Preface

"My tailor is Object-Oriented". Most software systems that have been built recently are claimed to be Object-Oriented. Even older software systems that are still in commercial use have been upgraded with some OO flavors. The range of areas where OO can be viewed as a "must-have" feature seems to be as large as the number of fields in computer science. If we stick to one of the original views of OO, that is, to create cost-effective software solutions through modeling physical abstractions, the application of OO to any field of computer science does indeed make sense. There are OO programming languages, OO operating systems, OO databases, OO specifications, OO methodologies, etc. So what does a conference on Object-Oriented Programming really mean? I honestly don't know. What I do know is that, since its creation in 1987, ECOOP has been attracting a large number of contributions, and ECOOP conferences have ended up with high-quality technical programs, featuring interesting mixtures of theory and practice.

Among the 183 initial submissions to ECOOP'99, 20 papers were selected for inclusion in the technical program of the conference. Every paper was reviewed by three to five referees. The selection of papers was carried out during a two-day program committee meeting at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne. Papers were judged according to their originality, presentation quality, and relevance to the conference topics. The accepted papers cover various subjects such as programming languages, types, distribution, and formal specifications.

Beside the 20 papers selected by the program committee, this volume also contains four invited papers. Three of the invited papers are from ECOOP'99 keynote speakers, C.A.R. Hoare, B. Liskov, and J. Waldo. The fourth paper is from the banquet speaker at ECOOP'98: A.P. Black.

I would like to express my deepest appreciation to the authors of submitted papers, the program committee members, the external referees, Romain Boichat for smoothly handling the paper printing process, and Richard van de Stadt for his excellent job in managing the electronic submissions of papers and reviews. I would also like to thank the numerous people who have been involved in the organization of ECOOP'99 and, in particular, the General Organizing Chair, Vasco Vasconcelos, the Tutorial Chair, Rui Oliveira, the Workshop Chair, Ana Moreira, the Panel Chair, Luís Caires, the Demonstration Chair, António Rito Silva, the Poster Chair, Carlos Baquero, the Exhibit Chair, Mário J. Silva, and all the volunteers for their tremendous work.

April 1999

Rachid Guerraoui ECOOP'99 Program Chair

Organization

ECOOP'99 was organized by the Department of Computer Science of the University of Lisbon, under the auspices of AITO (Association Internationale pour les Technologies Objets).

Executive Committee

Organizing Chair: Vasco T. Vasconcelos (Universidade de Lisboa)

Program Chair: Rachid Guerraoui (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology)

Tutorials: Rui Oliveira (Universidade do Minho)
Workshops: Ana Moreira (Universidade Nova de Lisboa)
Panels: Luís Caires (Universidade Nova de Lisboa)

Demonstrations: António Rito Silva (INESC/IST)

Posters: Carlos Baquero (Universidade do Minho) Exhibits: Mário J. Silva (Universidade de Lisboa) Submission Site: Richard van de Stadt (University of Twente)

Sponsoring Institutions and Companies



AITO (Association Internationale pour les Technologies Objets) $\label{eq:http://iamwww.unibe.ch/ECOOP/AITO/}$



Air Portugal http://www.tap.pt/en/index1.html



 $_{\mathrm{IBM}}$

http://www.ibm.com/

Program Committee

Mehmet Akşit (University of Twente)

Suad Alagić (Wichita State University)

Paulo Sérgio Almeida (Universidade do Minho)

Elisa Bertino (University of Milan)

Jean-Pierre Briot (Laboratoire d'Informatique de Paris 6)

Alberto Coen-Porisini (Politecnico di Milano)

Pierre Cointe (Ecole des Mines de Nantes)

Klaus Dittrich (University of Zurich)

Erich Gamma (Object Technology International)

Yossi Gil (Technion, Haifa)

Rachid Guerraoui (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology)

Gorel Hedin (Lund University)

Kohei Honda (Queen Mary and Westfield College)

Mehdi Jazayeri (Vienna University of Technology)

Eric Jul (University of Copenhagen)

Karl Lieberherr (Northeastern University)

Jørgen Lindskov Knudsen (University of Aarhus)

Klaus-Peter Löhr (University of Berlin)

Cristina Lopes (Xerox Palo Alto Research Center)

Satoshi Matsuoka (Tokyo Institute of Technology)

Hanspeter Mössenböck (University of Linz)

Oscar Nierstrasz (University of Berne)

Linda Northrop (Carnegie Mellon University)

Jens Palsberg (Purdue University)

Markku Sakkinen (University of Jyväskylä)

Santosh Shrivastava (University of Newcastle)

Clemens Szyperski (Queensland University of Technology)

Referees

Franz Achermann Ulf Asklund Isabelle Attali Dave Baken Carlos Baquero Luciano Baresi Gilles Barthe Andreas Behm Klaas van den Berg

Luis Blando
Günther Blaschek
Mario A. Bochicchio
Boris Bokowski

Lars Bratthall Mathias Braux Pim van den Broek

Gerald Brose
Kim Bruce
M.C. Little
Massimo Cafaro
Luca Cardelli
Juan Carlos Cruz
Denis Caromel

Giuseppe Castagna Silvana Castano S.J. Caughey Steve Caughey Craig Chambers Shigeru Chiba

Philippe Codognet Jean-Louis Colaço Aino Cornils

Gianpaolo Cugola Markus Dahm Jean-Daniel Fekete Philippe Darche

Serge Demeyer Ruxandra Domenig Anne Doucet Rémi Douence Karel Driesen

Sophia Drossopoulou Stéphane Ducasse Roland Ducournau Andrew Duncan Susan Eisenbach Marc Evers

Matthias Felleisen Luís Ferreira Pires

Luís Ferreira Pires
Rémy Foisel
Bertil Folliot
Marko Forsell
Hans Fritschi
Svend Frolund
Nobuhisa Fujinami
Jean-Marc Geib
Andreas Geppert
David Gitchell
Giovanna Guerrini

Christian Heide Damm

Roger Henriksson Chris Ho-Stuart Urs Hölzle Markus Hof Atsushi Igarashi Anders Ive

Zahia Guessoum

Jean-Marc Jézéquel Dirk Jonscher Gerti Kappel Wayne Kelly Gregor Kiczales Yechiel Kimchi Graham Kirby

Masaru Kitsuregawa Fabrice Kordon Kai Koskimies

Svetlana Kouznetsova Kresten Krab Thorup

Phillip Kutter John Lamping Doug Lea Gary Leavens Thomas Ledoux

Ole Lehrmann Madsen

Mauri Leppänen Xavier Leroy M.C. Little Reed Little Dirk Riehle
David Lorenz Helena Rodrigues
Managari Manada Radrigues

Brahim Mammass Houari A. Sahraoui Dino Mandrioli Johannes Sametinger Klaus Marius Hansen Prahladavaradan Sampath

Hidehiko Masuhara Jean-Guv Schneider Martin Schönhoff Kai-Uwe Mätzel Walter Merlat Marten van Sinderen Isabella Merlo Jonas Skeppstedt Mira Mezini André Spiegel Philippe Mulet Martin Steffen Christoph Steindl Amedeo Napoli Susumu Nishimura Mario Südholt José Nuno Oliveira Peter Sweeney

Martin Odersky Toshiyuki Takahashi Lennart Ohlsson Jean-Pierre Talpin Rui Oliveira Bedir Tekinerdoğan

Tamiya Onodera Josef Templ
José Orlando Pereira Michael Thomsen
Alessandro Orso Sander Tichelaar
Johan Ovlinger Dimitrios Tombros
Marc Pantel Mads Torgersen

Francois Pennaneach
Jean-François Perrot
Jonas Persson
Patrik Persson
Dick Quartel

Anca Vaduva
Vasco Vasconcelos
Athanasios Vavouras
Jari Veijalainen
Juha Vihavainen

Christian Queinnec Jan Vitek
Stefan Rausch-Schott Ken Wakita
Arend Rensink Dan Wallach
Werner Retschitzegger Andre Weinand
Tamar Richner Stuart Wheater
Dženan Ridjanović Mikal Ziane
Matthias Rieger Job Zwiers