Preface

DISC, the International Symposium on DIStributed Computing, is an annual forum for research presentations on all facets of distributed computing. This volume includes 23 contributed papers and an invited lecture, all presented at DISC '99, held on September 27-29, 1999 in Bratislava, Slovak Republic.

In addition to regular submissions, the call for papers for DISC '99 also solicited Brief Announcements (BAs). We received 60 regular submissions and 15 brief announcement submissions. These were read and evaluated by the program committee, with the additional help of external reviewers when needed. At the program committee meeting on June 10-11 at Dartmouth College, Hanover, USA, 23 regular submissions and 4 BAs were selected for presentation at DISC '99. The extended abstracts of these 23 regular papers appear in this volume, while the four BAs appear as a special publication of Comenius University, Bratislava – the host of DISC '99. It is expected that the regular papers will be submitted later, in more polished form, to fully refereed scientific journals.

Of the 23 regular papers selected for the conference, 12 qualified for the Best Student Paper award. The program committee awarded this honor to the paper entitled "Revisiting the Weakest Failure Detector for Uniform Reliable Broadcast" by Marcos Aguilera, Sam Toueg, and Borislav Deianov. Marcos and Borislav, who are both students, share this award.

DISC '99 hosted three invited lectures, by Tushar Chandra (IBM), Faith Fich (University of Toronto), and Michael Fischer (Yale University). The extended abstract of Tushar Chandra's lecture appears in this volume. The extended abstracts of the other two invited lectures are expected to appear in next year's DISC proceedings.

The program committee for DISC '99 consisted of:

Angel Alvarez (Tech. U. of Madrid) Anindya Basu (Bell Labs) Shlomi Dolev (Ben-Gurion) Cynthia Dwork (IBM) Rachid Guerraoui (E. Polytechnique) Vassos Hadzilacos (U. Toronto) Maurice Herlihy (Brown) Prasad Jayanti, Chair (Dartmouth) Srinivasan Keshav (Cornell) Marios Mavronicolas (U. Connecticut) Yoram Moses (Technion) Alessandro Panconesi (U. Bologna) Mike Reiter (Bell Labs) Sam Toueg (Cornell) Moti Yung (CertCo)

Peter Ruzicka was the Local Arrangements Chair for the conference. Miroslav Chladny and Rastislav Kralovic took charge of advertising and maintaining the web site for DISC '99. We thank all of them for a superb job.

We thank all the authors who submitted to DISC '99 and the keynote speakers for accepting our invitation. We thank ACM SIGACT for letting us use its automated submission server and the electronic program committee

(EPC) server. We are especially grateful to Steve Tate and Peter Shor for their help with the submission server and the EPC server, respectively. We thank Springer-Verlag for continuing the tradition and publishing these proceedings.

We gratefully acknowledge the generous support of the Slovak Society for Computer Science, Telenor, Comenius University, and Dartmouth College. The scope and the direction of DISC are supervised by the DISC steering committee which, for 1999, consisted of Bernadette Charron-Bost (Ecole Polytechnique), Vassos Hadzilacos (University of Toronto), Prasad Jayanti (Dartmouth College), Shay Kutten (Technion and IBM), Marios Mavronicolas (University of Connecticut), Andre Schiper – Vice Chair (Ecole Polytechnique, Lausaunne), and Shmuel Zaks – Chair (Technion).

September 1999

Prasad Jayanti

External Reviewers

The Program Committee thanks the following persons who acted as referees for DISC '99:

- Y. Afek
- M. Aguilera
- L. Alvisi
- A. Amoroso
- S. Arevalo
- A. Arora
- F. Ballesteros
- M. Bearden
- L. Bouge
- H. Buhrman
- B. Charron-Bost
- V. Cholvi
- P. De las Heras
- R. De Prisco
- A. Doudou
- P. Fatourou
- A. Fernandez-Anta
- M. Franklin
- J. Garav
- L. Gargano
- J. Gonzalez-Barahona
- F. Guerra
- N. Heintze
- T. Herman
- J. Hoepman

- R. Jimenez-Peris
- S. Kaxiras
- E. Kushilevitz
- K. Marzullo
- J. Miranda
- M. Moir
- R. Ostrovsky
- M. Pati
- B. Patt-Shamir
- A, Pietracaprina
- R. Rajamohan
- R. RubinfeldE. Santos
- R. Segala
- A. Shvartsman
- R. Silvestri
- A. Singh
- K. Tan
- G. Taubenfeld
- J. Tromp
- P. Vitanvi
- E. Wimmers
- A. Wool
- B. Yener