Preface

The CAPTECH'98 workshop took place at the University of Geneva on November 26-27, 1998, sponsored by FIP Working Group 5.10 (Computer Graphics and Virtual Worlds) and the Suisse Romande regional doctoral seminar in computer science. The subject of the conference was ongoing research in data capture and interpretation. The goals of capturing real-world data in order to perceive, understand, and interpret them and then reacting to them in a suitable way are currently important research problems. These data can be very diverse: sounds, emotions, shapes, motions, forces, muscles, actions, etc. Once captured, they have to be treated either to make the invisible visible, or to understand a particular phenomenon so as to formulate an appropriate reaction, or to integrate various information in a new multimedia format. The conference included six sessions of presented papers and three panel discussions. Invited speakers treating various aspects of the topic were: Professor R. Earnshaw from Bradford University, Professor T. L. Kunii from Hosei University, and Professor P. Robert from EPFL. Professor K. Bauknecht, of the University of Zürich, President of IFIP, offered the welcoming address. Mr. E. Badique, project officer for the EU in Brussels, discussed recent results of the EU ACTS research program. Finally, the Geneva Computer Animation '98 Film Festival highlighted the evening of November 26.

October 1998

Nadia Magnenat-Thalmann Daniel Thalmann Conference and Program Co-Chairs

Program Committee

Conference and Program Co-Chairs

Nadia Magnenat-Thalmann (University of Geneva, Switzerland) Daniel Thalmann (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, Switzerland)

Local Committee Co-Chairs

Christian Zanardi (University of Geneva) Laurent Moccozet (University of Geneva)

International Program Committee:

Gustavo Alonso (ETH Zurich, Switzerland) Norman Badler (University of Pennsylvania, USA) Steve Carson (GSC, USA) Tat-Seng Chua (National University of Singapore, Singapore) Rae Earnshaw (University of Bradford, UK) Jose Encarnacao (Institut für Graphische Datenverarbeitung, Germany) Dieter Fellner (University of Braunschweig, Germany) Eddy Flerackers (Limburg University Center, Belgium) Pascal Fua (EPF Lausanne, Switzerland) Simon Gibbs (Sony, USA) Armin Gruen (ETH Zurich, Switzerland) Prem Kalra (Indian Institute of Technology, India) Arie Kaufman (State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA) Eric Keller (University of Lausanne, Switzerland) Stanislav Klimenko (Institute for High Energy Physics, Russia) Tosiyasu L. Kunii (Computational Science Research Center, Japan) Dimitris Metaxas (University of Pennsylvania, USA) Tim Niblett (Turing Institute, UK) Alex Pentland (MIT, USA) Juris Reinfelds (New Mexico State University, USA) Larry Rosenblum (Naval Research Lab, USA) Sung Yong Shin (KAIST, Korea) Vaclav Skala (University of West Bohemia, Czech Republic) Yasuhito Suenaga (Nagoya University, Japan) Jose Carlos Teixeira (Centro de Computacao Grafica, Portugal) Paul ten Hagen (CWI, Netherlands) Demetri Terzopoulos (University of Toronto, Canada) Luc Van Gool (KU Leuwen, Belgium) Philip J. Willis (Bath University, UK) Franz E. Wolter (University of Hannover, Germany)