant interest (5 papers). Signaling System Number 7 (SS.7) is considered in 2 distinct articles as a possible carrier of both CORBA and agent-based communications, thus providing a new form of "intelligent signaling". Other papers address the evolution of IN and TMN towards open, distributed, object-oriented architectures.

An interesting observation is that *service creation* enjoys a strong interest this year: 6 papers are directly related to this subject. While telecommunications are becoming increasingly dominated by software, we seem to be becoming more and more aware of the need for methods and tools to control the "service crisis".

In addition to the more "classical" IS&N themes, we see several original new directions. The need for technologies that can manage multimedia streams has lead to

a number of new techniques, like the use of enhanced session models and Javaenabled multi-media encoding. A number of papers deal with searching and brokering of services in an open market.

In summary, this book is a unique state-of-the-art account of technologies that enable intelligent services and networks to serve the people. It is a reflection not only of key research done within the ACTS program sponsored by the European Commission, but, equally, of research from many other sources. It is the result of the cooperative effort of researchers, authors, reviewers, and editors. Use it to your advantage.

March 1999

Han Zuidweg Mario Campolargo Jaime Delgado Al Mullery

# Acknowledgments

This volume could not exist without the authors of the papers. Some 100 papers were contributed. Many of the submitted papers could not be accepted but the authors of these papers are thanked for their efforts.

The editors would like to thank the members of the Technical Program Committee and the numerous reviewers, listed below, for their effort in assuring the quality of this volume, as well as the section editors, who have written the introductions to each section. Special thanks goes to Raymond Llavador, who coordinated the review process and assisted in the final editorial process.

### **Steering Committee**

Al Mullery (Chairman), Mario Campolargo, Jaime Delgado, Han Zuidweg

### **Technical Program Committee**

#### **Ordinary Members**

#### **Corresponding Members**

Han Zuidweg (Chairman) Stefano Antoniazzi E. Athanassiou Rob Brennan Stefan Covaci Jaime Delgado Sofoklis Efremidis Nigel Jefferies Jens Kristensen Thomas Magedanz Ahmed Patel Raymond Posch Martin Potts Rick Reed Pierre Rodier Simone Sedillot Keith Start Alan Steventon Fabrizio Zizza

Alessandro Barbagli Stephane Beauvais Hendrik Berndt Vincent Bic Wiet Bouma Brian Byrnes Josiah Carberry Mikael Ek Takeyuki Endo Dieter Gantenbein Alex Galis Takeo Hamada Per Fly Hansen Duncan James-Bell Kristofer Kimbler Patricia Lago Dirk Lecluse Juha Lipiainen Julio Lopez

Claudio Maristany Sean Martin Kathleen Milsted David Muldowney Declan O'Sullivan George Pavlou Kimmo Raatikainen Sathya Rao Munir Tag Sebastian Trigila Anh Hoang Van Hans Vanderstraeten Vincent Wade Dong Sik Yun

# **Organizing Committee**

Jaime Delgado (Chairman), Isabel Gallego, José Polo, Germán Santos

# **List of Reviewers**

José Jesus Acebrón Miltos Anagnostou Stefano Antoniazzi Eleutherios Athanassiou Manooch Azmoodeh Alessandro Barbagli Kvriakos Baxevanidis Nuno Beires Johan E. Bengtsson Mikhael Bessonov Vincent Bic Lennart H. Bjerring Indranil Bose Wiet Bouma Ralf D. Bracht Rob Brennan Markus Breugst Alan Brookland Heinz Brüggemann Gaetano Bruno Louise Burness Brian Byrnes Eurico Carrapatoso Sang Choi Alain Conchon Steve Corley Jacopo Corridoni Michael Cox Haitham Cruickshank Laurie Cuthbert Giovanna De Zen Jaime Delgado Luca Deri Yves Deswarte Bruno Dillenseger Sofoklis Efremidis Pier Luigi Emiliani Takevuki Endo Lorenzo Faglia Josef Fink Kevin Fogarty Francisco Fontes Susana Franco Pino David Freestone Motohisa Funabashi Isabel Gallego Dieter Gantenbein

Anastasius Gavras Panos Georgatsos David Griffin Carsten Gvrn Lars Hagen Takeo Hamada Jim Hardwicke Patrick Hellemans Anh Van Hoang Terry Hodgkinson Keith Howker Nigel Jefferies Mikael Jørgensen Fotis Karayannis Pieter Kesteloot Kristofer Kimbler Jens Kristensen Jean-Pierre Lacombe Patricia Lago Yair Lahav Lorenz Lehmann Herbert Leitold David Lewis Beat Liver Fiona Lodge Ignac Lovrek Ferdinando Lucidi Thomas Magedanz Karl-Johan Malmgren Marcel Mampaev Gennaro Marino Claudio Maristany Ramon Marti Giovanni Martini Mirella Mastretti Luc Mathan Joanna McCaffrey Walter Merlat Max Michel Kathleen Milsted Luigi Mori David Muldowney Alvin P. Mullery Divine Ndumu Declan O'Sullivan Paul Obrien Sverrir Olafsson

Vincent Olive Ahmed Patel George Pavlou Enric Peig Christian Petersen Reinhardt Posch Martin Potts Bart Preneel Didoe Prevedourou Gilles Privat Kimmo Raatikainen Friedhelm Ramme Rick Reed Tony Richardson Corrado Rosa Jose Luis Ruiz Amardeo Sarma Hans-Detlef Schulz Simone Sedillot Juan Serrat Vjekoslav Sinkovic Chris Smith Josep Sole-Pareta George D. Stamoulis Keith Start Frank Steegmans Alan Steventon Peter Stollenmayer Ben Strulo Lars Bo Sørensen Thanassis Tiropanis David Tracey Ciaran Treanor Sebastiano Trigila Juan C. Vazquez Garcia Iakovos Veniris Luigi Verri Yannis Vithvnos Vincent Wade Paul Wallace Kevin Watkins Thomas Weigert Frans Westerhuis Timothy Wright Martin Yates Fabrizio Zizza Han Zuidweg