Foreword

This volume contains 3 invited and 24 submitted papers presented at the Ninth International Workshop on Inductive Logic Programming, ILP-99. The 24 accepted papers were selected by the program committee from the 40 papers submitted to ILP-99. Each paper was reviewed by three referees, applying high reviewing standards.

ILP-99 was held in Bled, Slovenia, 24–27 June 1999. It was collocated with the Sixteenth International Conference on Machine Learning, ICML-99, held 27–30 June 1999. On 27 June, ILP-99 and ICML-99 were given a joint invited talk by J. Ross Quinlan and a joint poster session where all the papers accepted at ILP-99 and ICML-99 were presented. The proceedings of ICML-99 (edited by Ivan Bratko and Sašo Džeroski) are published by Morgan Kaufmann.

We wish to thank all the authors who submitted their papers to ILP-99, the program committee members and other reviewers for their help in selecting a high-quality program, and the invited speakers: Daphne Koller, Heikki Mannila, and J. Ross Quinlan. Thanks are due to Tanja Urbančič and her team and Majda Zidanski and her team for the organizational support provided. We wish to thank Alfred Hofmann and Anna Kramer of Springer-Verlag for their cooperation in publishing these proceedings. Finally, we gratefully acknowledge the financial support provided by the sponsors of ILP-99.

April 1999 Sašo Džeroski Peter Flach

ILP-99 Program Committee

Francesco Bergadano (University of Torino)

Henrik Boström (University of Stockholm)

Ivan Bratko (University of Ljubljana)

William Cohen (AT&T Research Labs)

James Cussens (University of York)

Luc De Raedt (University of Leuven)

Sašo Džeroski (Jožef Stefan Institute, co-chair)

Peter Flach (University of Bristol, co-chair)

Alan Frisch (University of York)

Koichi Furukawa (Keio University)

Roni Khardon (University of Edinburgh)

Nada Lavrač (Jožef Stefan Institute)

John Lloyd (Australian National University)

Stan Matwin (University of Ottawa)

Raymond Mooney (University of Texas)

Stephen Muggleton (University of York)

Shan-Hwei Nienhuys-Cheng (University of Rotterdam)

David Page (University of Louisville)

Bernhard Pfahringer (Austrian Research Institute for AI)

Celine Rouveirol (University of Paris)

Claude Sammut (University of New South Wales)

Michele Sebag (Ecole Polytechnique)

Ashwin Srinivasan (University of Oxford)

Prasad Tadepalli (Oregon State University)

Stefan Wrobel (GMD Research Center for Information Technology)

Organizational Support

- The Albatross Congress Tourist Agency, Bled
- Center for Knowledge Transfer in Information Technologies, Jožef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana

Sponsors of ILP-99

- ILPnet2, Network of Excellence in Inductive Logic Programming
- COMPULOG Net, European Network of Excellence in Computational Logic
- Jožef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana
- LPA Software, Inc.
- University of Bristol