Preface

This volume constitutes the proceedings of the second conference on Meta-Level Architectures and Reflection (Reflection '99), which will take place in Saint-Malo, France, from 19-21 July 1999.

Upon Reflection'96 held in San Francisco, several workshops organized in cooperation with OOPSLA, ECOOP and IJCAI, the IMSA'92 conference in Tokyo and the founding workshop in Alghero (1986), this year's conference intends to provide a new opportunity for researchers with a broad range of interests to discuss recent developments in the field. Our main goal is to address the issues arising in the definition and construction of reflective systems and to demonstrate their practical applications.

The Reflection'99 programme committee had the hard task of selecting 13 full papers (both research and experiential reports) and 6 short papers out of 44 submissions from all over the world. The selection of papers was carried out during a 1-day meeting at Xerox PARC. The only selection criteria were the quality and originality of the papers themselves. These papers, of both practical and more theoretical bent, cover a wide range of topics including programming languages, systems and applications, software engineering and foundations. Apart from the presentation of the selected papers, the conference also welcomes John Stankovic, Jean-Bernard Stefani and Yasuhiko Yokote as three keynote speakers.

The success of such an international conference is due to the dedication of many people. I would like to thank the authors for submitting a sufficient number of papers, and the programme committee members and the additional referees for reviewing and selecting the papers contained herein. I would also like to thank Tina Silva and Christine Violeau for organizing the programme committee. Special appreciation goes to Jacques Malenfant, the conference chair, and to Mario Südholt, who was in charge of the electronic paper submissions.

The programme committee members also wish to thank their employers and sponsors for support of these conference activities. Finally, we would like to thank AITO and ACM Sigplan for having provided essential support in organizing Reflection'99.

Ultimately, the success of any conference is measured by the number of attendees who feel they spent their time well. So enjoy the conference and help us to disseminate the idea of open architectures in the software industry.

May 1999 P. Cointe

Organization

Reflection'99 is organized by the Université de Bretagne Sud and École des Mines de Nantes under the auspices of AITO (Association Internationale pour les Technologies Objets).

Executive Committee

Conference Chair: Jacques Malenfant (U. de Bretagne Sud, F) Programme Chair: Pierre Cointe (École des Mines de Nantes, F)

US Coordinator: Gregor Kiczales (Xerox PARC, USA)

Asian Coordinator: Satoschi Matsuoka (Tokyo Institute of Techology, J)

Programme Committee

Gordon Blair (Lancaster University, UK)

Gilad Bracha (Sun Microsystems, USA)

Vinny Cahill (Trinity College, IRL)

Shigeru Chiba (University of Tsukuba, J)

Pierre Cointe (EMNantes, F) Chair

Charles Consel (Irisa, F)

Jean-Charles Fabre (Laas, F)

Jacques Ferber (Lirm, F)

Dan Friedman (Indiana University, USA)

Lee Gasser (University of Illinois, USA)

Rachid Guerraoui (EPFL, CH)

Yutuka Ishikawa (Tsukuba ResearchLab, J)

Gregor Kiczales (Xerox PARC, USA)

John Lamping (Xerox PARC, USA)

Ole Lehrmann Madsen (Aarhus Uinversity, DK)

Jacques Malenfant (Université de Bretagne sud, F)

Satoshi Matsuoka (Tokyo Institute of Techonlogy, J)

José Meseguer (SRI International, USA)

Wolfgang Pree (University of Constance, D)

Jim des Rivières (OTI Inc., CDN)

John A. Stankovic (University of Virginia, USA)

Patrick Steyaert (MediaGeniX, B)

Robert J. Stroud (University of Newcastle, UK)

Carolyn Talcott (Stanford University, USA)

Yasuhiko Yokote (Sony Corporation, J)

Additional Referees

Jim Dowling
Julia Lawall
Anurag Mendhekar
Barry Redmond
Tilman Schaefer
Wilfried Verachtert

Steven E Ganz Shinn-Der Lee Gilles Muller Jonathan Rossie Kris Van Marcke

Mayer Goldberg Eric Maarsden Christian Queinnec Juan Carlos Ruiz-Garcia Johan Vanwelkenhuysen.

Cooperating Institutions of Reflection'99



AITO (Association Internationale pour les Technologies Objets) http://www.aito.org/

ACM SIGPLAN (Association for Computing Machinery, Special Interest Group in Programming Languages) http://www.acm.org/sigplan/



Sponsoring Institutions

Conseil Régional de Bretagne Université de Bretagne Sud École des Mines de Nantes